Ratings based on 1,443 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Almost Worth It

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Great location...easy access to downtown by water taxi...dont rely on the hotels shuttle service to get you somewhere at a certain time as you cannot reserve a head...first come first serve. Beautiful views. Absolutely awesome food IN the restaurant...room service was slow/late and cold. Super clean, spacious rooms but our bed was terribly uncomfortable and upstairs noise at night and early morn...sounded like we were under a laundry or some kind of maids supply room. You are on the harbor so expect boat and float plane noise which is a given in any harbor. Gorgeous indoor/outdoor pool but was missing some floor tiles and grout looked really dirty in a couple places...that sort of thing should be dealt with in the off season. We were there in July. No one greeted us when we pulled up...no help with baggage...no vallet as far as I could tell...we parked ourselves. Overall, in my opinion, not quite worth the $400 a night we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

really great, clean hotel; near waterfront

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: seeabove
Cons: dont want to pay for parking.
Location: great harbor view from our balcony
loved this convenient spot near the waterfront and other sites. clean. friendly staff. wish we did not have to pay for parking though...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Alyssa, Hotel Management
Dear Michele, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the harbour views and your stay with us. Kind Regards, Front Desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Gorgeous hotel right on the water

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We loved our stay at this hotel! It was right on the water with a spectacular view! The rooms were amazing and the staff was wonderful!! We can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Coast Hotel -- great location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location, ocean view and dining room
Cons: Update the bathrooms -- very dated Provide in-room security safe
Location: Walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, harbour pathway, Ogden Point, downtown, Chinatown, Beacon Hill park, Legislature (have a meal there!).
We had an ocean-view room with a queen-size bed. The room was large and comfortable, with 2 sitting chairs and a desk. It was interesting to watch all the boats and float planes on the harbour from the deck door. It could get quite noisy, but we found it wasn't a problem if you closed the sliding door. The hotel location is excellent, within walking distance to downtown, harbour pathway, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. We really enjoyed our breakfasts at the Blue Crab Dining Room -- it has a great view of the harbour, and the food was very good, if a bit expensive. The bathroom was quite dated, with cracked tiles and a chipped sink, and we also found long dark hairs in the bathroom. The bathroom was very functional though, and I really liked the bidet once I tried it! The cleaning staff did seem to do a good job overall, and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. One thing I did not like was that there was no security safe in the hotel room -- I had to store items at the front office safe and sign items in and out -- quite an inconvenience for everyone. Overall, our stay at the Coast Hotel was very good, and I would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: It's position and views.
Cons: Better showers in the pool changing room - however I think it's a nice to have and not essential.
Location: Whale watching nearby and for the children and adults too a petting farm near by. Nice walks too.
A very comfortable hotel, great breakfast and fab views. Complimentary shuttle to and from downtown, though it is a really pleasant walk too. Rooms very clean and beds comfortable too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The awesome staff
Cons: Wifi
The front desk staff were awesome and welcoming every step of the way, from check in to check out. I look forward to coming back to this hotel, the next time I am in Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great location.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The Water taxi pick up spot at the marina is also quite nice for those evening when you don't want/cant walk back.
The hotel was one of the highlights of our vacation. The staff treated us like family and were more than helpful with directions and local tips on places to see. the Hotel is within walking distance of all of the Inner Harbor hotspots without always being in the crowds. The Blue Crab Restaurant has second to none seafood and the staff is fantastic. Had a great stay. We will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel that has it's own marina.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Cons: Add fat food vending machines!
The hotel staff are outstanding and make every effort to accommodate you with whatever you need. The only thing I had a problem with is that they do not have gift/sundry shop. They are also lacking fat food vending machines. I wanted a chocolate bar one evening and after going to several floors looking for vending machines, I finally went to the front desk and asked. They apologized that there was nothing they could do and suggested I go to a store that was several blocks away, I thanked her and declined. I went back to our room and several minutes later there was a knock on our door and Jade from the front desk had a chocolate bar for me. Apparently they have a few for special occasioned guests. It was sooooooo good. Thanks Jade:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The beds were very comfortable. I haven't slept that well in quite a while.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

My go-to location for Victoria

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Updated features and amazing staff!
Cons: The lounge for "party's" of two or more is well received-but less so for singles. How about a small "bar?"
Location: I like walking in cities - finding sights and services. Major events and destinations are just blocks away - galleries, cafes, historic architecture.
Can't say enough about the convenient location for enjoying the best that Victoria has to offer. Staff was amazing in getting to know you and how they can make your stay worry-free! Loved the access to major sites, but in a quiet neighborhood - with a great view of all the fun on the harbor. Best stay in a new destination (for me) in years!!!