Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seacoast, nh

Inexpensive, adequate friendly place for 1-2 night

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: I just gave a complete list above!
Cons: A small lobby. One person always available in off hours. The phone number to call was inside on the locked lobby door.
Location: I gave complete list above; but its walking distance for most of the central Kristiansand things to do such as shopping, the harbor area parks.
This is an interesting concept. First the Cons: They are closed until 3 p.m. and stay open till 10 or 11 p.m. There was no one available if you needed something when they are closed. The doors to reception and breakfast room are shut and locked. The rooms are the smallest I've been in. The sink in bathroom is about the size of a football. Actually fine for washing hands. The shower is small but adequate. Towels are thin. Their is no lobby to sit in when reception is closed. There was an area in the entryway under construction that might improve this problem. The Pros: Very friendly staff. Rooms are perfectly adequate for a couple of nights as long as you are not a very large person, as there is very little walking around room. Rooms do have a tv. Beds are comfortable. The coolest thing was the bed had a drawer under it and it had extra towel, blanket and pillow and is a trundle bed. The breakfast was a very pleasant surprise. It was as adequate as many of the more expensive hotels we stayed in Norway. It had hard boiled eggs,. deli meat, cheese, norways typical very delicious bread, jelly, cereal, juices and coffee. Amazing for the price you pay. The staff hands out chocolates when you check in and at breakfast, and they are so cheerful and sweet. Location is very good - One street from the main shopping street, very close to the train station, and harbor. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Line, Hotel Management
Hello Linda :) Thank's for taking the time to give us this thorough feedback, both positive and negative. We appreciate this and it gives us the opportunity to bee better. We hope to see you soon :) Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hull, UK

Fantastic stay at the Yess hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was delicious, especially the bread. I could hang out in reception where they have free coffee all day.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Kristiansand itself is a lovely small town. You can walk everywhere. The Art Gallery is a must. Plenty of places to eat and drink.
Everything was perfect. I was made welcome as soon as I went into reception. The room was small but clean and had everything I needed. I usually have trouble sleeping in any bed other than my own but not so here. It was very comfy. Getting there from the airport was easy using public transport. The bus costs about £5 and was punctual.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Pleasant one night stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Good Hotel Just make sure you get the outside door code as it is locked after 11pm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a night stopover

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Basic hotel with basic facilities to match
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good and convenient

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
The people running it were super nice. Unfortunately the guests before us had smoked in our room and left the buds outside the window. There were no other rooms available so we bought a candle to help out with the smell. The rooms are tiny and so were the bathrooms.
4 out of 5
by Ka Lok from Hong Kong

voice insulation

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
the voice insulation is quite bad
4 out of 5
by Costas from London

Great stay in the heart of Kristiansand

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great time at Yess. The staff was super friendly, the breakfast was hearty and my room and bed were super cosy. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
by Donald C. from Spokane Washington, USA

Norway Moms 65th Birthday trip.

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Was a little surprised by room size but spent very little time in it. Was so perfectly located to down town. Breakfast was simple & better than a continental. Staff was so helpful & check in was a breeze. You will have parking charges either there or at any other lot. Still reasonable.
4 out of 5
by Vanessa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James from California

Modern, right across from ferry

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed only one night waiting for ferry. Right across the street. Modern feel with inspirational sayings on walls. Great staff. Common room is sparse but welcoming. Rooms are small; ours had a bunk and trundle. Adequate but not all that cozy. Would recommend if you are catching the ferry.