Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location with pool

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Spacious rooms and a short walk into town. Hotel was clean and staff helpful. Nice pool area but not enough sunbeds or fresh towels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel hungry to make a buck

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Very near city central. Great layout and quite.
Cons: Customer service, food choices, pricing of food.
Location: Near Victory Falls
This hotel could be really good but they are hungry to make a buck. So, if you book through internet be ready to prove your payment and watch that they don't change price and add breakfast. My room had a poor functioning AC. Though they came to recharge it, they would not move me to another room. I had to endure the poor performance. They also want to force you to eat their buffet even thought they offer a menu which items they do not have. Staff is overly friendly trying to influence your decision to eat in restaurant buffet. Breakfast functional but nothing to write home about it you want service and good food. But, what do we expect in a country that id 95% unemployment and a tourist gate way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A welcoming hotel.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
A hotel with charming character, accommodating staff and good facilities. Excellent value for money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oh

Mosquitoes

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and safe
There were several mosquitos in the room which was a nuisance. We were able to sleep with the use of bug netting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Friendly staff, spacious rooms, quiet and communicative location. Breakfast and lunch menu is OK, dinner food quality could be better. Only disappointed with the lack of bathroom mirror, a probke which could not be resolved by staff by the time we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds U.K.

Comfortable hotel, Victoria Falls

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the way they were so helpful
Cons: Looks like it could do with a bit of updating here and there
Location: Very close to the town and walking distance to the falls
Overall the hotel is o.k. We were disappointed in the bed was not a true double, but two singles "stuck" together and made up separately. We could not get the air conditioning to work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, CA

We were bumped

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Cons: integrity in their booking practices
After going through the nightmare of immigration at the airport, we arrived at the hotel only to be informed we had been "upgraded" to another hotel. We were more than perturbed as overbooking should never happen. The reviews for this hotel were average but we opted to stay here for the location as it is within walking distance to town and, for a bit of a longer walk, the falls. We were put in a hotel that required the use of a taxi service (we found a driver and called him whenever we needed a lift) that was $10 every time we wanted to go somewhere. I have never given any hotel a 1 rating but if you are going to overbook a room and bump us to another hotel, you deserve it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't book this hotel got stuck there, not good.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Booked & paid for in advance VF Rainbow hotel at checkin clerk got quiet, had to leave counter and discuss our reservation behind a closed door. We knew something was wrong, he came back told us we were to be taken elsewhere, he'd already called a taxi. No explanation, "sending us to a sister hotel, going to get a better room, its a better place" Asked for name, brochure and info about accommodation, unable to give us anything. Dumped off by taxi, it was fairly far away, in the middle of no where in a slum, no where you could walk to reach food or services. Room clean, lights not working,no washclothes and mosquito infested. Had to spray entire room with repellant, no nets for beds. Desk not helpful, only a couple of rooms functional in hotel. VF deluxe suites is a dilipidated place,most of building boarded up and torn up. Pool was about the size of our dining room table with crumbling bricks from sides into it. We had no where else to go, tried to make the best of it,took a taxi to get dinner locked passports and medicine in safe, when we got back decided to move but safe wouldn't open, management couldnt get it open either. We were now trapped there. My husband is diabetic and i had a tension migraine, it was an awful night, they wouldn't do anything about the safe until the next day. It took a locksmith almost 2& half hours when he finally showed up. Now we were too late to cancel reservation and well past 10am check out time, we were stuck again. No one cared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
My online booking was cancelled so had to be put up somewhere else for first night which was disappointing. I was told they have a challenge with online reservations. It was so inconvenient and disappointing as I booked and paid 3 months in advance . Manager tried to make up for it but first impressions count
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harare/Northampton

Excellent service

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Everything we wanted, and more. The hotel has a shuttle service, but we rarely used it as we enjoyed the short walks into town. The rooms are spacious and clean. Hotel staff were always polite and friendly. We look forward to our next visit.