Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't book this hotel got stuck there, not good.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Booked & paid for in advance VF Rainbow hotel at checkin clerk got quiet, had to leave counter and discuss our reservation behind a closed door. We knew something was wrong, he came back told us we were to be taken elsewhere, he'd already called a taxi. No explanation, "sending us to a sister hotel, going to get a better room, its a better place" Asked for name, brochure and info about accommodation, unable to give us anything. Dumped off by taxi, it was fairly far away, in the middle of no where in a slum, no where you could walk to reach food or services. Room clean, lights not working,no washclothes and mosquito infested. Had to spray entire room with repellant, no nets for beds. Desk not helpful, only a couple of rooms functional in hotel. VF deluxe suites is a dilipidated place,most of building boarded up and torn up. Pool was about the size of our dining room table with crumbling bricks from sides into it. We had no where else to go, tried to make the best of it,took a taxi to get dinner locked passports and medicine in safe, when we got back decided to move but safe wouldn't open, management couldnt get it open either. We were now trapped there. My husband is diabetic and i had a tension migraine, it was an awful night, they wouldn't do anything about the safe until the next day. It took a locksmith almost 2& half hours when he finally showed up. Now we were too late to cancel reservation and well past 10am check out time, we were stuck again. No one cared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
My online booking was cancelled so had to be put up somewhere else for first night which was disappointing. I was told they have a challenge with online reservations. It was so inconvenient and disappointing as I booked and paid 3 months in advance . Manager tried to make up for it but first impressions count
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harare/Northampton

Excellent service

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Everything we wanted, and more. The hotel has a shuttle service, but we rarely used it as we enjoyed the short walks into town. The rooms are spacious and clean. Hotel staff were always polite and friendly. We look forward to our next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Very average stay in a very noisy room

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Maintenance on the little doggy items in the rooms
Location: It is a short walk to town and the free shuttle is handy to get to the falls.
Upon arrival we were told that we still had to pay for our accommodation. This was sorted out later. We got to our room and there was no toilet paper. The old broken box air-conditioner is still just hanging in the wall. The room was extremely noisy with guests walking to and from their rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eustis Florida

Visit to Victoria Falls

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Rates for a taxi from the airport to hotel. I felt 35.00 was to expensive.
Location: The Arts Village and all the main city venues were within walking distance.
The Rainbow hotel was wonderful. The rooms were clean and the staff was excellent. The Falls were amazing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great staff. Room amenities can be improved

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Room service supplies where you can have normal replacement for full set is needed. No elevator..
Location: Location is very convenient to all major activities in Vic Falls.
Good staff eager to help at every level. Problem was with towels and supplies which appeared to be in short supply. Towels and or napkins were missing everyday after room service. It appeared that staff was trying real hard to deal with short supply. Facilities are good. Elevator not available in the hotel. Good pool and bar at the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Liberty, Hotel Management
Refreshing day, Thank for taking your time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Liberty (Front Desk Services)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Basic accommodation but clean. Helpful staff.

Posted May 20, 2017
Cons: My room was adjacent to the pool area. Very noisy and frequent staff conversation close to the room. Too many "fees" for all of the services.
Location: Victoria FAlls, game drive, Zambezi River Cruise, game walk, village visit.
My first visit to Zimbabwe and Victoria Falls. My tour of the Falls was exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Liberty, Hotel Management
Refreshing day, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you. We are glad you enjoyed one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Indeed it is a spectacle and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards, Liberty (Front Desk Services)
3 out of 5
by Malcom

Vic Falls Rainbow Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Clean enough, great friendly staff but drinks overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Liberty M, Hotel Management
Refreshing morning Malcom, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We have taken note of your review and will and will strive to please all our discerning guests. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards, Liberty (Front Desk Services)
5 out of 5
by JoAnn

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Liberty M, Hotel Management
Refreshing evening JoAnn, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Liberty (Front Desk Services)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle , UK

Nice hotel close to Zambezi river

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Brilliant staff always helpful , excellent food I will go back again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Liberty, Hotel Management
Refreshing evening Charles, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you and look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Liberty (Front Desk Services)