Ratings based on 1,077 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
I love walking so the hotel is ideally located. The view of the harbour was a bonus as well. The room is basic and clean, no fridge though if that's important. Reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by JFitzgerald, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review on your stay with us. It's terrific to hear you enjoyed our perfect downtown location and found the room clean. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for your comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville BC

Had what I needed.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Small but efficient. Had everything I needed including free wi fi and pets allowed. Cleanliness could be improved. The remote control barely worked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write. We appreciate our guests feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Ab.

Close to harbour

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Great location in the harbour.
Cons: The hotel is looking pretty run down so it needs a face lift.
Location: Very close to downtown and if you enjoy walking this is a great location to walk around.
I have stayed at this hotel before and I will stay at it again the price is right and the location is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by JFitzgerald, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review on your stay with us again! We appreciate the feedback too - and are happy to hear you like our perfect location. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to inner harbour, shopping, parkland

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Friedly helpful staff. The only negative was the fact that the heat control was not working and as a result the heat ran continually. It left the room unbarably hot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by JFitzgerald, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the terrific review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay - and our perfect location - but will look into the heat control. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from d

Nice location but it took 4 trip down to get key

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Food was overpriced, service seemed we bothered the staff when my 4th set keys didn't work
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location - sorry that the electronic keys are causing an issue during your stay. We appreciate our guests feedback and hope you will consider giving us another opportunity in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia

Location, Location, Location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located one block from the landmark parliament buildings. On the other side of the buildings begin the blocks of restaurants, shopping, entertainment, etc. While the other direction a few blocks is the Fisherman's Wharf attraction. And the hotel has views of the harbor. Location is on point. It is an older hotel, our room was small but had everything we needed. The staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by JFitzgerald, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our perfect location (location, location) and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful view. Liked that there was no carpet

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Because no carpet, it was noisy overnight. Excellent location!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the view and new flooring! We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maple ridge b.c.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: all the above, plus the friendliness of the staff
Cons: #409 bath plug not functional
Location: in addition to what is mentioned above, there are the parliament bldg. right next door, the empress hotel, the miniature world and the harbour.
i needed a break, pun intended, as I fractured my wrist three weeks ago and yearned for a few days of not having to look after myself and apartment with one hand. the day's inn was just what the doctor ordered, or rather what my research suggested. the right location, near all the places i love to visit -- museum, downtown quaint areas, etc. (not the beach, this time!) the right price - with a higher standard than i expected from the name 'day's inn' very good food, nicely presented and served.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by JFitzgerald, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the terrific review and compliments to the staff. We're very lucky to have such a handy location, as you mentioned - right downtown on the beautiful Inner Harbour! We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and good value.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We arrived planning to stay 2nights. Staff at the front desk assigned us a waterfront room, which we were not expecting. They were very obliging when we later extended our stay for a further night. The restaurant and lounge had lovely views and great food. The king room was rather small but suited our needs. The location allowed us to park our car and walk for most of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by JFitzgerald , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the harbour view, as well as our onsite restaurant and lounge. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view comfy bed

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Room was very small and seen better days. The view aND location were great. The bed was comfy and TV was big. SomeoNE put something terrible in the coffee maker so make sure the housekeeper takes a quick boo in there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Front Desk , Hotel Management
Thank you for writing. We appreciate our guests feedback as we are always making improvements to our facilities and services - we apologise for the housekeeping oversight!