Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Area,Ontario, Canada

Helpful staff

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Facilities and the helpful staff
Location: Near Victoria Falls, Trip to Chobe Reserve in Botswana. Near by BOMA dinner & Drum Show. Helicopter over Victoria Falls, Zambezi Sunset River Cruise
We were there to see the Falls and experience the area. The staff were very helpful in getting us to our events and adding extra events.They also were very helping in accommodating us and the facilities were good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by sibongile, Hotel Management
A refreshing day to you Neil Many thanks for taking your time to review Azambezi River Lodge on Expedia, thank you for the positive feedback regarding our hotel and Team, we greatly appreciate. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lodge by the Zambezi

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Location & Facilities
Cons: As above
Location: Great location right on the bank of the Zambezi River and a good shuttle bus service to Victoria Falls.
Beautiful location, friendly staff, good food. Hotel is starting to look a little tired and more attention needs to be paid to cleaning tables etc around the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Sibongile, Hotel Management
A refreshing day to you Paul Many thank for your valued feedback, it was a pleasure to host you at Azambezi River Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

3 Star hotel with 5 star prices!

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Right on the river
Cons: Be more realistic with the prices, very expensive for what you get!
Location: Nothing near by, this hotel is far away from everything.
The pictures look way better than the actual thing. This hotel is offered as 4 start but everything about it is 2-3 stars. The food and drink prices are very expensive, if we were at a luxury 5 start hotel maybe, but not in this one. The food is not bad but not excellent either. The service is okay, not good, not bad. The room was clean but worn out. I would not stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Sibongile, Hotel Management
A refreshing day to you Jose Many thanks for your feedback as we await for another chance to welcome you back soon at the Azambezi River Lodge
5 out of 5
by Kimberly Kudzai

a very beautiful and up to standard hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
It was a lovely experience....we had a great time at the river lodge...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
A refreshing day to you Kimberley Kudzai It was a pleasure to host you at Azambezi River Lodge and we are delighted that you had a lovely experience. We are now looking forward to seeing you again in the near future Kind Regards Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
A secluded well serviced hotel with a good restaurant, and access to the Zambezi River. Nice swimming pool and a free shuttle to town and the Victoria Falls every two hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
A refreshing day to you Many thanks for the positive feedback regarding Azambezi River Lodge, we were honoured to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Ont

Great service, very nice hotel, good food

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Great service all around, food was quite good and prices were reasonable, located right on Zambezi River, we would have felt safer at night if there was a security wall around the perimeter of the hotel. Great hotel for Victoria Falls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawks Nest NSW

Relaxing on the banks of the Zambezi River

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The welcoming waterfall and covered bridge, open plan layout of the reception and assosciated hub with bar, dining and pool facilities.
Cons: General information about local tourist destinations and attractions, including the township's history and facilities. Having an ATM available on site
Location: We enjoyed the helicopter flight over the falls, the elephant safari and sunset cruise on the Zambezi River with many hippo and wildlife sightings.
Our transfer to the A'Zambezi River Lodge from the newly opened Victoria Falls International Airport was arranged by the reception staff and our first impressions on arrival exceeded our expectations. We are greeted warmly and there is a friendly and open atmosphere as we go through the check-in formalities, and soon we are taken to our room with our luggage by the friendly staff through tropical gardens and lush green lawns kept short by the grasing worthogs. The room is well appointed with all the comforts of a resort and the view from the balcony affors a glimpse of the mighty riverlazily flowing past. Our whole experience during our stay was very relaxed as the friendly and helpful staff made us feel special and attended to our needs. Only wish that they had more tourist information about the location's attractions and available activities. In the end it didn't prevent us from accessing the range of activity options that were on offer and we take home many memorable experiences we shared with new acquaintences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Wonderful time at the lodge. Beautiful surroundings and wildlife. Staff were fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location with wonderful service!

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
A relaxing yet luxurious place to stay. Rooms were great, location was perfect, views were amazing, service impeccable and the furry visitors were certainly a treat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful setting on the river.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Room was small, but quite nice. The only issues we had were with the bathroom. Shower head was broken and handle on tub jept coming off. We were not happy with the quality of the food and the cost for everything was quite expensive. Having said that, country is suffering financially and we were told the only area financially stable is Victoria Falls. Staff and everyone we met were nice, accomodating, and very friendly.