Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Marriott experience

Posted Jul 6, 2017
It's a student hotel restrooms don't have close and done by cristal Traveling with family not the best small beds small rooms Not prepared for American outlet plugs not USB terrible internet Not a Marriott experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durban

Good hotel close to v&a water front

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nice hotel.. compact rooms with just about everything you need. Good choice for vacations around the V&A. Centrally located
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yellowknife, Canada

Cape Town V&A accomodation

Posted May 7, 2017
We spent 5 days at the Protea. The location was excellent, the room rate was good. The converted prison provides a unique hotel experience. The rooms are very compact so be prepared for this but finishes and design are good and meet Marriot standard. Room was very clean. Bed was great. Unfortunately we had no water for one full day because of a city main break. We did not receive any discount for this and should have. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2017
Beautiful rooms. Perfect location. Very clean. I definitely recommend it although the room is a bit small.
5 out of 5
by GLENN

Great hotel for the Family

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
A great hotel for our family in a fantastic location. A safe and easy 5 min walk to the V&A Watetfront. Our 2 bedroom Family room was compact but perfect for the 4 of us. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
After reading mixed reviews I was pleasantly surprised. This is a great hotel, good location, only 5 mins walk from V&A waterfront with its many attractions. The hotel restaurant offers great food at a good price. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
by Kathy

A great location!

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
The location was perfect for the V and A Waterfront! We walked there every day, and ate lunch, and dinner there at great restaurants, shopped for souvenirs (Watershed, and the African Store), etc. The Reception is awfully far from the room (3211), but we figured out the "route" to walk there and back. The Stonebreakers Restaurant was below our room, which was fine except for the patio area where people stayed out talking and laughing loudly after 11 p.m. We phoned the restaurant on one night to complain, then Reception the next night, and the noise ended.
3 out of 5
by Thomas

Its like a prison!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was an old prison, cool for a night I guess, but ultimately not much you can do with an old prison to make it into a nice hotel (obviously... but Marriott didn't seem to realize this). A lot of much nicer places to stay in Capetown...would not recommend this one. Oh and there is a college there to ... altogether very weird.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Close to Waterfront

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Cleaning of the room floors.
Location: A multitude of things to do in Cape Town. No chance of being bored.
Using the hotel made staying in Cape Town a pleasant experience. The location meant easy access to amenities.