Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good Hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotter water please!
Location: On the front close to shops, bars and restaurants.
We stayed in a very nice deluxe room with a big balcony giving side views to the sea and also over the pinewoods and mountains. No real gripes although the water was rather Lukewarm. Staff very friendly and helpful , breakfast pretty good too, All in all a really nice stay,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Intersting

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This is a nice property that has been recently remodeled. What is intersting is that it tries to be an upscale and distinguished property but, the combination of attempts to be classically high end mixed with the areas that were not remodeled give the entire property a sense of pretension. Once you get passed that, the place is great. Front desk staff obviously does not care for tourists so do not expect a warm welcome. The restaurant and general staff are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice hotel Big rooms Great breakfast The overall experience was great. I will book this hotel again when I am in Viareggio
5 out of 5
by James

A week to cherish

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
We were scheduled to stay in a two bedroomed apartment close by and were let down the day before arrival. We were fortunate to secure a room at the Astor and even better, after our first night we moved to a Suite. It was superb! Breakfast was exceptional and like the classic hotel it is, the service was top quality. The fitness room could be slightly better equipped; Barbells and Kettlebells maybe. There were also children using these facilities on one day which, was a disappointment however, this should not distract from the tremendous time we had at the hotel and the great staff who make it special.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel near the beach

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel located on the beachfront in Viareggio. It claims to be 4* but judging it on its current condition this would be 4* some years ago. It's now more like a 3.5-4star hotel. This once fine establishment now caters to a lot of low cost package tour groups which is fine, but if you want quiet and sophistication then perhaps look somewhere else nearby. The rooms are well equipped with a/c, minibar and free wifi. Beds are rock hard! And furnishings are a bit dated. Hotel staff are all pleasant but sometimes casual in their appearance. Hotel facilities are good and it has a lift. Though if you struggle with stairs don't choose an annex room.
3 out of 5
by Colin from Bolton

A very well run, comfortable hotel Great Location

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great enjoyable stay at the Astor - have stayed in other hotels in Viareggio and though not the best its very good. Main issue are the hugely expensive bar prices - after the first time we made sure to drink outside, also there is no pool and use of the local beach is for a payment. The rooftop sunbathing area is wonderful with great views. A very good variety or breakfast items and a really friendly reception team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel on the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Judy from Oakville, Ontario

Good hotel in off season to sight see the area

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
We used Viareggio as a starting point to see Cinque Terre, Pisa and Lucca. Train connections to these places are excellent. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even upgrading us to a larger room because we were staying for 6 days. Bear in mind this is totally off season and there was lots of room, I doubt this would happen in season, in the summer.
4 out of 5
by Denise from Cheltenham

Great position

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Whilst the position of the hotel was good the room was cramped and furnishings past their best. Wifi was impossible in the room. Good breakfasts!