Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Very disappointing

Posted Oct 26, 2015
The hotel was supposed to be only 2 miles from La Spezia. It was 8 miles up a windy mountain road. The bed was like sleeping on a piece of wood. There was only one restaurant anywhere nearby. Do not stay here if you are visiting Cunque Terre.
4 out of 5
by Christopher from LONDON

Great little find !

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Don't be put off by the name ! Its not a convention hotel at all but a boutique hotel high up in a charming little village with great rooms and great staff, this is a real little find the building is full of character having stood for hundreds of years and the cobbles outside are reckoned to be close to a thousand years old, don't expect 24 hour room service or loads of staff just a great well priced boutique hotel, the locals are great especially in the little restaurant 25 meters away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MikeB

Great, but without a car forget about it!

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on HotelClub
This hotel is a great find - after spending 3 weeks in Italy at all the major cities, North of and including Rome, this was the first small town we stayed at in Italy, and we're glad we did! But if you don't have a car, forget about coming here - it would be a nightmare - it is at the top of a mountain - but that gives it a great outlook. The town itself is tiny, so come here to disconnect (no wifi). The room however is a good size, and they are the first place in Italy that gave us free parking! There is also a great pizzeria 10m away - the best pizza we had in all of Italy!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not in the Cinque Terre!

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The town and the breakfast.
Cons: Make sure the online views reflect the reality of the hotel. Open the "spa" to the hotel guests.
Location: Not much to do nearby. The restaurant next door spoke little English and we struggled to order. We ended up paying too much for our meal!
This hotel is in Vezzano Ligure and not Vernazza Ligure, which is part of the Cinque Terre! The hotel is in a different town halfway between the Cinque Terre and another valley. It was a beautiful location, but it was not where we wanted it to be. The hotel was in a little town in the middle of nowhere. We thought the pool and sauna were a part of the hotel, but they were not. Some of the views were okay, but they were not great. The people in the town were great, but the hotel was not what we expected. The bed was not great either.
4 out of 5
by kuljit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Tony from Sandbach

Think what you want before booking

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
Dont understand the rave reviews about this place. Typical old Italian hotel, very very basic, uncomfortable bed, poor shower and iffy wifi. Staff lovely, town, lovely, nice places to eat nearby, but at the end of the day you pay for a room and a nights sleep, not the view and neighbourhood
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: .Outstanding hilltop location and good atmosphere
Cons: Spa facilities seemed expensive so we didn't use
Location: Great views from the hilltop town and close to Italian Riviera and Cinque Terre
Attractive decor and helpful staff made our stay comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts and ate at the hotel restaurant for a couple of evenings. Food good but limited variation in the menu. An excellent base to explore the coast and easy access to Cinque Terre but you do need a car to get to places and to the railway station in La Spezia.
5 out of 5
by e from nyc

excellent overnight stopover

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
lovely hotel in a quiet town. perfect as a stop over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Geat little place tucked away on top of hill

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Restaurant with local specialties, subtle and soothing decor, in harmony with local surroundings. We loved hearinf the bells of the local church.
Cons: Uncomfortable seating
Location: Easy access to Cinque Terre, but away from the madness of the resort towns. Superb vistas, and fun exploring churches and other landmarks.
Very rewarding experience, our only minor complaint is that there were no comfortable chairs in bedrooms, breakfast room or lobby. Staff was great and dinner in restaurant very superior to most hotel food. The town, Vezzano, is tiny and a welcome, charming reapite for the weary traveller.
3 out of 5
by Jan from Newbury UK

Slightly disappointing

Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels
I was looking forward to staying in this hotel as the pictures of the rooms looked very attractive. Indeed the room was very smart and stylish, the bed was vast and comfortable enough and the room was kept beautifully clean and fresh throughout our stay. However despite the style the hotel was slightly boring to stay in, the service provided by the reception staff was minimal, the garden was poorly kept and, a big problem for me, because the air conditioning barely functioned and the room fridge was heating the wardrobe the room was hot. The village is lovely with some amazing views and the food and service in the nearby pizzeria is great.