Ratings based on 1,350 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River

not at all what I expected - very disappointed

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The list is too long, but a start would be a staff that cares and wants to make sure you come back.
Location: That part was why I chose the hotel - and I was enchanted by the pictures and history - it was hot, tacky, cheap furniture, - did I say hot?
I have already written to Expedia about my experience - I don't have time to repeat it, but I was very glad to leave - have rarely been as uncomfortable in a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to lots

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Good hotel close to the the Inner Harbour and lots of great pubs and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Old hotel conveniently located downtown Victoria. It has a lot of character and charm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, adequate hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
This hotel was a perfect location for our activities, which is why we booked it. The room was adequate, but nothing special. The air conditioning didn't work so we had to open windows and have a fan, which was not the best, but we were not in our room that much, so it turned out ok. If you are looking for somewhere to stay close enough to walk to downtown activities and Parliament, and the warf, you will be happy, but it's not a place to spend much time relaxing in your room. Definitely not what is advertised on the website.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Overall Rating, Hotel Staff, Hotel Facilities, Condition, Room Cleanliness all 4 stars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PDX

Gorgeous old rooms, great shower

Posted May 23, 2017
Very romantic room in a hotel that has been well-maintained. Super centrally located-- walked from the Coho ferry along the harbor and saw the Parliament Building. There was an off-putting musty smell in the lobby that worried me at first, but then saw that there was some work that was being done and one of the banquet rooms. The room was beautiful with louvered windows, a coffee maker and real glasses as well good linens. The small tiled shower was adorable and had excellent hot water pressure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adorable room in an excellent location.

Posted May 20, 2017
Such a charming room in the heart of downtown Victoria. Expected it to be loud because we were right on top of a popular pub, but when the door closed, it was silent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
Great location to down town and the harbour, could use some little upgrades
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Good location but tired and noisy

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: The location is walking distance to everywhere and the staff were helpful when we wanted to change room.
Cons: Needs an interior overhaul as you feel like it's stepping back into the 1990s. Better beds too.
Location: Royal BC Museum, Munro Books, Harbour - you name it, it's close.
We booked two nights at the Bedford and after one night of terrible sleep, we promptly changed hotels. The location is great - walking distance to all the sights. Yet, it's also nestled in between three bars so the noise level is high. While our room was clean, the hotel is very tired and in need of an update. You walk in and the lobby looks old - with dated couches, worn carpet and chipped tiles. I checked in at 5 pm on a Friday and it felt like a university dorm with people from the bars next door wandering around combined with the noise of the two bars. When I looked online, I liked the charm of an older, original hotel but the beds are uncomfortable and the single-paned windows don't block out all the street and bar noise that goes well into the wee hours. The staff, I have to say, were very helpful and offered a different room but it bordered with one of the bars so we passed and looked for someplace else. If you're looking for a nice place to stay for a weekend to relax, I wouldn't recommend the Bedford.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

overall excellent experience perfect location

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: location is perfect
Cons: no improvement needed just keep up with the same nostalgic sense
Location: everything shopping, history, restaurants, entertainment
right in the middle of everything friendly welcoming and romantic