Ratings based on 961 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Petty complaints? Maybe.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Near the middle of plenty of excellent restaurants. Near the wharf and many tourist attractions.
Cons: Were only two pair of washcloths while we were being charged for four people. Communication between management and housekeeping.
Location: The more you walk, the more you will appreciate Victoria. Clean and pleasant.
Arrived a few hours late. Room was clean. Was a bug near the bathroom sink. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful throughout the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very central but tired decor and dirty room

Posted Aug 26, 2015
The hotel was really central but the decor was tired and under the bed was filthy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location. Loved this hotel!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
This hotel is located in the middle of the sea town. We walked all over. Loved the vendors, restaurants, water, everything. The lobby is very run down, looks almost trashy but the rooms were so roomy, and vintage looking
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

good location

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: good location
Good Location. My room is above a bar and there is no air condtioning, I have to open the window to sleep. But it was too noisy not unti 1 am. I was staying there for 2 nights and luckily the staff can change the room on the 2nd night (as first night it was fully booked).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel idealement situé

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Chambre tres spacieuse, decoration tres sympa dans la sdb et chambre, idéalement situe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Excellent location for visiting Victoria on foot.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to most of Victoria's tourist attractions and funky stores.
Cons: Front Desk should avoid saying out loud your room number when checking in, its a security issue, especially for women checking in alone.
Wasn't expecting to much but was pleasantly surprised by room. It was large comfortable and quiet even though it faced onto Government St. Nice pub attached to hotel and a nice Irish Pub next door. Murchies two doors down with excellent pastries and coffee as well as tea. Best book store in BC three doors down from hotel, Munroe Books located it a historical building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants and harbour

Posted Aug 18, 2015
A bit noisy at night. Lack of cleaning staff to get room serviced either late in the day, 5-6 pm or not at all. The rate is reasonable. Was able to be flexible with the room cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Former elegance

Posted Aug 17, 2015
This is an old hotel (100+ years), and has the feeling of faded luxury. It looks like it was (cheaply) renovated in the 80's, but there are still nice touches like wood burning fireplace and jacuzzi. But, BRING your EAR PLUGS the noise in the street with bars and seagulls is incredible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Very Botique

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Neat decor in the rooms and in a wonderful location.
Location: Victoria Harbor, Parliament buildings, Museum so many place to eat!
Small boutique room. A little noisy sometimes but that's what happens when you stay in Boutique hotels. You can hear footsteps and people talking in the hallways or adjacent rooms etc. I stayed on the second floor and could not hear the bar adjacent to the hotel. Take it for what it is and it's an excellent little hotel in a great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, older hotel VERY convenient location

Posted Aug 15, 2015
It's an older hotel but we had a very spacious room. We could feel the springs through the mattress but slept better on it that a plush mattress at a better hotel. Very convenient location. Just minutes to almost anything of i terest. We could hear the seagulls all night long but got used to it rather quickly. Oh, we had a fireplace as well. Wife wants to stay there again!