Ratings based on 1,045 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 17, 2017
colorful place, nice clean room, would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chilliwack

Uncycle with great results

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Hats off to the vision of the team that took a old school Motor Inn, saved it from the wrecking ball, reimagined it’s lifespan, and then made it happen! VERY Well done ! “ Rebel from the oridinary “ definitely discribes this hotel and the staff that operate it. I will certainly be looking forward to my next stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Rebecca , Hotel Management
Thanks for your amazing 5 star review, Bob! We're thrilled that you love our concept and vision and can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Thanks, Rebecca Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2017
The room was clean, staff friendly. Didn’t have matches or a corkscrew and rooms were not sound proof but they did provide earplugs :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! Glad that you made use of our free earplugs. If you are after a cork screw then please don't hesitate to call our front desk for one. We are open 24 hours a day. Thanks again, Rebecca Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni BC

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Staff
Location: Across from the Mayfair shopping centre
The heat was off on my room and absolutely no hesitation to move and upgrade me. The staff truly make the place. All so friendly and willing to please customers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Carrie, Thank you so much for the great 5 star review and I'm happy to hear we could resolve the heating problem quickly for you. I hoe you found time to take a dip in our heated indoor pool or a quick soak in the hut tub. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flashback

Posted Dec 11, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Zed. The only disappointment was that I had a bachelor room and there were not a lot of retro memorabilia in it. The room was sparkling clean. There are no elevators so if you mobility issues this may be a problem. The Ruby was a great place for breakfast (they were closed for dinner the night I booked in). The meal was huge and wuth a price tag to match, but I'd you share with someone it would be more reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Pros: Central, lots of parking available,
Cons: More blankets available in the room. I arrived late and the heat in the room was off, an extra blanket would have been great to have.
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The staff are always very helpful. The construction of the mall across the street caused some extra noise early saturday morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place to take the kids

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Such a fun hotel. Not luxury but definitely makes up for it with fun! They think of everything- from the ear plugs in the room, to the free bikes to rent.. and the pool/waterslide to the games room. We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post a review! I'm glad you liked the ear plugs, you never know when your room mate might be a loud snorer! Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, unceded Coast Salish territory

One of the best experiences with amenities

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: All the varying amenities they offered, the cleanliness, and the affordability.
Cons: Ventilation for rooms, bigger bathrooms
Location: Hotel Zed is also conveniently located by various bus stops, and is in a central location to get to downtown and 2 different malls.
Aside from offering an on-par experience with other great hotel experiences, Hotel Zed ups the game by providing a plethora of amenities not usually offered by other companies. The rooms were clean, quirky, and the beds and pillows were super comfortable. Everything felt new and up-to-date, even though the decor is themed around nostalgia. The shower / bathroom was fine (a little tight) but not a problem for our own bodies. Hot water was ACTUALLY hot. Our only critique of the room is the moisture - we had to work around a careful balance of keeping the room heated and wanting to keep the window open for ventilation during the peak of Fall (a moist time of the year). It wasn't too big of a deal at the end of the day. The swimming pool, slide, hot tub, and sauna were AWESOME amenities! Even though the hotel had other guests, we felt like the only ones there. We didn't get to use the laundry facilities, ice machine, longboard rentals, bike rentals, record player, microwave, or restaurant attached to the hotel but it was really awesome to know they were available. We did use the ping-pong tables and realized that there was a Wii station (which we didn't get to try out). We want to go back just so we can play with all the things! Overall, great experience at an affordable price. It was cheaper than other options AND provided more. Will definitely come back and recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Wow, thanks for the awesome review Vee! I whole heatedly agree that you should come back and check out the rest of our cool amenities. Until then.... Thanks, Rebecca Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtenay BC.

Cozy motel. Our stay was easy and comfortable

Posted Nov 28, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at hotel Zed. That front staff was outstanding and the cleaning staff was courteous and accommodating. They were all friendly and we would come back anytime. Thanks Hotel Zed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Great place for kids!

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Staff, rooms, pool.
Cons: Not much!
Our room was fantastic and had plenty of space (3 kids), with two queens and a pullout. The pool was a great way to have fun and relax after exploring the city--and it was warm! The decor was fun, and the kids loved all the colours.