Ratings based on 724 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Good central location. Dated, but clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Super friendly staff and relaxed vibe in great area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Decent budget hotel for London tourists

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: The staff was all stellar and made us feel very welcome.
Cons: Honestly, a good/new fan or in-window AC/fan unit, and perhaps new mattresses, would make a world of difference in comfort if not luxury.
Location: The location in Pimlico is close to Tube, bus lines, and of course lots of the major tourist destinations nearby. Easy access and a quiet neighborhood
The staff here was completely fantastic. Incredibly welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. They offered tips on local sights, provided a map and answered questions about tube and bus routes, and were also cheerful in greeting us coming back or wishing us a good day. Unfortunately the rooms themselves are pretty dated and fall to the "OK" level. They're serviceable, but the beds in particular are very hard, and the lack of central air means that even on cool days outside, the temperature in our room was stifling. The bathrooms were more recently remodeled and were pretty nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank this guest for taking the time to make his review and it was a pleasure to host him and his wife. Nevertheless we are surprised to hear that he didn't find our rooms up to standard as he never mentioned any of the above comments during his stay on the many occasions we talked to them. We just regret we didn't have the chance to resolve any possible issue and make their stay more comfortable which is the goal of any business. This particular guest was upgraded to a triple room which is usually considered very nice from our returning guests. Also, as we are a small budget, Victorian, Town House hotel in the best sight-seeing location of London, and a “Listed Historical Building” and our interior style is in-keeping with this elegant Victorian building, exacltly as seen on our website, therefore we do not need renovations, although we have constant maintenance. Moreover, for this reason, we are not permitted to install Air Conditioning and all our rooms are equipped with a fan. We never had a complaint with our beds which are rather new and we will surely look into it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Incredible location, and even better service!

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The staff were so incredibly friendly and helpful. We travel a lot, and have never experienced such intimate service. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The day we were leaving, we ended having to wait for 1.5hrs for our taxi, and even though we had checked out, the lady on shift invited us to wait in her office to stay out of the rain. She served us tea, and put on a kids show on her computer to entertain our toddler! Our daughter played with her for over an hour! Never ever seen this kind of service. It was like visiting family!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Very comfortable room, great location, good continental breakfast, excellent staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Disappointing stay overall, would not recommend. Hotel is located in an older Victorian building. Lovely details but the lack of personnel and staff present an inconvenience with lugging suitcases up 4-5 flights of stairs. Hot temperature in the room, cleanliness lacking, poor toiletries, and mediocre breakfast. Poor value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear this guest didn't find our hotel agreeable and perhaps he was expecting a different service that only higher category of hotels have. We are Victorian Town House Hotel and a Listed Building, therefore, we are not allowed by Westminster Council to install a lift. We do not have a lack of staff, usually we are happy to help our guests with their luggage and perhaps this guest didn't ask. We have a polite note in the room explaining how to regulate the temperature, as we are having few autumnal days and starting putting the heating on, so the guests can regulate the temperature according to their own needs. We are considered a hotel of excellent value and cleanliness, and never had a complaint of this type before. Our nice buffet breakfast is included in the price and is very well received by many guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and convenient

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Staff is friendly and helpful. Willing to meet special needs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Central location, ok for a short stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel staff are really nice and helpful. The room was uncomfortable to say the least. Tiny is an understatement. Also you can feel every spring in the mattress. Definitely not a good night sleep. However it had everything you can expect from a budget hotel. The room and the bathroom were clean but the hotel needs top to bottom refurbishment. Ok for a budget accommodation. If you're not fussy and can sleep through anything, you won't be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are a small budget, Victorian, Town House hotel in the best sight-seeing location of London, exactly as seen on our website and we are a “Listed Historical Building” and our interior style is in-keeping with this elegant Victorian building, therefore we do not need renovations, although a Listed Building always requires constant maintenance and refurbishment, which is on-going especially in very busy hotels. We would like the guest to inform us of which room he was in so that we can double check as we never had a complaint before and we very much like to know if there is any problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Blades Hotel London

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The staff and location of the hotel
Cons: Internet strength in the upper floors could be better during prime time.
Extremely friendly staff. They truly go the extra mile to try to make your stay the best possible. I was very satisfied with my stay here.
4 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels