Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Excellent location in Rome

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Beautiful hotel near the Spanish steps. Excellent customer service
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TORONTO

I will NEVER stay again/recommend this hotel EVER!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The 1 positive I take away from this hotel was at least the housekeeping and room service staff were the only pleasant people working in this hotel!
Cons: The staff at the front desk should not be so worried about the tips and should work on being more polite to hotel guests and treating them all equally
Location: The location was good but now that I know my way around, I know for my return trip of better locations and hotels!
I booked a bundled trip last minute to Rome on my three week European vacation. I mulled over a few 5-star hotels with the same ratings and same amount of positive reviews. Upon arrival, I was taken to a ground floor room which had a view of the very busy and very loud street. I was staying alone and did not feel comfortable in this room, plus it wreaked of cigarette smoke (this was a renovated room, as well). I asked to be moved higher up, they obliged and put me in an older room (which still smelt of cigarettes) but was charming and higher up. The flooring unfortunately was coming apart between the carpet leading into the bathroom, the shower was clogged my entire stay, the beds and pillows were the worst I have ever slept on, the bathroom was all marble but the marble floor were stained a yellow colour (not at all appealing). The room, was ok and I was able to deal with it, the part I could not deal with were the front desk staff. They had an air about them as if they were better than me, I would dress casually during the day and they would not even acknowledge my presence, when I was dressed up at night for dinners, they would all go out of their way to acknowledge me. I was ignored for the majority of my stay and when other hotel guests would come in they would be addressed and dealt with or prioritized over me. Even asking for a cab, the bellmen were useless..I took Uber because it was more reliable. I felt completely uncomfortable and unhappy from day one of my stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

i just like it

Posted Jul 4, 2017
the hotel is general was great also the concierge service was more than great friendly stuff i recommend it for everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Nice hotel but expensive food and drink. Expresso is 7.5 euro and 1 euro in Rome and 1.2 euro in Venice. Everything must be delivered by boat so I understand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Elegant, wonderful with a beautiful terrace.

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: Staff. Food. Concierge. Terrace bar. Location. Style.
Cons: Nope
Location: Perfect. Easy for everywhere but oasis in hot city.
We loved it. They took us under their wings. Totally befriended us and were wonderful. X
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location and the class of the hoterl
Location: excelent
was little bit problem on the check in, but the staff fixed the problem excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Staying majestically above Rome

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Location, décor and size of the room. Very elegant.
Cons: The attitude of the restaurant staff was off-putting.
This is a beautiful hotel in the most active area of Rome. I had been in Rome for a week a few weeks earlier, and stayed at a luxury boutique hotel at the top of the Borghese. The Majestic is located at the "bottom" of the Borghese and adjacent to the heart of downtown. In that respect, the location was great for walking and getting transportation to locations within Rome. On the downside, it was very noisy outside, but with the windows and shutters closed, it was very quiet for sleeping. It was not, however, a place where you could throw open the windows. Where my stay at the Lord Byron in the weeks prior had been quietly elegant, this hotel was "over the top" in its décor and opulence. It is adjacent to many of the top large luxury hotels of Rome. Since I was just staying for a day before heading out to London, I ate in the hotel. The food was excellent, but some of the staff was aloof and not particularly friendly, which was a huge divergence from what I had experienced at the Lord Byron earlier in the month. The food at the Majestic was excellent, though a bit pricey. Dining on there outdoor terrace was noisy from the traffic below. My room itself was wonderful, very large and extremely comfortable. I would have given the hotel five stars, but the attitude of the restaurant staff was detracting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from laguna niguel California

Fantastic place to spend time in Rome!

Posted May 12, 2017
The rooms, the breakfast, the staff...everything was incredibly wonderful
5 out of 5
by Salvatore

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in great (quiet) location

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Very close to restaurants, shops and lots of Rome's treasures are walking distance
The hotel was beautiful, the staff lovely and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.