Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pleasant hotel complex near the sea.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Very pleasant location, with free buggy service down to the beach, lovely landscaped gardens. High standard of cleanliness and very pleasant staff.
Cons: Better lighting in the rooms and properly fixed TV. The road leading to the hotel from the main road has no lighting at all and it is pitch dark.
Location: Beautiful location. A bus takes you to the pleasant town of Tropea although the service is not that frequent. Capo Vaticano about 50 minutes walk.
We picked this hotel because it was advertised with most if not all rooms with kitchenette. When we enquired about the level of facilities and equipment provided for self catering, kept getting vague answers to our queries until finally we were told that from this year kitchenette facilities had been removed from all but just one superior room and we had to use the hotel restaurant. We contacted Expedia about this because we had only made this booking because of kitchen facilities advertised on their and Hotel Tonicello website. Expedia, very kindly helped us secure the room with the kitchenette. But there was an extortionate €20 daily charge for the use of the kitchen! On arrival we found the only light bulb in the lounge/kitchen so dim that it was impossible to read or cook after dark! We were promised it would be looked into. Nothing happened! The small TV was mounted about 8 feet up and was actually fitted incorrectly pointing upwards to the ceiling. But after the response we had with the low powered light bulb we did not bother to complain! Apart from this it was very pleasant and clean. All the staff were very friendly, reception, cleaning staff, the buggy drivers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff - not a 4 star

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Nice location. Interesting grounds. Easy access to pool and beach. Terrible beds and mattresses (worst in the six hotels I stayed in on this trip to Italy). Low quality bathroom and fixtures. Insufficient parking or beach chairs and umbrellas for the number of guests at the hotel. Hostess Maria was excellent - informative, welcoming, knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St Helens

Will definitely be going back

Posted Jun 1, 2008
It was the first week of the season so not everything was open but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff more than made up for it. A great place for a quiet holiday. Don't go if you want clubs and a lively nightlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay

A Gem

Posted May 18, 2008
Although the location of the hotel is a little off the beaten path, it was well worth the visit. It is an exceptional facility with all the amenities required for travellers. We had only one night there- it is an excellent place for a longer visit. The staff was very helpful and even took the time to drive us to a local resturant for dinner. Excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Will return one day - ideal for families

Posted Oct 6, 2007
We had to book this last-minute as a villa we had booked in the area fell through. We were not disappointed! Although there at the end of the season (end September) the weather was still lovely and warm, and we had the place to ourselves pretty much! The pool is great, and the beach at the bottom of the cliff is a great swimming and bathing beach, with some nice cafes for a lunchtime beer as well. The staff there are extremely helpful, and English speaking too which helped (the most common second language in this area of Italy is German).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Osnabrück

Ein kleines familiär geführtes Hotel in super Lage

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Die Lage
Location: Bestens für Ausflüge in Kalabrien geeignet
Tolle Herbstferien, kaum etwas los am Strand, wer also Ruhe genießen möchte, ist hier gut aufgehoben.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Sehr saubere, ruhige Anlage

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: + Sauberkeit + grüne bepflanzte Anlage mit hohen Bananenbäumen, fast wie in einem Dschungel + Zimmer mit Aussicht - "Strandbesetzer"
Location: Mietwagen empfehlenswert
Die Anlage ist sehr sauber und gepflegt. Gott sei Dank hatten wir Zimmer mit Meerblick gebucht, das war eine unbezahlbar schöne Aussicht!!!! Unser Zimmer war eigentlich ein kleines Appartment mit 3 Schlafzimmer, aber sehr karg eingerichtet (z.B. sehr kleiner Fernseher im Eingangsbereich und nicht im Schlafzimmer, keine deutschen Programme, kein Fön im Bad) hat mich aber persönlich nicht gestört. Unser Bad war schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen, aber wie gesagt, es war alles immer ordentlich und sauber!! Zum Strand gehts etwas steil hinab, aber das Hotel bietet einen individuellen Shuttleservice an, was auch einwandfrei funktioniert hat. Leider funktionerte das mit den Liegestühlen am Strand nicht so ganz. Pro Zimmer, so wurde es uns an der Rezeption gesagt, steht ein Liegestuhl, Sonnenschirm und ein Strandstuhl zu Verfügung, wenn man Pech hatte und die anderen Hotelbesucher schneller am Strand waren, musste man sich mit den Strandstühlen begnügen, da die Liegestühle alle von den anderen Gästen "besetzt" wurden. Fand ich persönlich unmöglich, aber ist halt typisch - die "Strandbesetzer"..... Das Frühstück war nichts besonderes, da habe ich mir durch die anderen Bewertungen mehr erwartet - guter Standard. Das Personal war auch immer freundlich und hilfsbereit. Ich empfehle einen Mietwagen, weil in der Umgebung des Hotels nichts geboten ist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Tolle Anlage auf einer Anhöhe über dem Meer.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Die Hotel Anlage.
Die Bademeister sind sehr aufmerksam und mögen Kinder gerne! Das Meer ist glasklar. Manchmal siet man den Stromboli. Zum Meer kann man zu fuss gehen oder mit einem Golfkart fahren. Die Kinderbetreuung ist für eher kleinere Kinder geeignet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Familienferien ok

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel ist abgelegen aber an einem schönen Strand. Mit Kleinkindern ist es aber dort schwierig zu baden, da das Wasser schnell Tief ist. Hotel herzig für Familien. Kinderclub und Animation vorhanden. Personal sehr hilfsbereit und nett.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neuss

Schönes Hotel mit Traumhaften Strand

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Kleine Anlage, nicht überfüllt. Sehr guter Service. Traumhafter Strand.