Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location to downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Great location. Rooms have great amenities.
Location: All things to do are within walking distance.
Had a great time in Victoria. The hotel was great. Nice amenities and the location is close to many stores and restaurants. No need for a car as all downtown attractions are within walking distance from the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Decent, affordable place to stay close to downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The rooms have been updated and are very comfortable. We enjoyed our king suite with separate bedroom and lovely kitchen. Nice outdoor balcony.
Cons: The living room couch and bathroom are dated. Parking is tight but very close, and they do have overflow parking nearby. Balcony needs an update.
Location: Adjacent to BC museum & Beacon Hill park. Easy walk to Inner Harbour. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby.
Good stay. Everything was efficient. Nice locale. Very affordable compared to other hotels downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW Ohio

Perfect Downtown Location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Our room was spacious and CLEAN. We were just across the street from public transportation to everything; ferries, airport, and Butchart Gardens (Daypass is CAD5). The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet for a great nights sleep. We will stay here again when in Victoria.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A well located hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Our stay was very pleasant. Our room was very spacious, and kept at a very comfortable temperature: not to cold, just right. The standards were high for such a reasonably priced stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Great location, newly renovated

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Victoria is a great city and the Helms Inn is a perfect location!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liberty lake

Great downtown location

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Up to date , modern , very tidy
Cons: Some way to transport heavy luggage to upper floors
We were in town for a 32 ford hot rod show......secure parking was available ........easy walking to event.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

BEST Location

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The location of the Helms in was just the best. An easy walk to the Inner Harbour, Cook St Village, and all the shops and restaurants in the downtown area. We will stay here on every future trip to Victoria!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Quaint, clean, great location Very friendly staff Old hotel but upgraded nicely Would recommend for sure
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisey noisey noisey

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: location ok, short walk to downtown, near park
Cons: Stop renting out the room I got
Location: pretty central
Business traveler Sir, we have a lovely room for you. ! Ground floor right by the pop dispense and washroom. Overlooking the street. Extremely small room. Noise all night, hardly slept
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ratings for this place are FRAUD

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Everything is terrible. From cleanliness to condition of the rooms to inaccurate description and reflection/rating of what the place is like.
Location: Location is close to where you would want to be in Victoria.
This place shows a very high customer rating (almost 4.5), but there is no doubt there is fraud in this rating. Probably the owners or managers have hired one of these services that supply bogus ratings. The description of the place is also misrepresented, for example, they state that the rooms have air conditioning, but we found only one of those very small wall unites and only in the sitting area. There was no AC unit in the room to sleep, so it gets hot and humid. The place is very dirty. Yellow sheets and towels, dust under furniture, very dirty carpets, bath tub curtain was dingy, bath tub had hair in it even before we use it. the room smelled musty. We are glad we didn't get be bugs. We cancelled our stay after one night stay. The only useful thing about it was staff. Ratings must be fraudulent. It is also very over priced for what you get,