Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money.

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Great location and views but shame about the service. My wife was given un-cooked ‘pink’ chicken and when we brought this to the staff’s attention they said that they agreed with me but couldn’t do anything as this is how the chef says it should be cooked even though other guests had given the same feedback with the chicken that they had been given. Basically, no one can argue with the chef! Also, watch out for hidden charges. We were not told about the local tax charge for staying and also that the price was ‘exclusive’ of VAT and that these were both added when we checked out. Overall, feel somewhat cheated and the staff were unhelpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Washington, NY

Stunning inside and out

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We stayed at the Grand Hotel du Lac for two nights. My husband will stay anywhere, but I like to travel in style! This hotel has been beautifully designed and appointed. The staff was lovely. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and the food was delicious. The sommelier was a bit brusque, but the wait staff was friendly and attentive. The only negative of this hotel, which is kind of a big one, was the bed. Hard (not firm) mattress and thin down pillows. Both of us woke up with back aches each morning. If those two issues has been different, this would rank among the top hotels I have ever stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Charming old world hotel overlooking Lake Geneva with beautiful fragrant flowers in the lobby and hallways. Will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Superb again

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Elegant public areas. Beautiful rooms and very attentive and professional staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Situated by the lake with great views
Our 4th stay here and it never disappoints. Beautiful hotel with style in all it does.
5 out of 5
by Maurice

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff. A little expensive but definitely a wonderful experience in a beautiful part of the world
5 out of 5
by Alan

Another super stay at a super hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
Just fabulous!!! Absolutely no complaints, could not have enjoyed our stay more. Excellent restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Nice hotel with beautiful lake and Alp view.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Ebookers
A dream place for holiday stay. The dinner was excellent, as well the service. Only a bit pity is the afternoon coffee took longer time to wait.
5 out of 5
by Stuart

Fabulous elegant hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
An amazing oasis of elegance. Loved the area with so many terraced vineyards. Did not know Swiss wine. A well kept secret. The dining room had excellent service and the care to detail in the entire hotel is wonderful. We loved our experience here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Dec 28, 2016
The quality of staff throughout this hotel is impeccable; they are always one step ahead of you and are happy to assist with whatever you desire. They also have time to just talk to their guests, a nice change in the busy world in which we live.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
I travel extensively. The Grand Hotel du Lac by far is my favorite hotel. The personnel welcomes you like family. Very refreshing and distinctive for an establishment of this standing.