Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tofino, BC

Fun place

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Good price, quiet and lots of parking.
Easy distance from downtown and across from mall. Like the decor.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Nice Hotel close to downtown Victoria

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The bright colours and retro theme. Also like how close it was to the downtown area at a reasonable price.
Cons: A/C in the rooms as it was warm and would help to get rid of the noise from the neighbouring rooms.
Location: Downtown Victoria harbor area is close. Ride the water taxi or walk to fisherman's wharf to feed the seals. The museum is also amazing.
We stayed for two nights at this hotel and were able to catch the hotel shuttle to downtown Victoria to explore the sights. The hotel was bright and welcoming. We had intended to use the complimentary bikes but ran out of time. Our son enjoyed the ping pong table although found the area very hot. The rooms were cute with the retro colours and extras such as the rotary dial phone and fans. It was a bit noisy and we could hear the neighbours and their tv.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very friendly, knowledgeable, accomodating staff

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Great coffee, great staff, no excuses about boredom with their ping pong table, cable, slide and pool. The restaurant in the lobby, The Ruby, Served a very tasty breakfast. My husband said it was his favorite breakfast on our trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique

Posted Sep 19, 2016
My daughter and her husband picked this hotel for our fall get a way in Vicoria. It's basically a very old Motel fixed up. The quirky decor and such is fine. The staff very polite and helpful. We found our room very clean, which is most important to me. The bed was nice and comfy. However, it's on a main road and not insulated well, so bring your earplugs. Also you'll need a car or use their shuttle to get anywhere. A fast food place shares the parking and the parking lot is noisy and trashy, I knowthey can't control any of that but, if you're unfamiliar with the town be warned this is not in the "downtown," or "tourist" area. It's a little out of town. Which for our purposes was fine, because of the easy access to the main road. We had no AC but our kids did. It didn't matter because it's cool at night anyway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Coolest Hotel Ever

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: All the free amenities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Starbucks, Food, shopping, Bike Paths
This was one of the coolest Hotels I have ever stayed in. If you get a chance book this place. I am sad we only got to stay one night at Hotel Zed. They have so many amenities to choose from, and they were all free.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vernon, BC

Close to the city centre, shuttle available

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Funky colors. Very nicely redecorated!!
Cons: No
Location: Took shuttle to the waterfront and the driver was very helpfull, showing us a variety of options.
Nice place to stay whish we could have stayed longer
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi Veerle, Thank you so much for the 5 star review!!! I'm happy to hear you liked our funky colors and made good use of our free shuttle downtown. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed Victoria
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funky mid-century modern hotel.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Friendly staff, funky decor, and well-appointed rooms. Smaller than a standard hotel room but was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey there, Thank you very much for the awesome review!! Our staff are fantastic at what they do and I know they will love to read your review. If you need more space next time, I recommend checking out one of our Sweet Suites or our Rad Pads. Take care and thank you for staying with us. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed Victoria
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Not one of your cookie cutter hotels

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The fun old 60's look and the very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Guest shuttle pick ups later than 8:30pm.
Location: The location is outside the tourist areas of harbor side Victoria. We took the shuttle into town so did not explore the area near the motel.
The motel has lots of fun, old school character. The cafe cooks up a great breakfast. It is a bit far from the center of Victoria but they have a great old VW microbus that shuttles you into town and will pick you up again, as long as you wish to return before 8:30pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey James, Thank you so much for the great review!! I'm happy to hear you made good use of our free shuttle and you are correct we stop around 8:30pm. But if you're not ready to call it a night you can catch almost any bus on Douglas street for $2.50 and it will drop you off right in front of the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed Victoria
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Cool hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Really nice hotel room, and hotel staffs. Free shuttle service to & from Downtown. I would probably stay here again, next time. Very colorful surroundings! I love it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Cath, Thank you very much for the great review!! It's great to hear you used our free VW shuttle to get downtown and I hope you got a chance to enjoy our indoor heated pool and waterslide. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed Victoria
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Y

Excellent value for money. Phenomenal staff.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Well run place. Good central location couple min drive to downtown. Staff are excellent. Rented some bikes. Went into the jacuzzi. Room was clean. Love the decor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you very much for the 5 star review and the amazing feedback on our phenomenal staff! It's great to hear you grabbed some of our free bikes. With our central location next to the Galloping Goose, you can never go wrong with a nice bike ride by the ocean. Take care and we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Victoria!