Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

As good as it gets

Posted Aug 26, 2017
I am sure we couldn't have done better than this property. We were critical of the evening buffet, but that is where it ended. Our room, service , the pool, gardens were nothing short of magnificent. Dinner in the silver service Livingston room is something that shouldn't be missed. By Sydney standards the Victoria Falls hotel offers excellent value. One not to be missed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Old world charm

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Delightful old world charm hotel in great location in walking distance of Victoria Fall. Felt like I was stepping back in time and the service was superb.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Tich, Hotel Management
Thank you for your Feedback .We look forward to you staying with us once again in the near future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

The optimal place to stay in Victoria Falls.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Grace. Location. Value.
Cons: Rooms could use a refresh.
Location: Victoria Falls. Bridge to Zambia.
This historic hotel is a charming oasis nestled close to Victoria Falls with an expansive view of the Zambezi lower river george, the bridge to Zambia and the ever present mist connected with the thundering sounds of th falling water. The hotel staff are eager to please - without exception. Both the bridge and the Victoria Falls national park are within walking distance, but, make the journey in groups - as you may encounter wildlife and some incessant vendors
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Tich , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback ,we look forward to you staying with us again in future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida USA

Wonderful Grande Dame hotel

Posted May 17, 2017
An old but well kept hotel from the days of the British Empire. Absolutely wonderful staff who were always cheerful and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

View to Vic Falls bridge

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Guest Services that helped us.
Cons: Coffee maker in rooms, smoking areas, consistency in room tea supply. Improve a food in hotel restaurant! Make a better or larger bar! Entertainment!!
Location: Vic Falls is amazing!!!
The food was not good for such a costly hotel. There was no coffee maker in the room. One of my husband's shirt was stolen from the room, which we discovered only when returned home. Breakfast was ok..no veggies for some reason. There is one restaurant with dress code requirement, my husband has very nice dressy jeans and shirt on- not allowed. The bar is so small and tiny...there were only 2 tables, the rest could not even stand around the bar...The hotel is way overpriced!!! No entertainment in evenings, other than local performance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location with nice surroundings

Posted May 7, 2017
We spent 2 nights here and were happy enough with the room. Good location for a short visit to Vic Falls.
3 out of 5
by Andrew

Misses the Mark

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is undoubtedly one of the most iconic on the Continent, with a fascinating history and situation that the greatest hotels in the World would find very difficult to better. However, the competence of the hotel operator and the condition of the infrastructure does not warrant the cost of stay. It requires an operator of the nature of the Four Seasons or the Red Carnation Hotels to elevate the hotel experience to a standard befitting the hotel's heritage and very evident potential, a hotel group that understands how to manage and evolve heritage buildings. Much of the hotel's potential charm resides in the necessity to re-inforce certain of the original traditions of dress codes and the like, as guests marching about spangled in tattoos and in attire akin to what would be expected of the Miami beachfront severely undermines the ambience. Underlining the hotel's shortcomings is the evident fact that the hotel's management and staff 'don't know that they don't know' how to deliver an experience that would compete with the best in the World. I would not recommend visitors to the Victoria Falls stay at this hotel. I would, instead, recommend one of the smaller safari lodges on either the Zimbabwean or Zambian side of the river and that a visit to the Victoria Falls Hotel for lunch be included as a component in the itinerary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Wonderful hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Everything was perfect! Mostly impressed by the friendly and well trained staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel in a spectacular location

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great staff, restaurants and proximity to the Falls. A time capsule of a hotel, but nicely kept up and comfortable