Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Central location in pleasant town and area of Via.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Spotlessly clean and reception were happy to help with car parking and information.
Cons: Continental breakfast was good and adequate but perhaps could have been a bit more varied. Sweet rolls stale on Monday. The bar is not really promote
Location: Funicular to church at top of town which has very good views. Surf school nearby C.A.R.- on other side of river near Darque.
Good welcome and information given here - recommendations for restaurants, sites of interest etc. Parking is very limited and local car parks are expensive but otherwise everything was very good value. We found Portugal very friendly and interesting. The temperature was high for us - over 30C- in late August- even in Northern part of country. They were preparing for a major festival 17-20 August. Good restaurants and local boutique café much enjoyed.
5 out of 5
by Rupert

A Great Stay

Posted May 25, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for four nights at this hotel, it is central, there was easy parking nearby (€3.99 per 24hrs). Helpful management, rooms spotless, quiet and appeared to have been renovated recently. Breakfast was very adequate. All five of our party which included four Camino walkers would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk lake district

a jewel of a budget hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
central location. excellent staff. the breakfast was filling. lots of offers by the staff to eat more. buns ham chease cerials coffee cakes. orange juice fruits. the rooms are all based on the same style with slight differings. the mood lighting was nice along with the balcony view up the mountain to the church. parking is 5 euros a day. in a narrow car park. the room was very quiet. the tv was a little small but who goes on holiday to watch TV all day? The staff make this hotel a must try.
5 out of 5
by Kim hwa from Tasmania

Our Best hotel stay in Portugal

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and a very warm welcome from Edwardo set the positive vibes for our holiday . We just love the clean, modern lines of the deco and comfortable bed and bathroom. The hotel was near to every attraction. Edward took our bags n showed us to our room after giving us a map n showing in details where the attractions are. Breakfast was served by a very sweet and charming girl who anticipated your every need. We stored our luggage there after check -out as our train was in the afternoon. Will definitely stay here again n recommend highly to all.
3 out of 5
by Neil from South Devon

Well placed little gem

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Small family owned hotel,wonderful reception staff, our room on the small size with little space to unpack into. Small shower. Very convenient for sightseeing and we had a great view of the cathedral on the hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canda

Great Camino Hotel

Posted May 10, 2016
Right on the Camino, huge bathtub to soak in after a good days walk. Staff was great. Watch out for the breakfast coffee though, it's rocket fuel!
5 out of 5
by Leslie from Wimborne

Excellent small hotel in centre of town

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
There is little on street parking in town. The Hotel has an internal parking garage, but is rather "Tight" access for medium / large cars. There is an underground garage approx 200m before hotel on the same one way street, this has a special rate of €4.99 for 24 hrs, if paid for at the Guard office within 30 min of entering. Hotel and staff are excellent in all ways with 2 minor niggles: the bathroom had a glass wall into the room and there was very restricted access to one side of the bed. Vianna is a very pleasant town with many small shops plus a magnificent viewpoint from the hill overlooking the town. No restaurant but we were given recommendations,by the staff, for magnificent, and cheap, Fish restaurants about 15 mins walk along the waterfront to the fishing port. Breakfast was plentiful and varied. There are many small,easily accessible, beautiful beaches at villages off the coast road Northwards up to Spain.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Australia

Ten out of ten

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
This was a faultless stay. The front desk staff went out of their way to give useful information about the town and things to do in the limited time I had. It's in an ideal position to go up to the church on the hill as well as for walking around the old town or down to the waterfront. Very modern stylish rooms (in an understated way) Very good range of food for the breakfast too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located hotel close to places of interest.

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The room was freshly painted and bathroom fittings were modern.
Cons: Shower drainage, as mentioned above.
Location: Viana do Costelo is a pretty riverside town with an excellent costume and craft museum, a lavishly decorated Palacio museum and a funicular.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and an excellent free breakfast is provided. The only problem was containing water flow from the shower and the hotel management are aware of the problem and intending to fix it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2015
It is a boutique hotel , good concept, room is not big, enough for a queen bed. Bathroom is not so private, glass wall. Parking you must call them to reserve, few spots and close parking lot is expensive, over 15 euros for half day, or try to find spot to public parking 10 min walking.