Ratings based on 931 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa+

Nice+hotel%2C+thin+walls+

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Awesome+place+to+stay.+Close+to+everything+and+nice+rooms.+Walls+are+pretty+thin+though+so+you+hear+everything+outside+your+room+
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic and fun. Best customer service ever!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Everything about this stay was perfect! Lots of free parking cool 60's items in the room and lobby. Free use of bikes and skateboards and access to a very popular restaurant on site. Very close to downtown and right across the street from a hose mall. The owners have thought of everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you so much for the amazing review. "best customer service ever" is awesome to hear!! Have a great long weekend and we hope to see you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sherbrooke

vintage and very clean

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: cleanliness and comfortable bed
Cons: complementary breakfast
Location: easy to find
very nice as expected a little bit expensive for that category of room
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Paul, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. I'm happy to hear your room was clean and comfortable! Take care and we hope to see you again. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Somewhat central, tiny room

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Not a bad location, but was not prepared for how tiny the room was. 2 guests and we didn't have space for even one suitcase to sit. Room would have been comfortable for someone with a few peices of clothing in a backpack, but if you have lots of luggage beware. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a pool which many used and a cool slide for kids. Hotel is old, but room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morden, Manitoba

Central location to everything around Victoria

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Felt welcome when checking in. Hotel is an older facility that has been designed to bring you back a few years in life, to the old rotary phone age and funky colour schemes. It was a cute and comfortable place to stay, pool was really nice, kids loved the "Zedinator", would definitely recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Kevin, I'm glad to hear the waterslide was a big hit with the kids and you enjoyed a trip down memory lane! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox Valley

Affordable, close to shopping and downtown.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Price, location, funky theme. The ruby restaurant for breakfast was excellent.
One night stay. Decor was cute, room was clean but small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi Robyn, I'm happy to hear our central location worked well for your needs. Thank you for the kind words about the Ruby and we look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver BC

Family Wedding

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: We did enjoy the fact that the Ruby restaurant was connected to the lobby for a close and delicious breakfast, fantastic eggs benny.
Cons: I wish we had had more time for pool and bikes !
I have always wanted to stay at Hotel Zed so when an opportunity arose I booked ! I only wish we could have stayed another night. The room was cool in the heat and the lime green and teal were very refreshing. Lovely beds and linen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Wow, thanks for the amazing review JBFVancouver! We are so happy that you came to stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon, the pool and bikes will be waiting! Best Regards, Rebecca Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Zed is epic Victoria

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: This hotel pushes the envelope on cool. Everyone in the family was happy staying at the Zed.
Location: Museums, BC Legislature, Brew Pubs, Old China Town, Bike Trails, Beach combing, tea in Victoria, art galleries, hiking, whale watching. So much to see
Serious hotel fun. Helpful staff, working very hard to answer questions, helping to make your staff as awesome as can be. Water slide & pool is warm and seriously fun!! There are many cool bikes in good condition to borrow, the city has an awesome bike trail to downtown just around the corner. The Zed mobile takes you right downtown and is available just by booking. The hotel is clean, fun and family friendly, and the colours will make your heart smile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Your kind words about our lovely staff are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. They work really hard to ensure that our guests have the best time possible, so thanks for acknowledging them. Hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Rebecca Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vashon, WA

Loud and lacking hot water

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cute aesthetic, and nice idea but a lot of street noise from the fairly industrial zone. Hot water ran out half way through the first shower, and we were told "yeah, I think we only have one boiler."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Wonderful for the price

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The colors, slide, free bike rental
Cons: Mattresses
Location: Bike path! Denny's...don't do it!
Hotel Zed is a wonderful place to stay with children. We did not have our children with us and I think they would have enjoyed this hotel. Free bike rentals, pool slide, etc. Very cute place to stay when exploring Victoria. Our only complaint was that the bed made our backs hurt. The restaurant had wonderful food, but does not covert american $ so you will get ripped off if you do not have Canadian currency. We do not recommend the Denny's next door, the food made us sick. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and the staff was wonderful!