Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet Neighborhood

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The location provided very quiet evenings and good restaurant choices within walking distance.
Cons: Perhaps a tea/coffee maker in-room.
Very nice and typical European hotel. Rooms are smaller than usual, but very clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel relative to the cost

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Clean and cost.
Cons: Decor and seating areas.
Location: Location 8 out of 10. With all the sites of Rome to go to.
9 out of10 for this hotel. Little bits like the nylon stretch seat covers on the chairs and settee's were not quite good enough for the star rating. Otherwise pleasant, with a good breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

4 Stars does not get any better!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: Offer a second pillow and room key to guests in single rooms.
Location: Come il Latte around the corner has the BEST gelato in the city!
A 4 Star hotel does not get any better than this! A friend and I just returned from Rome and stayed at The Empire. The rooms were extremely clean. The hotel staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was delicious with many choices. The hotel is close enough to most sites to be within walking distance and the surrounding buildings are interesting and more representative of Rome than say the busier touristy areas like Trevi where it is too crowded. There are great restaurants in the area and shopping. We highly recommend this hotel...and that is coming from 2 very picky Canadians!
4 out of 5
by Joel from Santa Barbara, CA

Close to Termini

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights. The hotel is within close proximity of Termini Train Station, 10-15 min walk or a 6-8€ taxi ride. The breakfast did have some selection of food, it is an Americanized breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Nina from USA

Not a bad hotel but could use some updating

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was on the large size for Europe. Furnishings were shabby and a previous guest had left some "artwork" in pen on the wall. Being an older hotel that was not updated, there was a shortage of outlets for us to use for all of our 2016 technology so we went around unplugging lamps that left us with a very dim room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Any requests were taken care of immediately and with a smile. Great location, close to many restaurants and a short walk to the hop on hop off bus.
3 out of 5
by James from Redondo Beach, CA, USA

Very Small, good service!

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are very small. Shower was so tiny that my elbows hit the walls constantly while showering. Sheets were very scratchy. Service was good and the staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

If you want a good night's sleep book this hotel

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: The bedroom
Cons: The Blue Bar staff - seriously need better training.
Location: In a more residential area of Rome so much quieter. Ten minute walk to nearest metro where you can travel to all the honeypots.
Loved this hotel. Quiet in the middle of one of the noisiest capitals in Europe. Room was lovely, very clean, feather quilt and nice linen and I slept like a log which I NEVER do normally. Blue Bar was disappointing. Staff never checked if everything was okay and guests had to get up from tables to find them. Plates were not heated so food was cold. Better to go to one of the many restaurants nearby. In the Blue Bar courtyard no staff ever appeared to ask if we wanted anything. Always we had to go searching for someone. It shut at midnight though so no noisy revellers keeping you awake Nice breakfasts. Everything you wanted and lots of staff about to help Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to explore Rome in the day then come back and have a great night's sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Harbor, Florida

Very clean hotel, but noisy area

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Very clean and spacious rooms. Bed is King Size. Wonderful breakfast.
Cons: Better pillows (foam) or at least a choice of pillows. There is no heating system, only air conditioning, so we were a bit chilly on our arrival.
Location: Close to bus stops and walking easily to shops and restaurants.
Check in was smooth and professional. Very courteous staff and we only had to wait about an hour for our room. We arrived a bit earlier than check in so were invited to their coffee room for beverages while we waited. Morning breakfast was delicious and plentiful with quite a variety of food including fruits, cheeses and pastry. Hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and sausages. Good service. Our only complaint was the noise from the street (we were on first floor) as they seemed to party at the nearby restaurants until 2:00 am. Loud traffic noise, engines starting up, honking of horns, laughter (drunkenly) and lots of shouting back and forth to one another. We didn't get much sleep. No heating system - only air conditioning. We were a bit cold upon check in as it was raining, windy and cold (45 degrees outside) and no heat to turn on. They provided extra blankets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

When in Rome...

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Location, there are fabulous small restaurants around the block, it's a nice area.
Location: Location, nice area, near Metro stop but Rome is a walking city, best seen on foot. Set aside a day for all things Vatican, another for Ancient Rome.
Ideal base for a 4-day city break with husband and older teen (17).