Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel, located 30 seconds from the station!

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Fantastic hotel! Very unique in its look, almost has a castle like feel to it inside with stone walls on all side. Located just outside Viana do Castelo station in the main square which is close to everything and a 2 minute walk to the river side. Staff was extremely friendly and the service was top notch. Highly recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by By Melo Alvim Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Oguzhan, Thank you very much for your lovely reply, your words make us proud they do indeed contribute to us to work better and better. Best regards, By "Melo Alvim" team Please accept our
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful place to stay
5 out of 5
by Herve

Portugal 2017

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
What a nice Hotel. It as to be the best Hotel so far in Portugal. We will be back for sure
3 out of 5
by Jose

4 star?

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Sandra the receptionist on arrival was very helpful friendly Although it's a 4star hotel it's under staffed breakfast not good the same staff member tends to reception and breakfast while doing dishes. One particular member of the staff that I don't have the name but seamed to be a manager or higher very unhelpfull and argumentative when we asked to have a suit and dress steamed considering they offer a laundry service said it was impossible to have it done in time frame. I then took those same items to a local dry cleaners and had them done within a couple of hours. The room luxury double had an air com machine for a view on one side the noise of trains kept waking we up and was not cleaned on the Sunday. Bathroom needs to be updated shower curtains on a bathtub don't belong in a 4star hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can walk from train station, shopping center behin

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Room was ready and we signed in and went to our room, very comfortable bed, double French doors and bathroom had window. Room was quiet. We definitely shall return. Very good service and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Kent

Artistically Decorated

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this 16th century hotel. The artistic decor follows a theme of stone and iron, with great attention to detail. The bed was the most comfortable either of us had ever slept on. Our only slight criticism is weak shower pressure, but this is minor when considering the pleasure of staying in this hotel. The staff were pleasant and very helpful with maps to local sights.
5 out of 5
by graham from Halifax, UK

Quiet break from the kids? Give it a try.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
A very pleasant hotel . offers charm and character not found in many present establishments. A wonderful old building that has been preserved and accommodates guests who appreciate peace and quiet. Breakfasts are above average and the staff cannot be more helpful. We spent two days in the hotel and for once wished we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke

Fantastic location

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Struggle to find what could be improved
Great location next to train station no need for car. Breakfast superb, room very grand and spacious. Could not find a negative. Good choice of restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
by Pierre Taminiaux from Washington DC

A beautiful hotel in Viana do Castelo

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
it was a wonderful one-night stay in an historic building that has been perfectly upgraded while preserving its architectural identity. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel was centrally located near both the train station and the old town (a very quaint place). The parking in front of the hotel was for free, which is a definite plus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Viana do Castelo.