Ratings based on 595 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stones throw to everything

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: great staff
Cons: Change carpets in bedroom
Location: Didn't have to move the car so I saved on parking. Parking was only five dollars
I would have rated this stay higher but thought the carpets needed changing. staff was extremely accommodating, everything clean. Just underrated it a bit because they had construction materials in our hallway but that was due to renovating the place which will make it even nicer in the end. Older buildings but ..hey...you are in Victoria and everything here is from the 1800's
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Excellent location near Beacon Hill Park

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Helm's Inn is a perfect get away for a weekend or a week especially with the rooms with a full kitchen. The room was spacious and clean. The Inn is close for walking to Beacon Hill Park, Shoal Point, the inner downtown Victoria harbour and the downtown. Buses are located within a block walk. If you're taking Victoria transit from the Swartz Bay ferry terminal the bus #70 or #72 drops you off within a block and a bit from the Inn. Downtown has an abundance of restaurants to choose from. I like checking out the Victoria Art Gallery and the British Columbia Museum. The only downside to my experience was the noise from the traffic outside my room on Douglas Street. Earplugs worked just fine. I would ask for a room facing west next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newberg Oregon

Perfect Location!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Couldnt be happier about the location and price of this hotel. So close to all the cool stuff of Victoria-Parliment, Government St, Douglas St, Empress Hotel, Ferry Landing, Museum! While the hotel doesn't look like much from the outside the rooms were very spacious and very clean. Again I absolutely loved how close it was to everything major in Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location- all updated rooms! Great value!

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: It was updated with kitchens and very comfortable beds. The location was excellent.
Cons: Update the outside a little- it does not represent what is on the inside.
Location: Great location! It is right behind the museum and walking distance to all downtown shops and restaurants.
I was attending a business conference and was very pleased with the hotel. It is in a great location to all restaurants and shops. The rooms were beautifully updated- we had a kitchen! The price was excellent! I will be staying here again for sure!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Convention Centre.

Posted Nov 19, 2015
We enjoyed staying at this hotel, but my only complaint is there is no elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel, walking distance to everything!

Posted Nov 14, 2015
No high-rise city view, but walking distance from all major point of interests that who cares about far-away view! You're actually there when you walk from your hotel to the activities! British Museum, The Parliamant Building, The Empress Hotel, the Harbour Tours, shopping and dining all within easy walking distance! Rain or shine, and it rained while we were there, walking around in the rain was even a nice change from the usual sunny San Diego weather! Even if you had to drive around, Beacon Hill Park, Clover Point Park, the Craigdarroch Castle and wherever else you want to go is a short drive and barely used any fuel in the compact car I rented!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

They could charge much more but they don't

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Simple, clean, friendly, spacious, convenient. Couldn't ask for more at a price that can't be beat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location, very comfortable

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Room was large and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Thomas from Delta, BC

A Hidden Gem

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
A hidden gem. Directly behind the Legislature Building. I nice quiet area, but everything is in walking distance. A great property for a long stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Well appointed for a good price

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: Room felt like home away from home. Staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Cons: I don't know if it has the facilities, but breakfast would be nice. That said, the rooms have kitchenettes, so may not be necessary.
Location: Beautiful and expansive Beacon Hill park is across the street.
Staff is friendly and helpful and the room was large, clean and comfortable — great for a family. The room was attractive and well appointed as well, not garish or stark. The location is convenient and is next to the beautiful beacon hill park. For a reasonable price, the Helm's Inn offers a room and service comparable or better to a much more expensive luxury hotel.