Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Lovely hotel close to a village

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The facilities, comfort, including air conditioning, relaxing environment, setting, views and access. Biggest asset though is its staff.
Cons: The breakfast buffet was very nice but scrambled eggs and sausages were cold. The restaurant was about 20% more expensive than local equivalents.
Location: Sorrento from where tours to Capri and the Amalfi Coast. VIco Equense for eating. Pompeii and Herculaneum only 30 mins by train. Beach at Seano nearby
A very enjoyable experience lasting 11 nights with a warm and friendly staff, in an understated and modest but comfortable, tasteful and relaxing setting. Stunning views across the bay of Naples, Vesuvius and within a 15 minute walk of a charming village with three restaurants and views across to Sorrento and Capri. The hotel is on a main road with an hourly coach service to and from Naples airport. For getting around without a car the local railway station of Seano serves Sorrento, a 10 minute journey, in one direction and Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples, the latter an hour away, in the other. The hotel provides a free shuttle bus to and from Seano station, Seano beach and the nearby town of Vico Equense, available on demand, 8am-1pm and 5pm-10pm. So we alternated between days relaxing in the hotel and days out. Excellent holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Lovely unique hotel with stunning views

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: The views and relaxed atmosphere. The staff were helpful and cheerful. The swimming pool is small but very quiet and you get to chat to other guests.
Cons: A small shop downstairs for hotel guests such suntan cream, drinks, sweets and snacks - essential items. Restaurant manger was rather officious.
Location: Location is out of town on a busy road. We didn't do anything within walking distance of the hotel.
We stayed at Torre Barbara for a week at the end of July 2017 with our two children in a family room. The room was on a split level giving privacy for my husband and I. The hotel is located on a busy road from Vico Esquense, luckily we had a room away from the road so it was quiet at night. The atmosphere of this hotel is quaint, with traditional features. It has a spectacular view looking out over the bay of Naples which you can enjoy from the very clean terrace, outdoor dinning space and the swimming pool area. Breakfast is a very relaxed experience - I went early for coffee and to soak up the amazing views and then again later when my family woke up. The hotel is small enough for you to get to know the other guests if you want and there is always enough sunbeds, loungers for everyone who wanted one. Our room was cleaned immaculately every day by the maid. There is a shuttle bus into Vico Esquense from 7-1pm and 5-10pm everyday to the train station, beach and town but NOT into Sorrento. This is a free service but you will need to pay taxes of 1.50 Euro per trip. The hotel organises excursions and the bus picks you up from the hotel at an agreed time. The location of the hotel is out of town so you are restricted to the hotel restaurant and there are no local shops within safe walking distance. You will have to rely on the shuttle bus taking you into Vico Esquense, which is a beautiful little town with a range of shops, beaches, restaurants and bars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon, Cambs

Beautiful boutique hotel run by lovely people

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The views from the terrace restaurant and the friendly staff. Excellent rooms and free wifi throughout the hotel and the grounds. Free shuttle service
Cons: The bed was a bit firm for my taste. I wouldn't change anything else!
Location: The location was perfect for both Sorrento and Pompeii/Herculaneum. The hidden away beach and port at nearby Seiano are an understated a delight.
The views from the terrace restaurant across the Bay of Naples are as good as you will get anywhere along the coast. The Hotel is a perfect slice of local architecture and is beautifully maintained by a dedicated and extremely friendly staff. Breakfast is a bit basic but the restaurant provides a limited but very high class and reasonably priced menu for evening dinning and you get those views! No hire car needed as they provide a free shuttle service to the local train stations and local beaches. Sorrento is ten minutes on the train and just 4 Euros for a return fare and the nearer town of Vico Equense is a ten minute ride in the free shuttle. We will be going back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Fantastic staff, very friendly and helpful. Beautiful grounds with awesome views of Gulf of Sorrento from pool and restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, they are the best

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We can't say enough about the dinners at this hotel. The chef is outstanding! The staff, servers and front desk personnel went out of their way to make our experience a great one. The view from the deck and restaurant is amazing. One of the highlights of our trip!
5 out of 5
by Maritza

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Market Harborough

Fantastic intimate hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
This is a fantastic hotel, we stayed for four nights from August 13th - August 17th 2016. It's a small hotel, the reception staff are very friendly and helpful, you can even buy train tickets from the desk. There is a free shuttle bus to take you to the train station about 5 minutes away and from there you can visit Sorrento, Capri and Pompeii easily enough. The shuttle will also take you into Vico Equense which is a pretty place. The driver has tips for you about where you are going and they will come collect you upon your return if you give them a quick call. The hotel rooms were very clean, plenty of space, air con was fab. The restaurant served dinner with the most amazing sunset and view over the bay of Naples and Versuvius and the staff were very friendly and welcoming.The food was also delicious. I travelled with my two children and we all felt like we had made friends with everyone by the time we had left. The pool is set in beautiful gardens and although its not huge , it shares the same stunning views over the bay of Naples and is very welcome after a hot day of sightseeing. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough , would definitely return if I was in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel - brilliant views

Posted Aug 28, 2016
The room was amazing and the beds very comfortable. Tons of channels to watch on cable TV (press info and watch in English if you prefer). And the jewel is their restaurant that overlooks the coast and Mt. Versuvius. And their waiter, Dario was the most attentive and friendly waiter we have ever met (and we travel a lot) - now mix that with excellent food prepared by a world class chef from Naples and fresh tomatoes and veggies from their local garden and you have something that's as rare as the jewel of the Nile. Fabulous and again thank you Dario for an incredible service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Delightful Staff and a Charming Resort

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We had 3 nights stay at Torre Barbara and were impressed from the moment we were greeted at reception. The staff were always friendly and personable, the hotel food is excellent, the view from the terrace was sublime, the room was more than adequate for our needs. We will definitely be making another visit to this little slice of heaven next year.