Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Lovely experience

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: All in all, a great place to stay! It is relatively easy to find. There are shops, including a supermarket nearby as well as bars and restaurants.
Cons: The breakfast was quite expensive, so we chose not to try it. That being said, we are therefore not in a position to comment on the quality!
Location: The hotel is about midway between Victoria Station and Pimlico.
About a ten minute walk from London Victoria, the Grange Rochester Hotel is in a very central London location. It consists of two buildings: the restaurant and the hotel itself. The latter overlooks Vincent Square. Upon arrival, the staff were very friendly and even upgraded our room complementarily. We had arrived early to spend the day in London and initially arrived to store our bags only, but the hotel offered us an early check-in with no additional costs. Although there was only two of us, we were given a room with two double beds, so we certainly had plenty of space! An abundance of toiletries, refreshments and literature (magazines and the Evening Standard) were to be found in the room. It even had a bath, which we did not expect. The television was easy to use and had a good range of channels. I also liked that there was a master switch for all the plug sockets in the room, which you could conveniently switch off when you left. This was a great way to save electricity! At check out, there were no hidden costs. The concierge looked after our bags whilst we went out in the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Very nice hotel over all. Great location. Close to many restaurants, Victoria Station, many sight seeing...Good size and clean room. However, there was no AC in the room. We were in a lower level room and it was very hot. We were afraid that rats and mice could enter the room so we didn't want to leave the window open at night. If there was a window screen, we would have kept it open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maine

Location is all they had going for them.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Great location to sights.
They put 4 adults in a room suitable for two. There was no air conditioning and it was in the 90s. They gave us a very noisy fan to try to move the air. They mentioned that they couldn't do more because we had booked through Expedia - they mentioned that three different times!
4 out of 5
by Elsie

Convenient hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Grange Rochester was in a great location. It's in easy walking distance to Victoria Station and many of the sights. The room was small, but not untypical for the Victoria/Westminster area. The staff was nice. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but not too bad. It would help if there was an iron in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Arundel, West Sussex

very conveniently situated

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: atmosphere/decor
Cons: nothing
Location: near Victoria, Westminster Abbey
excellent dinner, very polite and helpful staff, comfortable room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Misleading room description

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Room description clearly stated for single room, the room has a view and air conditioning, upon check in, I was advised all single rooms do not have a view but just a street view, also no air conditioning. No offer was made to upgrade or move me to a different room which was also disappointing when having explained my concerns. I stayed in March so was not particularly hot, but during the middle of the night it did get warm as the radiators came on (room is not temperature controlled either). If I was aware at the time of the booking I would have not booked the room so was disappointed and very annoyed. In general, the rooms were clean and staff friendly, my only disappointment was the room description provided when booking online which would have been a deciding factor upon choosing the hotel, had I known then I wouldn't have booked the room so overall disappointed, was misled and subsequently wasted my money.
5 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet comfortable and having all the facilities we required
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NWO, Canada

London visit!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great location only a short walk from Victoria station and then close to all the must see sites! Fab room, great amenities!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in London without high prices

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed at the Grange Rochester for 8 days over the Christmas holiday. I had a single room with an ensuite bathroom. It was a twin size bed but it wasn't an issue since I was traveling solo. The room was clean and the selection of television channels was great. The room was clean and was just the right size for me. (Keep in mind, it's London so most single rooms are tiny compared rooms in the US.) The location was so central. Victoria Station was only 10 minutes walk. Tate Museum, Westminster Cathedral, Westminter Abbey, House of Parliament are all within walking distance of this hotel. I enjoyed the Christmas meal that was offered in the restaurant on Christmas night. Overall, Grange Rochester was an excellent choice for my stay in London. I have already recommended it to some friends and will stay here again for my future travels to London.