Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ocean City

outstanding

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect location
Just got home from my trip to South Africa . I usually don't comment on past hotels but in this case I feel the hotel is truly a property that deserves it. This is possibly the finest hotel that I ever stayed in. From the moment you arrive to the moment you depart the staff makes you feel like you the most important guest staying there. If you're going to be spending time in such a wonderful city like Cape Town then choose an equally wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
by Warren

Great

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Overall extremely good. Great location, great facilities, great service, relatively expensive but still great value. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
by Brett

Gem of Cape Town!

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome hotel and staff!!!! Had a lovely stay in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH, USA

Intimate yet convenient

Posted May 11, 2017
Our first stay at this brand. Impressed with staff and amenities. Great attention to detail. An intimate oasis yet convenient to the sights and things to do in Cape Town.
5 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ankara, Turkey

Very Nice Hotel in Cape Town

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, views, breakfast buffet
Location: Many touristy things are available at the nearby V & A Waterfront area. The main stop of Hop On Hop Off bus tours are very close.
One and Only is a hotel that I can recommend if you want to have an excellent stay in Cape Town. It is close to the main V & A Waterfront area but away from all the noise. All you hear and see are the seagulls flying around the waterway in front of the hotel. Plus you get a gorgeous view of the Table Mountain. The staff if very friendly and very capable. They helped us arrange our tour outings and restaurant reservations. The Nobu restaurant on the premises was excellent and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet is amazing and has something for everyone.
1 out of 5
by Paula

Roaches and Unsafe!

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
We were told that it was safe to walk from the hotel to the wharf. On our walk home when we were very close to the hotel we were approached by a shabbily dressed vagrant asking us for money. There was no security and we felt very much threatened. When we got to the hotel we told the guard at the gate who seemed unconcerned. When we got to the hotel the valet parking team did react. Regardless, I would caution anyone asked me about the location of this 5 star hotel that it is not safe to walk to and from the wharf at night. We asked to speak to the night manager who seemed unconcerned (Zara). Her first comment was "what would you have me do"? The next morning we woke up to a large cockroach in our room. This time I asked to speak to the general manager who was arrogant and unconcerned. He actually defended the hotel and said that they are on the waterfront and any hotel that would tell you there are not roaches would be lying! Seriously! I now know why you call the hotel "the one and only". It is the one and only time we will stay at your hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Paula, It saddens us to read that you left feeling less than satisfied with your stay at One&Only Cape Town in spite of our best efforts to ease your anxiety and discomfort. We did have, what I believed to be a very sincere conversation where I addressed your concerns and offered you dinner at Nobu as a gesture of how sorry we were that you were unhappy. This despite your threats to write bad reviews on social media if you did not receive full compensation. Although a rare occurrence in the V&A waterfront, encounters with the homeless are possible in every city in the world and we maintain that the resort and surrounds are safe and secure under the vigilant watch of our highly trained security officers. Kind regards, Richard Lyon - General Manager
5 out of 5
by Iman

Exceeded Excpectations

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
We loved our stay here! Well worth the long trip from the USA.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very pleasant ex

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Truly a "one and only" experience, awsome staff and service. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

A memory to cherish

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The view of table mountain is awesome. The beds are great. Nobu is excellent. The staff were amazing.
Cons: No
Location: Very well located for the V&A waterfront and courtesy car is a bonus. We also took a car to Camps Bay for the evening which is not far away.
I booked this hotel for my mum and I as a special treat for our first few days in South Africa. It was everything that we could have wished for - luxurious accommodation, well located, superb service, great food, beautiful pool and of course the view! The beds were the most comfortable that we've ever slept in, it felt like you were floating on them - we never woke once in the night which is unusual. By the time we checked out we felt that we had had an experience that we would never forget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Richard Lyon , Hotel Management
Dear MacKenzie, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so delighted that you had such a memorable stay with us. We thoroughly enjoy offering guests memories to treasure and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Richard Lyon, General Manager