Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

World heritage site

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great position, access to this world heritage site. Amazing history.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby and run down

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Somehow this is in the Leading Hotels of the World portfolio.Shame on LHW! We have stayed at several LHW hotels and this is an unacceptable standard. If you just come for dinner or afternoon tea you will be wowed but if you stay and want some comfort in your room don't stay here. The rooms are shabby (not chic) and seedy, carpets are threadbare ( no excuse for this, not even the very tiring excuse from management that this is an old building). A/C is like the Vic Falls are in the room. The last time I saw such terrible wood chip painted wallpaper was in my Grandmothers care home. Again, no excuse apart from not wanting to spend money on the accommodation that the punters are paying a small fortune for. The valance on the bed was nastily stained and the wicker inset in the bed headboard pushed in. All the furniture is like it came from a cheap out of town junk shop. The mosquito nets have holes in. Again, no excuse. Yes we understand what what you're trying to achieve, but just visit somewhere like the other colonial hotel in Cape Town which is a much older hotel. They don't use the constant excuse that it's an old hotel so needs tlme and money to maintain it (which, let's be honest, you are paying them to stay there!). They put their hands in their pockets, spend money on maintaining the bedrooms and give their customers a colonial experience rather than a 1950s cheap and nasty tourist attraction that Vic Falls Hotel is trading on. This hotelso only plus is its staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

See the mists of Victora Falls from your window

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Excellent location - can't be better; beautiful gardens and pool; the staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was large, clean and very well appointed. The breakfast was fantastic - way beyond any expectations (that included champagne with strawberries). The hotel has several restaurants and a grill at the pool, that served fresh and delicious food. The was a performance in the evening. There are mozzies at Victoria, but the anti-mosquito net kept them away. The air conditioning was strong, but a bit too noisy.
Cons: The temperature outside was about 38, so probably it just had to work hard to keep the heat down. Otherwise - it's just picture perfect!
Location: The location was excellent - you can walk to the Falls entrance or to the town - all easily accessible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic experience

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel service is faultless! The location is sublime. Only minor annoyance is the locals outside the hotel trying to sell you stuff. The pool is great. The weather is really hot and there are lota of mosquitoes but the hotel does well to compensate/manage for it. All and all a fantastic experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

We were not disappointed

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The gorgeous environment, old world elegance charm, the mosquito netting over the bed!
Cons: nothing
Location: shopping at the curios outdoor market and stalls; seeing the Falls from both the Zimbabwe and the Zambia side. Lunch at the Royal Livingstone Hotel.
I had read some disappointing reviews of this hotel's rooms, but we were so pleased with ours. It was perfectly located right off the main lounge, and was quiet, beautifully renovated to keep the original style, and lovely in every way. It was 102 degrees for two days out of our three night stay and the air conditioner worked perfectly! Staff was polite. Quality and care was elegant. Grounds were impressive. Food was delicious. Breakfast buffet was included and it was sumptuous and delicious. This was an absolutely wonderful choice we made to stay at this historic, old world elegance hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Top class at top price

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The location next to the train station and the falls
Cons: The prices could be a little bit lower (but what the heck we thought, how often are we going to be at a world class site with a world class history
Location: Just a short walk from the train station, although I would recommend against using the train
Life in the African bush is quite agreeable, if one can stay at the Victoria Falls Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Excellent Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: The location, services, rooms, breakfast.
Cons: As always, the Wifi (in the room).
Location: It's very close to the falls and the great Lookout Cafe.
Great hotel with excellent rooms, great breakfast, excellent service. A classic that keep all his allure. And with an extraordinary view of the Zambezi river bridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Next to Victoria Falls

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel is in the perfect location right next to the talks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Beautful grounds, well maintained. We went to the Livingstone Room for a special dinner and it didn't let us down. Food was amazing.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: A walk from the grounds takes you to the entrance for the Victoria Falls. What a sight. The views are fantastic. You can cross over to Zambia.
Fantastic hotel. Like a trip to a bye gone era. Something from an Agatha Christie novel. Every member of staff was polite helpful and friendly. The hotel is beautifully decorated. Furnishing were exquisite. The whole ambience was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Grand old lady

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I had been meaning to come to Victoris Falls and stay at this hotel for years. So, to finally do it was a thrill. I am pretty realistic in my expectations of refurbished former grand estates but it really was in great shape. The front desk service was excellent, food and beverage services likewise. Great room and wonderful outlook. Topped off by superb sunrise and sunsets.