Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC

Great hotel...Great Price!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Staff was fantastic...were very helpful and knowledgeable. Free shuttle, Free bike and skate board rentals..and a nice pool, hot tub and sauna to use
Cons: Shower tap needs fixing...was dripping a bit. Hair needs to be taken out of drain after each visit and hanging light fixture in the room needs dusting
Location: May Fair Mall across the street...LOTS of construction going on with it. Lots of places to eat close by. And we walked from China Town back..easily
Came to Victoria to play tourist for one night...3 adults. Room given was nice and big with 2 Queen beds. Met our needs perfectly. We used the free shuttle to get to China Town so we didn't have to pay for parking...Great idea, we could have taken it back..but we choose to walk...took about 20 min. or so but easy walking!. When we got back to our room we decide to take the Free bike rentals out for a spin...great way to spend an hour or so. Given good directions as where we should go for our ride. Loved every minute...even though I hadn't rode a bike in 15ish years!! On returning the bikes to the Hotel, we decide to try out the pool and hot tub...Had both of these to our selves!! Son in Law even went down the water slide! The only down side...was the bathroom tub was full of hair!! (and not ours!) Yuk. And no air conditioners...Can imagine it would be very hot in the room in the summer. 2 fans where provided...but I don't think it would cool the room down enough for me in the summer! Rooms and Lobby had a neat 60's feeling. Old phones and type writers in the lobby, free tea and coffee in the lobby/reception area...no coffee machine or tea in the rooms..though our room did have a mini fridge. All in all a wonderful fun filled couple days, with all the extra's the hotel provided we had a wonderful time in Victoria playing tourist!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ladysmith

Be a Kid Again!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The stuff to do!
Cons: I would like to swim and sauna early in the morning and the facilities are not open until 9:00 am.
Location: The hotel is close to downtown but the Zed people do have cool VW Vans to transit you around.
What sets this hotel apart from others is the 'play factor'. If you do everything they have to offer - you will have a great time! There is a small swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, slide, ping pong table, and bikes. The motel is right next to the Galloping Goose Trail that is bike friendly and really beautiful. The retro cafe is pretty cool as well. We also enjoyed sitting in the sun at the back of the building. It's nice to be at home on your holiday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Fun place to stay,

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness. Excellent service. Good location. Shuttle bus. Funny Decoration
Cons: Nothing to complain.
Location: Easy access to downtown.
I really enjoyed my stay in hotel zed. It's a very fun and different place to stay in Victoria. The staff was super friendly and very focus on good service. The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was good, they have a shuttle to downtown and it's close enough to take a cab if necessary after 8pm, you can also bike or walk if you enjoy working out. The decoration was very fun with a lot of retro things, that makes your stay very enjoyable. I recommend this place if you're looking for something fun and comfortable, very different from a luxury hotel, but worthy to try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Close to downtown Victoria

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The convenience to downtown. Lots of parking available on site. The pool was heated and the hottub and sauna a plus. It was a fun place to stay.
Cons: They are working on upgrading the plumbing issues. Need to mark their lobby with a visible sign. Had a hard time finding it when checking in.
Location: Easy access location for all things in the greater Victoria area including downtown. Great shopping mall across the street.
Picked this hotel because of the fun and eclectic look of it. I was traveling with my thirteen year old and he loved the place. Getting to experience rotary phones in the rooms and record players as well as manual typewriters in the lobby was great fun. The pool, hottub and slide was a hit with him as well. The hotel staff was helpful and they do have a complimentary shuttle service that runs throughout the day that provides three drop off and pick up areas in downtown Victoria. This eliminated the headache of trying to park in downtown. The hotel is an older building so they are doing upgrades to the plumbing and installing air-conditioning in the rooms. Since my room hasn't had the upgrade in plumbing yet we did experience some water temperature fluctuations (warm to cold to hot and back) in the shower. This hotel doesn't provide a complimentary breakfast. There is a restaurant on site and each room has a small refrigerator. This hotel sits on a main road into town and it is quite noisy with traffic going by all hours of the day and night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Alberni

Excellent location. Relaxing rooms.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Quiet and relaxing place to stay. the location is great.
Cons: i feel if you have stayed there before you should get a better rate or a special discount. my name should come up automatically in their system.
Location: Mayfair mall is across the street and shoe warehouse and other shops close by.
really enjoyed the warm swimming pool and great hot tub. Room was relaxing and clean. wish their was a microwave in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Jag, Thank you so much for being a loyal guest and for the great review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our indoor pool and I hope you also checked out our waterslide. We have microwaves available on request and also one in the lobby for use 24 hours a day. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Loved the 60s retro

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Cool place
Location: Plenty to do around Victoria; we recommend that you have a car.
Loved the 60s retro. We were initially put off by the color scheme, but were very pleased with their attention to detail. We were very comfortable with the room, the staff, and the lobby. This is not a 4-star hotel, but it is better than some 3-star we have stayed at. The only drawback is the 2-mile trek to downtown, but they do have a shuttle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Stan, Thank you so much for staying with us and for the great review. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our 60s retro theme. We look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flashback

Posted Mar 30, 2017
The hotel was fun, especially for the kids. The rotary phones were a novelty that didn't wear off. The amenities such as the pool, ping pong lounge and Wii video games were a plus at the end of a long day downtown. The staff members were very accommodating and polite. The only downside was the lack of soap provided in the room...1 small bar for a 4 day stay with no replenishment, even when asked. There is no elevator on site and since this is more like a motel than a hotel, there is an issue should anyone have ang accessiability requirements. On booking ensure you indicate if you need main floor access as you will have stairs to contend with otherwise. This is not a 5 star hotel so don't expect it to be. That being said, it was worth the price we paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from YVR

Fun idea, not a great stay

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Cons: Double-paned windows for sound proofing and temperature control. Smaller desk in room so one can open door to enter room without banging into it.
Staff were lovely and room clean. However, rooms were not sound proofed at all. It is on a busy strip of highway, you can hear every conversation happening around you and there is a massive construction project underway across the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibsons BC

Funky 50's feel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Interesting spot worth a visit. A bit more than walking distance from downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fun, Fun, Fun

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: Cool visuals everywhere, friendly staff, proximity to bike trail, fun activities for kids.
Cons: The noise from the hot tub...but it only goes until 9pm. Typewriters needed TLC but even then my sons enjoyed typing inkless dents onto paper.
Location: Highly recommend biking on the galloping goose trail, in both directions. Bring a bike for your child if she/he is under 7 or a small 7.
I took my sons to the Hotel Zed for a spring break overnight, and we had a wonderful time. Hard to say which made for the most fun: the vinyl listening station ("These are very top earphones, not like cheap earbuds they have now," proclaimed my 7 year old), the whizzing dark Zedinator that was well worth the cold, wet treks up the spiral stairs, the sauna all to ourselves, the ping-pong tournament before breakfast, or our magical ride along the galloping goose trail on borrowed Zed bikes. The desk staff were very helpful from check-in to check-out, and Juan took the time to find us the right bikes and adjust the seats for us. We'll definitely be back in warmer weather. We had so much more fun than we would have had at a generic, pricer hotel.