Ratings based on 456 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good location.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel is a little dated in parts but was clean and room 444 was spacious and comfortable with a superking bed and a separate room with a single bed. Staff were friendly and helpful. 10% discount is offered in the Alex restaurant and the food and service were excellent. Close to Barberini metro but we walked to all sights. Closest was Trevi fountain about 5 minutes away and furthest was the Vatican, about 40 minutes walk. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The staff were wonderful and the breakfast was lovely.
I loved my stay here. The rooms were nice and the staff was excellent. The morning breakfast was delicious. The only downside was that you couldn't eat in the rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Staff were amazing

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Firstly Connie behind reception was outstanding and help us with so many questions. Nothing was too hard for her. She made our stay great. The room that we got looked nothing like the photos that we thought we booked for. The room was very old and very small. The floor was squeaking and wasn't a very pleasurable sleep. The location was great, close to restaurants and bars. Don't think I would stay here again but the other rooms may be nicer. Just don't go by the pictures you see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Good in every way

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, staff, breakfast
Cons: Have Georgio work 24/7 on the front desk
Location: You can walk to the trevi fountain in 10 minutes, spanish steps in 7, gallery borghese in 15. Wonderful ristorante alexandra is a 4 minute walk
The Alexandra has a good location allowing you to walk to all of Rome's northern attractions. Our room was super as was the included breakfast Giorgio on the front desk is a wonderful asset the hotel should hang on to at all costs. So pleasant, accommodating and helpful. He was the biggest plus of our stay at Alexandra. Thanks Giorgio Jack R
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Very friendly helpful staff. When we checked in they noticed that it was the birthday of our one of group. They sent a bottle of champagne to their room. Now that is a special touch!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We booked from an online site and when we arrived they no longer had a room in the category that we reserved so they upgraded our room at no additional cost. Good breakfast, friendly staff, quiet, comfortable bed, and super location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
In a very good location. Close to the metro station. Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Helpful staff and Near to many places of interests

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Our first visit to Italy. Did not know where to stay. Picked up the hotel and was pleasanty surprised as to how near it was to Fountain De Trevi, the Spanish steps and the Pantheon. metro and taxi stand were nearby.The staff was extremely helpful in guiding us around. The breakfast was not great, but who cares about breakfast when you have so many places to visit. I will certainly stay there another time, and would highly recommend the hotel for anyone willing to visit Rome. We arrived late at the hotel at night, and were delighted to be upgraded to a superior room. Not the typical modern hotel, but quite rustique, very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Alexander

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Great location walkable sites within minutes good value ok breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Hotel centrally located in Rome

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Orbitz
I checked in a bit late since my flight to Rome was delayed. The receptionist wasn't very friendly to say the least. He checked me in and have me my room keys. He just seemed a bit too quiet and serious that it made the check in process a bit uncomfortable. I get to my room which was very nice and cozy by the way. I take a hot shower and go next door to buy a pizza margherita to bring back to my hotel room. I go to the reception to pick up my room key (since apparently you must leave your room key with them whenever you decide to leave the hotel) and the receptionist tells me I can't go up to my room with food and points me to their dark breakfast area past the lobby. It's 9:30pm, I'm exhausted and can't even eat my pizza in the comfort of my own room. Really felt like they were treating me like an irresponsible, dirty child. I was booked for 2 nights but my travels plans changed and the next morning I go down to check out and let the receptionist know I won't stay the 2nd night but he still insists on charging me the 2 night hotel room taxes anyway. I was just over their passive/aggressive behavior toward their customers. I left this hotel with a bitter taste in my mouth. Most likely won't recommend them nor stay there again on my future travels to Rome!