Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gatsby Mansion

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: When I saw the old Victorian style Bed + Breakfast and the four post bed I was sold.
Cons: I don't think they realized how long it took for me and how excited I was to be staying there. They could of handled things differently.
Location: Right by the waterfront and close to the museum and sites.
First night there I was awaken to dripping from my ceiling , I called the front desk (I have to say they did respond quickly only after I said there was a leak) So I put towels and a couple of buckets to catch the water until they came, They checked it out saying the guest upstairs didn't put the shower curtain into the tub .I was totally fine with that ,things happen. They said someone will be in the morning to see and fix the damages. So I left early in the morning , leave the card out for housekeepers to get all the wet things on and around the floor. I come back 4pm to my bed being made , but nothing was picked up ,the mess was still there. So I call the front desk to see if anyone had come to check it out .They said yes everything was fine, so I asked why everything was still a mess. They knew I was upset by then ,so after all the things that have happened he offers me a free breakfast but tell him I have the packaged deal thanks but no thanks. I saved for this three day holiday over a year and half, I have to say I'm choked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monument, CO. USA

Billed again after prepaying for room

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The room (Huntingdon Manor) was comfortable, spacious, and clean. However, the bedroom was on the second floor, and bathroom was on first level.
Cons: They should make an effort to avoid double-billing guests, and they should upgrade their Wi-Fi. We couldn't access the internet both days.
Location: Great location near the harbor and wharf, plus free parking. Definitely recommend visiting the Butchard Gardens and taking the Hippo Bus tour.
I prepaid when I booked the room in Jan. 2014. Upon arrival, they acknowledged that I had prepaid but required me to submit a credit card as preauthorization of $100.00 for incidental charges against the room. Upon departure, I was informed that there were no other charges but didn't give me a statement. When I returned home, I discovered they charged me AGAIN for the room WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE OR AUTHORIZATION. I was finally able to talk to the manager after a few attempts, at which time she admitted that they made a mistake but was unwilling to rectify it until I sent them additional information (credit card number and copy of my statement). I refused to comply with their demands and notified my credit card bank to resolve the matter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great location but a little disappointing

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building with character and in a great location to the harbour.
Cons: Daily servicing needs to improved. Make beds fully, replace towels and clean cups - basic house keeping !! More honest description with room types.
My husband & I stayed here recently for 3 nights. We were really excited about staying is such a beautiful old style property with a four poster bed. The location is excellent, however we were disappointed by the service and the room. We were put on the third floor in "the LOFT" , the room was smaller than expected and there was NO 4 poster bed as requested. The room was certainly not like the photo's...!! Bed was not properly made up daily as expected, all the beautiful covers and cushions were left on the floor after the first day. Towels were not changed daily and the coffee cups were not washed after a full day out. Staff at front desk were helpful & friendly when we made comment/ complained, however service and room did not live up to our expectation, leaving us very disappointed with the stay. I would recommend that you have to be very specific about the room and which floor when booking !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

Heritage hotel with potential

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The view and the restaurant staff is very friendly. I also liked the antique furnishings.
Cons: Maintenance is lacking and there was no staff on duty in the Gatsby Mansion at night.
Location: It's Victoria and the Inner Harbour. The location is superb and there is so much to do.
You can't beat the view from the balcony of this hotel overlooking the inner harbour or having breakfast on the patio. However, the physical upkeep of the suite was lacking in a few areas. The drain in the bathroom sink didn't hold water, which took forever to heat up. And if you like taking a shower in the morning like I do, there wasn't one. The bathroom door didn't close fully. Half the chandelier lights over the bed were burned out and there was a wasp nest in the balcony roof. Also be aware it is not handicap accessible in any way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great little hotel with a lot of charm and character. If you want someplace that is not cookie-cutter, and feels like you're staying in an old Victorian home, a la Anne of Green Gables or the like, this is your spot. We stayed in one of the most inexpensive room options, and it was still lovely and large, with a great view of the harbor. Would definitely go again, and would recommend to others. Very friendly staff also, free parking and good quality Wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Great history and location

Posted Jul 3, 2014
We went to explore Victoria's history and this was a great place to start. We loved staying at the mansion because it was just something out of the ordinary. The staff was super friendly and I will book a room here again for our next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kim from Washington state

Full of character!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location and ambiance.
Cons: Notification about tubs instead of showers.
Location: Walked to everything!
Spent one night at the Gatsby and loved it. Bed was perfect, hotel was full of character and charm, location couldn't be better. The only drawback might be the lack of showers -- we loved the clawfoot tub, but if you have to have a shower, be sure to ask for a room with one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exactly as expected nice old mansion

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: old world charm
Cons: needs repairs
Location: Victoria's inner harbour
Will stay their again great location. Fabulous staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay at the Gatsby mansion

Posted May 2, 2014
This hotel is a heritage building that needs a lot of interior updating and cleaning. The wall paper is old and peeling off the walls, the carpets are dirty, the sofa is ripped and frayed, it's dusty and looks uncared for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Inn Downtown Walking Distance

Posted Apr 22, 2014
I enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Gatsby Mansion Inn. The rooms are timeless with lots of space for luggage. Beautiful location with walking distance to the downtown area, has lovely gardens and ponds with outside sitting areas to enjoy. Located on the harbor with near by tourist attractions. The food was amazing and wonderful service by friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend this location to anyone!