Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2018
Location: Sea holiday in summer, carnival in winter time
Nice hotel, very grand. Spacious room and nice customer service, continental breakfast with lots of selection. Nice spa (free to use previous booking) and roof top swimmingpool (heated at 36 degrees). Lovely stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Best & Grand Hotel by the Beach

Posted Dec 13, 2017
I had a stay of 2 weeks here in November 2017 and it was a wonderful experience from every point of view. This hotel offers a standard that is beyond excellent; seamlessly blending the classic elegance and comfort of a Grand Hotel with stylish modernity relevant to our busy 21st century lives. What a relief to find a place that can provide expert care alongside effortless proficiency. The room was spacious, impeccably prepared and beautiful with balcony and sea views. The staff were beyond skillful across the board: in the restaurant, rooms, reception and spa services. I had a great treatment in the luxe in-house spa. Breakfast was an abundant array with Italian pastries, broad choice of savory dishes, cereals and yogurts, many fruits, several local honeys, gluten-free options - basically many options, served by incredibly attentive and efficient staff. A special shout-out to Gian Carlo at Reception, who went beyond the call of duty and made my stay even better than anticipated. Best experience I have had staying in a hotel along the Tuscan coast, cannot recommend highly enough.
5 out of 5
by linda

Luxurious beach hotel in Viareggio!!

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
We chose this gorgeous hotel across from the beach for our wedding anniversary. Everything was top notch. Whether it was sitting on the hotel rooftop pool in our robes with bar service, enjoying the overwhelmingly bountiful breakfast feast, luxuriating in the bathtub after a long day or experiencing Michelin starred dinners, this restaurant is the perfect spot to relax, be pampered at the spa, have a drink on your balcony or the rooftop restaurants, you'll enjoy everything wonderful right at your fingertips. Kudos to the staff who always went above and beyond to make us feel special and well cared for. Can't wait to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich, UK

Imposing hotel with sumptuous breakfasts

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Drinks prices were high.
Location: Great location, just opposite the wonderful beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Principe. The staff were really lovely, especially the Reception staff and the Head Porter. The breakfasts were out of this world. The best hotel breakfasts we have ever experienced. Wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Anniversary trip to Viaraggio

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere, the reading room, the pool and the breakfasts were great.
Cons: The concierge staff could follow through.
Location: Walks, the beach, shopping
The hotel is beautifully located and the reception staff extremely helpful. I was disappointed there was no bath, only a shower in our room. Although we were offered an alternative room it was not a superior room and we did not change. The Principe (2 Michelin Star) restaurant was superb and will always be remembered for its attention to detail, fabulous food and style. The spa service was also very good and we loved the roof pool and area. Disappointed with concierge staff who did not follow through with our requests on three separate occasions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Viareggio long weekend

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, great facilities, attentive staff, brilliant service at all times. Well located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fab hotel excellent staff

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms with most facilities you need , lovely pool on roof good restaurant
Cons: Only one thing which was slightly annoying every time went to pool no towels
Location: Good location for traveling to florance , Pisa etc
Had ten days holiday at this hotel and we were thoroughly looked after fabulous helpful staff made it a break to remember
5 out of 5
by Howard

The Gem of Viareggio

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Truly a great hotel. Our room on the sea was perfect with large windows that opened to the constant sea breeze. The services were superb. The bar manager was very attentive. The breakfast was amazing, and the pool on the roof was the icing on the cake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Classy premium hotel close to beach

Posted May 20, 2017
Quality feel about the whole place. Traditional but by no means tired like many other places. Excellent staff and service.
5 out of 5
by Fran

Hotel stay in Viareggio

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
This is a really lovely traditional style hotel in a great location right next to the beach. The staff are on the whole polite, friendly and very efficient although the bar-service is a lot slower than we're used to in the UK. The roof-top pool is gorgeous, and a real sun-trap. The standard of food and drink is very good but quite expensive compared to the other cafes and restaurants in Viareggio. There is a lovely spa which guests have free access to for one hour per day and where you can also book treatments. The only negative is the dilapidated building across the road from the hotel which has been left in a state of disrepair but has the name of the hotel on it. This may have formerly been the private beach area but it is a bit of an eyesore. Our visit coincided with the G7 summit which was taking place in nearby Lucca, the US Secretary of State was staying in our hotel so we had the added excitement of a police cordon and loads of secret service people wandering about!