Ratings based on 919 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Comox Valley

Affordable, close to shopping and downtown.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Price, location, funky theme. The ruby restaurant for breakfast was excellent.
One night stay. Decor was cute, room was clean but small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver BC

Family Wedding

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: We did enjoy the fact that the Ruby restaurant was connected to the lobby for a close and delicious breakfast, fantastic eggs benny.
Cons: I wish we had had more time for pool and bikes !
I have always wanted to stay at Hotel Zed so when an opportunity arose I booked ! I only wish we could have stayed another night. The room was cool in the heat and the lime green and teal were very refreshing. Lovely beds and linen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Wow, thanks for the amazing review JBFVancouver! We are so happy that you came to stay with us. Please come back and visit us again soon, the pool and bikes will be waiting! Best Regards, Rebecca Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Zed is epic Victoria

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: This hotel pushes the envelope on cool. Everyone in the family was happy staying at the Zed.
Location: Museums, BC Legislature, Brew Pubs, Old China Town, Bike Trails, Beach combing, tea in Victoria, art galleries, hiking, whale watching. So much to see
Serious hotel fun. Helpful staff, working very hard to answer questions, helping to make your staff as awesome as can be. Water slide & pool is warm and seriously fun!! There are many cool bikes in good condition to borrow, the city has an awesome bike trail to downtown just around the corner. The Zed mobile takes you right downtown and is available just by booking. The hotel is clean, fun and family friendly, and the colours will make your heart smile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! Your kind words about our lovely staff are greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team. They work really hard to ensure that our guests have the best time possible, so thanks for acknowledging them. Hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Rebecca Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vashon, WA

Loud and lacking hot water

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cute aesthetic, and nice idea but a lot of street noise from the fairly industrial zone. Hot water ran out half way through the first shower, and we were told "yeah, I think we only have one boiler."
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Wonderful for the price

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The colors, slide, free bike rental
Cons: Mattresses
Location: Bike path! Denny's...don't do it!
Hotel Zed is a wonderful place to stay with children. We did not have our children with us and I think they would have enjoyed this hotel. Free bike rentals, pool slide, etc. Very cute place to stay when exploring Victoria. Our only complaint was that the bed made our backs hurt. The restaurant had wonderful food, but does not covert american $ so you will get ripped off if you do not have Canadian currency. We do not recommend the Denny's next door, the food made us sick. Overall we enjoyed our stay, and the staff was wonderful!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice but small and little comfort in the rooms

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Retro theme, price
Cons: Daily maintenance
Location: Close to Victoria with all that is available to tourist
We had no experience with Hotel Zed before and were taken back by the small size of the room. After a day we understood the theme, retro, and it grew on us. The staff were great and very accommodating. It is not a hotel where you linger during the day, but up and out, which we did. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the shower stall could use a bit of an upgrade. Closer attention to daily maintenance could also be adhered to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Posted Jul 11, 2017
MODtastic and fun. Great spot for families or couples. Take in the design, great little restaurant, and a free ride downtown in a VW bus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Randy, Thank you so much for the great review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the restaurant. See you next time you're in town. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: nice vibs
Cons: no coffee in room. you had to go down to the lobby to get coffee
Location: bus goes right by hotel. Mall across the street has food court Ricky's down the street good food friendly people. Denny and KFC nearby.
was further out than we planned but the bus went right the motel and you could take the Zed bus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cold Lake, AB

Great for kids

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: No A/C but nice cool breeze at night helped cool the room down.
Location: It is within walking distance from the inner harbor. Galloping Goose bike trail is accessible from the hotel.
Comfortable beds with a good size room, we had the family suite. Kids loved the slide and pool as well as the ping pong and the use of the bikes. Neat experience for the kids to ride the 1960 VW shuttle to the Empress. Would definitely stay here again, great staff and a great little restaurant The Ruby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Robert, Thank you so much for the great review! I'm happy to hear you made good use of the free bike rentals and went on the Galloping Goose trail. The Goose is a great safe way for the whole family to get around town! Thank you again so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jon W Assistant Manager Hotel Zed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary ab

Looks nice in photos, but still a motel

Posted Jul 1, 2017
This place is different than average motels, but not up to par if you're expecting 3+ star accommodations. It's really a lipstick & rouge renovation to a very dated motel complex. The pool and hot tub is pretty good and was clean, probably the best part of our stay. The room itself has no AC, very small windows, and the shower temperature adjusts randomly throughout your shower. It's a neat place if your looking for a different experience but it wasn't really up to our expectations.