Ratings based on 971 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Retro motel experience

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The price.
Cons: A good power washing of the walk ways and stairs to clean them. Rooms could benefit from extractor fans in the toilet and shower, but too expensive.
Economy pricing for Victoria and you get what you pay for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Great hotel, room and bed was small but I knew that when I booked it and took the cheapest option
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

reunion

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Over all concept.....Fantastic!!!!! Location.......Perfect!!!
My girlfriend and I left Victoria together in 1972. This was our first time back together to explore our old homes and haunts. Sooooooo Fun! Staying in your hotel was so appropriate to our experience. It just needs a bit of updating (in a basic sense...bathroom fan, bathroom door painted) just so it doesn't start to look "funky but run down.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing Zed as the base for your reunion tour of Victoria. Great to hear that you had such a wonderful time. We also appreciate the feedback about your room. Thanks again, Rebecca Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wabamun Alberta

Great hotel and restaurant

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Great hotel. Also Ruby's restaurant has great food and atmosphere
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
So glad that you had a great stay Keith! Thanks for the shout out to the Ruby. they dish up some pretty amazing grub! Thanks, Rebecca Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

The place is a winner

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The VW Transporter. The decorating Can walk to the mall or catch a bus
Cons: Don't change a thing
Location: Since there were guests for a wedding in town, the location leaves choices for transportation to and from our activities
Room was clean and decorated to fit the era of beatniks and hippies
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Rebecca , Hotel Management
Wow, thanks for your 5 star approval Curt! So glad that you enjoyed your Zed experience. Please come back soon! Best Regards, Rebecca Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not like the rest

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Cons: The water in the shower was a bit finicky
Clean motel. Enjoyed the different amenities. Took the free bikes for a tour. That was fun. Ruby's restaurant was really good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithers,BC

Funky and unexpected!

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Great stay and the most unexpected hotel theme and ambience! Totally retro with rotary phones,crazy arborite counters, wild colors, free bike rentals, an inviting and funky lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Zed, Mike! Thanks for the great review. Please come back and see us again soon. Best Regards, Rebecca Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Cons: Luckily we arrived just after the summer heat wave, otherwise the room without air conditioning would have been very hot. The bathtub does not empty.
Location: Great location and free shuttle service.
A great friendly hotel. Just a couple of complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Hotel Zed celebrates the fun things & times from the 60s. Very clever use of decorations, colors, music, & everything. Throw in free use of bicycles on the outstanding network of local trails, the Zedinator water slide, and an on-site top notch restaurant & you can't go wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thanks for your amazing review! So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon! Rebecca Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not too bad

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Our stay was pleasant overall. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. There's no in room coffee facilities (free coffee at reception though) but there was a fridge and microwave. It was a very hot day (30C+) and there is no AC. They had provided a fan but it really wasn't cutting it. Considering the location, right on a busy road and having major construction across the road, it was pretty quiet inside. Staff were great. I'll definitely stay there again