Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Well positioned hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Great staff, location.
Cons: Temperature adjustments on showers, and noise from air-conditioning in some rooms
Location: Shop shop shop
Excellent staff, rooms vary, some with noisy air-conditioning, others quiet. It takes ages to adjust the temperature of the showers, with the temperature getting hotter for about 30 seconds after turning the lever to colder, at a time when there is a serious water shortage in Capetown. If I were the water authority, I'd close the hotel down until it fixed the terrible waste of water due to its incompetent temp control on showers. a two minute shower requires ten minute water running to get a usable temp.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Marriott experience

Posted Jul 6, 2017
It's a student hotel restrooms don't have close and done by cristal Traveling with family not the best small beds small rooms Not prepared for American outlet plugs not USB terrible internet Not a Marriott experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durban

Good hotel close to v&a water front

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Nice hotel.. compact rooms with just about everything you need. Good choice for vacations around the V&A. Centrally located
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value in a top location

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Brilliant location, comfortable room, great value.
5 out of 5
by mark

Great for the V&A waterfront

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
We did a two night stopover before embarking on a safari tour to Vic Falls via Namibia. Good breakfast in this hotel. It is amusing to see the Business School students attending in the old converted prison cells.
3 out of 5
by Sacheen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pamela

Fabulous location for a reasonable price

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous location - right across from the Aquarium at the V&A Waterfront. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quite comfortable with a terrific view of Table Mountain, but had only one electric outlet that we could use for recharging our electronics. We used the transfer service from the airport and back thru them, which I arranged thru email. I was informed that the fee was greater than what their website said, and when we reviewed the bill on departure, the fee was higher again. But it was only a few dollars more and the service was excellent. The breakfast buffet was extensive.
5 out of 5
by Ann

Three day break in Cape Town

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast on the deck with a Table Mountain view in a lovely historic building. Room on the small side, glass bathroom (not much privacy) and small double bed instead of twins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 11, 2017
Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yellowknife, Canada

Cape Town V&A accomodation

Posted May 7, 2017
We spent 5 days at the Protea. The location was excellent, the room rate was good. The converted prison provides a unique hotel experience. The rooms are very compact so be prepared for this but finishes and design are good and meet Marriot standard. Room was very clean. Bed was great. Unfortunately we had no water for one full day because of a city main break. We did not receive any discount for this and should have. Overall a good stay.