Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good as ever after many visits

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location as always, high quality decor everywhere, friendly & in many cases long serving staff, range of power sockets in rooms.
Cons: Bar layout - some corners could be cosier.
Location: The V&A Waterfront is essentially a docks turned into a mall, a bit of cliche but it works very well. A great viewpoint for Table Mountain.
I always stay here or at the sister property the Queen Victoris to conclude a trip to Cape Town. The public spaces have had a refresh recently and are looking good, although the bar isn’t as cosy as it used to be. I was uncertain about the rebranding of the restaurant from Oyo to Ginja. On the whole I preferred the old menu, but found the decor is now growing on me, and the lovely stsff are the same. This hotel lacks some facilities e.g. swimming pool, spa, but most are available at sister properties nearby. The waterfront location is supremely convenient for shopping, ATM facilities and sea & people watching, yet the rooms are not too noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Excellent position for everything,

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Hv just got back....Lovely hotel, beaut view of Table Mountain, harbour, seagulls, great food, African vibe with Music n Marimbas. Close to hop on/off bus.... go there and hv a a wonderful time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakistan

Amazing

Posted Dec 26, 2017
All good at hotel with all comfort , It’s nice & memorable time in this hotel. location is also awesome for us. Good to stay at hotel Victoria & Alfred Hotel Cape Town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Everything was perfect

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Location: Very active area with lots to do; shopping, restaurants, art museums, Robben Island
Couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay. Loved overlooking the harbor (and being able to open the hotel windows). Breakfast was superb and loaded with every choice you could imagine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guayaquil-Ecuador

Best Hotel in Cape Town

Posted Nov 8, 2017
This is the best Hotel in cape Town. The location is perfect just in the best area of Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It is a beautiful and very convinient hotel. We loved our room and the special welcome gift. Everything was perfect. The best breakfast I have ever had in any hotel, they had champagne every morning and a delicious full breakfast. We also had dinner several times and the food fantastic. The staff were great and very kind and helpful all the time. We spent a wonderful week there. We highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

Excellent hotel in the middle of the waterfront

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: Everything about the hotel was excellent
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hotel is central for the waterfront shops and restaurants
We felt like royalty from the moment we arrived to the time we left four days later. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to their sister hotel the Queen Victoria which is across the road from the Victoria and Alfred hotel, we had a beautiful room overlooking table mountain, we could have breakfast at either hotel and they were both delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, Tx

Great waterfront location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Great experience! Only complaint is the floor tiles are worn and cracks around the edges giving a dirt look to the floors. Staff was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jane

Great location lovely hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed for four nights in a double room overlooking the piazza. The room had black-out curtains and we never heard any noise at all. It was a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff was wonderful, we loved Capetown and will return one day and this would be our hotel of choice.
2 out of 5
by Eva

Worst room in hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Room 113 is a lot smaller than some of the other rooms. R4000 for view of Table Mountain not worth it. I booked king beds but got 2 single beds. Both matteresses a disgrace on 2 single beds. Mattress collapse in middle. Headboard loose and bangs every time you turn around. Sheet does not stay on mattress as they are too small. This is a disgrace for this type of hotel. Heating did not work. Maintenance team arrives and clean filter. The filter was filthy as he showed me and now heating worked. Never had such a terrible hotel room and bed and I have stayed here before. Hotel was fully booked and we could not change rooms. I was shocked. Waiting for bill to be brought to us took forever. Some manager commented that we should have just left but I felt sorry for the waiter as he would have this deducted from his wages. Next morning breakfast was ok except staff wanted to charge my husband for the breakfast. Took me some time to explain that we both slept at hotel. Used dishes take a long time to be removed. The manager of hotel did approach me the next morning and apologized stating they are currently renovating the rooms. I would have expected some compensation.