Ratings based on 1,194 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, solicitous staff.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, centrally located, outstanding staff.
Location: The hotel is centrally located downtown, so it’s easy to get around.
The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the price was very reasonable. The staff was outstanding, showing attention to my every need. The only negative is that the bathroom was a bit small. Overall, this is an outstanding choice for visitors to Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown

Posted Apr 22, 2017
No breakfast. We were told guest laundry was under renovation Otherwise very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Basic hotel - disappointing for a Best Western

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location was central.
Cons: Better parking and car access - see above - and more congenial, customer-focused staff. Better decor.
The decor seemed old and dowdy. On arrival the desk staff were OK but more interested in chatting to each other than to me, I was not aware of valet parking when I booked. I asked for my car to be at the front door at 0730 the next morning and it wasn't (which was very stressful as I had to get to a workshop that I was giving). Cat (on the front desk) was wonderful, immediately took the parking charge off the bill and tried to problem solve for me, and offered to call me a taxi (which unfortunately didn't work as my workshop supplies were in my car). She asked the man who moves the cars around to take me to the parking garage to save time. He was INCREDIBLY rude - I have never experienced such terrible customer relations. Not only did he watch me struggle my luggage up the street as I walked up with him. but when I asked him (quite politely) what the problem with the car was, he became defensive, aggressive, and told me to "take it up with management - it's not my problem, I just move the cars around". I was appalled.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Friendly staff. Room is clean. You can even change some currency there(less than $20 if I remember correctly). Parking is not included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great Value for the Price I Paid!

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean, and it was very close to public transit. The building looked very nice, and the room was quite big.
Cons: Certain places in my room was a little dusty, so some more careful dusting could have helped.
Location: It is a 10 minute walk to the legislature building and Royal BC Museum. There are plenty of restaurants around, and many places to explore!
I had a great time staying at the hotel. It was situated in an area that allowed me to walk to the places I wanted to visit, and the staff were very helpful regarding giving directions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guanajuato MX

Close to all amenities

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Within 5 min walking distance of the most unique shops, the Harbour and seaplane airport. Close to museums and outstanding restaurants, ie the best is in the same building. Staff was outstandingly helpful. Easy to drive to Burtchsrt Garden on direct routs. City is clean and traffic well organized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

This hotel is great

Posted Apr 1, 2017
I loved staying at this hotel. The staff was exceptional. The room was modern and clean. We were able to text the front desk when we needed anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quadra Island

The Staff at the hotel were very friendly

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Staff were great
Cons: There was earplugs in the drawer but found out in the morning
Location: Location was good. Great Italian restaurant within walking distance
On the 2nd floor the room was really clean and the beds were very comfortable. The only issue I had was the thumping noise from a night club close by. The view consisted of a brick wall but looking at the positive side of everything no one could see in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

friendly staff, great location Very clean

Posted Mar 27, 2017
All the staff we encountered were very helpful. Clean. Refurbished rooms. Great location to downtown Victoria and waterfront. I would recommend Willies Restaurant, just down the street for breakfast !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver

Great overnight stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great overnight stay at the Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel. I booked a suite for myself and the kids and it was perfect accomodations. Staff are very helpful and friendly.