Ratings based on 603 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Service and people, great location .
Heather was so helpful and made our stay, and my wifes birthday perfect. First time visitors to Canada will definitley return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
The hotel itself is super cool & I loved exploring. The included breakfast was mediocre and we ended up having to get food elsewhere each morning. The room was unique but the maid only came up once in our 3 night stay. Also really warm in our room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint Old Mansion With Lots of Stairs

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Quirky style, old mansion converted to hotel.
Cons: Maintenance seems a little spotty.
Location: Close to central Victoria.
Had a family event nearby, so the hotel was selected for its convenient location. In an aging Tudor style mansion, on first glance it is very pretty, though there are a number of ragged edges. Our room was in a garret which required climbing lots of stairs, but the room itself was comfortable, well-appointed and spacious. The breakfast room is pleasant, and a good breakfast is served. The hotel and grounds are a bit tattered, perhaps in keeping with the "olde English" style of the place. Overall it was what we expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa.

3 Nights in the Mansion

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, breakfast, service, spaciousness of room.
Cons: Needed a working space or desk in the room. One tv faced the bed while couch was miles away.
Location: The manor house was located in a lovely neighborhood of nice homes. Near a bus line to Victoria or a short drive to all you need.
This place is very old-fashioned and lovely. It definitely has a feeling of Old England and the early 1900's combined. We had a top floor room(the servants' quarters in days gone by?) not realizing how warm it could get with no air conditioning and only windows that partially open. Still, there was a stand-up fan which helped a lot. No restaurant on premises, just a little menu of mostly pizza which could be ordered up to your room. There are a lot of different "named' rooms and suites(Queen Anne,etc.) which we did not know about when booking. We saw very few people while wandering around the hotel. It was very quiet. Wandering around the grounds was an experience. It looked like an old abandoned English mansion park. Overgrown buildings, fields, gazebos,etc. Quite hauntingly lovely, really. I loved it. They are planning an extensive renovation of the whole place(I hope they don't ruin it!) and I plan to go back and stay in one of the other rooms to compare my experiences. Lovely continental breakfast(pristine and good variety) in a lovely dining area where you can look out the old windows at ivy and gardens. All in all, a lovely old place if you don't expect too much in the way of services. Our room was very clean. It proved a very romantic stay for our anniversary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mjc

Pour une première fois à cet endroit!

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Nous voulons d'abord remercier Chelsey Ryder une professionnelle attentive. Endroit charmant quoiqu'un peu loin. Belle nature et merci. Bon déjeuner.
5 out of 5
by Colin from Calgary

Wonderful historic hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful hotel, a short drive from downtown. The grounds are amazing and the staff are friendly. The drawbacks are a lack of elevators and a propensity for weddings may cause some inconvenience (neither really impacted me at all)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

No elevators. Had to carry luggage up 4 floors

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Because I'd inconveniences of the first two rooms, I was given a lovely upgrade of my third room.
Notified staff, including manager, that I would be leaving at 5 am to catch my flight on time. No one told me the doors would be locked and how to unlock the front door. I struggled with the bottom lock on the front door and it wouldn't budge so I tried leaving by the back door. That didn't work so tried the front door again. This took me another 15 minutes of struggling with the lock before it finally opened. With a mad rush to the airport I was lucky to have enough time to return my rental car and my flight on time. All in all, this was a very stressful experience including the inconvenience of having to switch my rooms twice after I arrived.
3 out of 5
by Dobrila from Creston, BC

Old lustre almost entirely faded...

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were looking forward to our stay in this character facility, which has great potential,but seems neglected. It is an absolutely gorgeous structure and setting, but its cleanliness and upkeep leave much to be desired. It's a pity, really.
3 out of 5
by Rebecca from Calgary

A charming little spot for a quiet getaway

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is charming and both the building and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. If you're looking for something different than a typical chain hotel room, this is the place to come. The room we were given was HUGE and also had direct access to a massive rooftop patio that is shared with the room next door. The only downsides to our stay were the mattress (it was definitely worn and squeaked every time one of us moved), poor window coverings (given that the patio is shared and the window coverings were sheer, I am glad no one was in the room beside us as they would have been able to see into our room), limited staff hours (there was no staff on site after 10pm), and late breakfast (it's not served until 8am we had somewhere to be by 8:30am, so we missed it entirely).
4 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels