Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Superb gardens and interior of hotel. Large suites

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Victoria Falls and Bridge, quite outstanding
We arrived on the Rovosh rail and were met by hotel staff and from check in to departure service,food and general ambience was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

Fantastic view of the falls from the terrace.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: It makes you feel as if you have come home.
Cons: Nothing
Location: There are shops close by, the best place to get souvenirs. Don't show an interest in souvenirs shown by street vendors or they won't leave you alone
This hotel grabs you from entering. The staff are amazing, very helpful and polite. The rooms are great. The views are fantastic. The hotel is clean and comfortable, you can wander around and ther are plenty of places to lounge about. Perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Beautiful and stylish place, very pleasant experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

The Grand Old Lady of Africa

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Colonial Style Charm
Cons: The internet can be a bit erratic, but apart from being unable to confirm our flights, we did not encounter any problems.
Location: Location does not need any introduction, activities include Helicopter rides, sunset cruise, white water rafting, game drives, bungie jumping and more
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights from the 15th to the 17th of December. I had visited the Hotel in the mid 80s, but never stayed overnight, so it was a bit of a dream come true. The hotel offers colonial oldly worldy style charm and definitely does not fail to impress. Staff are very friendly without being over the top and go out of their way to help. From the Stanley Terrance, you have a wonderful view across to the bridge and you can see the mist rising from the falls. Breakfast and dinner options at Jungle Junction are plenty from the buffet and the waiters did make a special effort for my wife, who is Vegetarian. The icing on the cake was to see the resident Warthog family with babies playing on the lawn near the swimming pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Wonderful location.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Feeling of history and the lovely grounds so close to the Falls.
We booked the hotel because we had stayed in the hotel 48 years ago. The ambiance of the hotel was as we remembered but needless to say, we found many changes including access to the Falls and meals not included. Dinner at the Jungle Junction was superb with good food and entertainment in lovely surroundings. Breakfast was most enjoyable with Edson very attentive to our requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Classic Colonial Hotel near Victoria Falls

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, facilities and service.
Cons: Repair some of the room facilities.
Location: Victoria Falls, Boma at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and Sundown River Cruise. All are strongly recommended.
Stayed two nights at this beautiful facility. The hotel was built in 1904 and therefore a bit dated, but the rooms, lounges, restaurants and grounds are well maintained. Some of the facilities in our room did not work (e.g. hot water tap) but they are minor. We accept them as part of the charm. Our room is spacious and comfortable. Wi-fi access is included and worked well. The restaurants are excellent and service was also excellent. Room and meal prices are higher than in South Africa, which we visited before coming to Victoria Falls. It was very close to Victoria Falls and we could walk to the entrance and visited all the viewing points. As Canadians, we were charged $30 USD to enter the Falls, but it was worth it. However, it was the end of the dry season, so the horseshoe falls was dry. Other parts of the falls were spectacular. Make sure to visit the falls early in the morning as the weather is very hot at this time. Rainfall on our last day made it a bit bearable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Langes Wochenende an den Viktoria Fällen

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Super Lage und sehr gepflegte Anlage. Sehr freundliches und hilfsbereites Personal von der Kellnerin bis zum Manager
Cons: billiger Plastik Duschvorhang der mir ständig am Rücken klebte gehört nicht in ein 5 Sterne Zimmer Laute Klimaanlage, kein Fenster mit Fliegengitter
Wir hatten ein Standard Doppelzimmer für 4 Übernachtungen gebucht. Mit dem charmanten Hotel im Kolonialstil und mit dem gesamten Personal waren wir sehr zufrieden und geben gern die volle Punktzahl. Das Zimmer und insbesondere das Bad würden wir nicht mit 5 Sternen bewerten . Der Preis erscheint uns zu teuer denn hier wurden unsere Erwartungen an ein 5 Sterne Hotel angesichts des recht hohes Preisniveaus nicht erfüllt. Der gesamte Aufenthalt in Summe hat uns sehr gut gefallen und war ein unvergessliches Erlebnis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Who would have thought this hotel was a 3 minus

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Colonial British Empire structure
Cons: See my experience above.
Location: Walking distance to the falls and town. But there's not much to do in town. I just wish the hotel would have been the quality expected.
For the money spent what a disappointment to be placed in a 1970 dated room. Small postage size room, Small old bathroom, old closet space, old carpet, and the A/C let's see 3 nights a different issue each night: Night 1 = Too loud turned it off and was hot throughout the night. Forgot to complain as I had somewhere to be at 8 AM for a pcikup at another hotel. Night 2 = Louder but lived through it. Morning complained so they did some maintenance on the unit. Night 3 = Freezing and had to turn it on/off a few times in the middle of the night to keep from freezing in my bed. The grounds and structure of the hotel are beautiful. The common areas of the hotel are early 1900's and are nice enough to make you feel like your back in time. The rooms at least the Standard Rooms and I had 2 of them since I moved out of my first one upon check-in (within and hour) need to be refurbished and updated. They should not be charging the types of rates they are charging for 3 star accommodations. Frankly they should refund their guests accordingly. What a terrible value. I wish I would have read the reviews more carefully and everything that was in the messages was all true.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels