Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedaredge, CO

Lovely hotel, still retains come charm

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Somehow timeless
Location: Stroll to the nearby cove and the Straits--beautiful beyond description I expect the gardens will be restored soon
A commendable effort to retain some of the charm of the Ole England Inne of long ago, although most of the furnishings were auctioned off. The sense of romance lives on somehow. The complimentary breakfast needs work--use Hilton and Hampton as a model. Staff is superb. Carpet the stairs--an accident waiting to happen, and the linoleum is shoddy. Rooms in the manor are beautiful, especially the Elizabethan Suite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whiterock

Quaint, pretty, amenities & services not up to par

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: We had our bikes and it was a quick ride to town. Lots of great restaurants and coffee shops.
Our room was spacious and clean ( too clean- strong smell of cleaning chemicals). The bed was hard, the pillow were flattened and became too firm. There were tea bags provided but no kettle. Shortly after our check in, the staff were close to the front door smoking. The continental breakfast was touted as having the best croissants and delicious coffee, but that too was disappointing. All items on the breakfast buffet were clearly form Costco. There as nothing unique or special. A man was mopping the floor with that smelly cleaning fluid in the hall next to the breakfast area. On the up side, there is much potential for this Inn if the owners take more notice and care of the property and the clients and staff. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. They appeared overworked in the morning having to deal with breakfast and checkouts. I suggest having a smaller selection for the buffet, perhaps commissioning a local bakery, farm or orchard? Local coffee roaster? Make it as special as the venue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Very nice, unique place to stay!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Old, beautiful wood inside. Grounds were beautiful. Room was comfortable.
Cons: NA
Location: We went to Buchart Gardens, and to downtown, and the wharf.
We arrived late and we're happy to find such a charming place! Staff greeted us and was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean, nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay very much. Lainey & Jeff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC

Love This Place

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel is a beautiful mansion house and the building and grounds are lovely
Cons: the mattress in our room was a bit firm
Location: Hotel is near downtown - there is waterfront access nearby, and several good restaurants in the neighbourhood
We have stayed at this hotel many times and it never fails to disappoint. It is near downtown Victoria but far enough away so it's very quiet. The staff were all very friendly and our room was lovely. The mattress was a bit firmer than I'm used to but otherwise everything was great. Will definitely stay here again on future trips.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal, QC

Bel hôtel de type victorien

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Hôtel tranquille en retrait du centre-ville de Victoria avec toutefois 1 autobus direct allant au cœur de la ville. De plus, hors-saison, du stationnement abordable au centre-ville est facile à trouver. Petits déjeuners continental copieux.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful location outside downtown Victoria

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Cons: The kitchen was not yet up and running, so dinner options were limited to pizza (most likely frozen).
Location: Go for a romantic location outside the city
Staff was extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very Historical..Ambience Incredible

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We stayed 2 nights at the Inn. Staff friendly ...helpful.. No elevator so bags had to be carried 2 flights of stairs..Bed hard and shower facilities outdated.. Breakfast great but no restaurant ..so you must go out or order in.. Overall good experience..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Each room has a different name. Ours was The Victorian Room. We felt like it was a step back in time. Our room was clean and serviced every day.
Cons: The mattress is in need of replacement in order to be more comfortable.
Location: We drove a few miles to see Butchart Gardens - a must see. Downtown Victoria is approximately 10 min away. We enjoyed The Wharf and Museum.
We came from Oregon to celebrate an early Anniversary. The staff was so friendly and willing to go out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented each morning. They have a lovely choice of foods along with their homemade croissants. So good. The grounds are enchanting with fountains around every corner. It is fairly close to downtown Victoria. My husband and I enjoyed our time at The English Inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cozy and quiet setting

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The staff were very flexible from the first night of our late arrival to our checkout time.
Location: Easy to drive to Victoria proper with many tourist sites.
We had a late arrival but someone was there to let us in and had a smile on his face. We felt very welcomed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Very disappointed. The hotel doesn't look the same as the photos on the web site