Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon

Hands down my best experience at a hotel.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: History is what a huge part of the reason I love it. A very old building but kept up to the highest standard
Cons: I very very rarely say this but nothing needed to be improved. This hotel was the perfect stay and I wouldn't have changed a thing.
Location: About a 10 min drive to town and in a beautiful heritage neighbourhood close to a huge park.
We arrived to meet a very warm lady that was to check us in. She told us about the history of Victoria and told us some great places to hike as well as some delicious places to eat. She was incredibly warm and more then helpful for our whole stay. She walked us up to our room and and was very informative and knowledgable about her position and what it entailed. I have never stayed in a hotel with kinder staff. (Even the maids we ran into were incredibly kind and talkative). I've stayed in many many hotels and this place is somewhere I'll stay every time I come to Victoria. It's been about a week since I've been back and I can't stop recommending this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Cassanndra, Hotel Management
Alex, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! All of us here at the English Inn are looking forward to having you back. You both were absolutely lovely and a joy to have around. Can't wait for your return! Warm regards, English Inn Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very cute hotel!!

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Super nice hotel with an excellent breakfast of fresh croissants and very clean and well-decorated rooms. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Cassanndra, Hotel Management
Rebecca, We are overjoyed to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Our croissants are made fresh every morning, and we put our hearts into decorating each room individually! Hope to have you back again very soon. Warm regards, English Inn Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

An old English manor - well worth the stay

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Old world charm with modern amenities. If you like such buildings then it will never disappoint. Friendly service, clean room, very quaint. No elevators, so be prepared to take the stairs with your suitcase. One more reason to travel light! Well worth the stay for the experience...
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Cassanndra, Hotel Management
Greg, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The English Inn certainly has a specific charm that appeals to those who seek the old world without compromising comfort. We hope to have you back again soon! Warm regards, English Inn Staff
5 out of 5
by Alexandra

Charming house with great service.

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for one night while I was in town for work. Check in was easy and fast. The staff were helpful and polite. The hotel is a beautiful big of house with lots of character and charm. I ordered a pizza off the bar menu and it was fresh, a good size and delicious. Breakfast the next morning was great and the room it was served in was lovely and well lit - I sat there for about an hour as I got some work done. Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Victoria
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Alexandra, Thank you very much for your response. We loved having you here and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again, English Inn Staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duncan

antique building

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Old English style
Cons: reception
Location: nice spot far enough away from hustle and bustle but close enough by car
For the price being under 100 I was okay with the hotel but I was requiring the location also. The hotel was very empty and is starting to do renovations so will improve. The experience of the antique building was cool but lack of staff at night made it feel like a bandb and you must be able to navigate stairs as no elevator. I was troubled by a statement in room that if I scraped stairway with suitcase I would have to pay. I probably wont stay until renovations are completed if I had to pay more for the room .Definitly is an experience for people who like old English style.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Cassanndra, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you very much for your review. The English Inn is actually structured as a B&B with late evening closure at this time of year. We do, however, advise guests that we have staff that live on premises should they need anything after hours. Regarding the staircase, we do have mention in our welcome package about this policy. This had to be implemented due to past guests dragging suitcases up the leather staircase, thus resulting in damages. We encourage guests to ask for help to their rooms. We are glad you appreciated the value and are looking forward to our renovations. Hope to see you again soon, English Inn Staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extraordenaire Experience

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
I thought the place was spooky as the place lacks lighting outside and considering it was over a hundred years old but the service was great and the continental breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute and quirky place.

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
I really enjoyed the english inn, it's an old mansion turned inn. Quirky place with lots of character. The staff were really friendly and helpfull, although the front desk closed at 9pm so just make sure you're there before then. It's a century old house, don't expect an elevator. I had a heavy dive gear bag which I was completely fine with carrying up the stairs (I needed the workout) but they offered multiple times to give me help for the bags and said if I needed help in the morning upon check out to let them know and it would be arranged. Breakfast was s continential breakfast of different fruits, yogurt, croissant, hard boiled eggs, coffee and juice and was tasty. And the eating area had a pretty view of the backyard gardens. Within walking distance of Macaulay point park, nice park, watched a seal at the boat launch and check out the old military barracks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
great service from the staff, incredible structure, however the bed was terribly hard and antiquated, the finish of the room was poor in appearance and the mold on the bathroom roof was distasteful and concerning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cedaredge, CO

Lovely hotel, still retains come charm

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Somehow timeless
Location: Stroll to the nearby cove and the Straits--beautiful beyond description I expect the gardens will be restored soon
A commendable effort to retain some of the charm of the Ole England Inne of long ago, although most of the furnishings were auctioned off. The sense of romance lives on somehow. The complimentary breakfast needs work--use Hilton and Hampton as a model. Staff is superb. Carpet the stairs--an accident waiting to happen, and the linoleum is shoddy. Rooms in the manor are beautiful, especially the Elizabethan Suite.