Ratings based on 897 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: It was clean and cozy, the bar was easy to have a meal and a drink in. The bartender Paulie was a nice fellow, and the Bar girl Randy was a delight.
I booked last minute and they were very gracious towards me when I came in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay

Great price. Good location.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Our Expedia rate was a great price, the lowest we have paid at this hotel. We like the hotel location and the pub upstairs because of the good food and live entertainment on weekends. A short cab ride took us downtown. Our room was quite dry but next time we will try the fan. We'll be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No thanks

Posted Oct 8, 2017
I will never stay at this hotel again. As soon as I walked in all I could smell was urine. The bathroom smelled as well. There were stains on the towels and the floor. This hotel needs a drastic renovation!! The price that I paid for this room was way more than should have been charged!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatoon

Wonderful staff!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff. Great location.
Location: Close to the water. Lots of restaurants around. Easy to get downtown.
Lots of parking. Clean room. We had a junior suite. We could have prepared meals if we wanted to. Full size fridge. Good restaurant in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni

easy access to downtown

Posted Sep 30, 2017
I was very happy that I found this hotel my aunt told me to look up hotels on the gorge cause it would be a little cheaper. This trip was for me and my daughter. We have had a rough year with me separating from my husband so I really wanted to treat my girl with a mother daughter weekend. I booked the hotel and we planned our trip. Thank you expedia for helping me book the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from WA

the area were this Hotel is good.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: the area.
Cons: free breakfast!
Location: nice.
was our first time in Victoria, we enjoy the trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Just outside of downtown proper in treed area

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: There's a clean carpet, clean bathroom, a comfy bed. Good food in the restaurant. Stairs not too challenging to first floor rooms.
Location: 5 minutes from shopping malls, next to park by sea waterway, just outside downtown bus/high traffic noise. Ferry/airport highway 10 minutes away.
Our room directly under the restaurant was treated to about 50 chairs scraping above as a tour group breakfasted and left between about 7 and 8am. Dinnertime scrapes weren't so bad. The dining room caterer's server was overextended working breakfast alone, we observed, although she was gracious and efficient while we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey bc

Close to downtown Victoria

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Location: Empress hotel, parliament building, dinner at harbor restaurant
Beds are very comfortable. No elevator for handicapped people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location , clean.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
My stay here was 4/5. I had a room next to the pub with a live band which was a bit noisy but to be expected on a Friday night. I missed being able to have fresh air as the window doesn't open. Also understandable as the general walkway goes past the windows on all three floors. Other than that , the staff was courteous and room clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon, B.C.

Nice hotel, Close to downtown

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown. Front desk clerk gave us some hints on where to visit.
We were only there for 1 night. Clean hotel and it was close to downtown.