Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prince George, BC

Cool place

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Has an excellent vibe. Really clean. Lots of things to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Jeff, Thank you so much for all the kind words and I'm happy to hear you had a great stay! We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun stay at hotel zed

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Great hotel with hip decor. Convienant location. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2016 by Walkiing Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey there, Thank you very much for the 5 star review!! I'm happy to hear our central location across from Mayfair mall worked well for you. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

LOVED staying here!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Staff were great, facility was really fun, and the location was good, as we wanted to walk around quite a bit. I'll totally be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Paul, Thank you for the great review! It's great to hear you had fun and that our central location worked well for you. We look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fun and convenient!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Bikes, hot tub, shuttle, comfy beds... location was close to downtown, and free transportation (bikes and shuttle) available. Close to bike trail, too
Cons: Well, the typewriters in the lobby weren't working when I tried them. A tad disappointing.
Location: The Ruby on-site restaurant was great. Bin4 Burger Lounge, a short walk away, was fantastic. The bike trail close by crosses the river and goes dwntwn
This hotel room was a steal, and I saw why as soon as we opened the door. It was very small, but a very efficient use of the space! The bed was comfy; there was a metal desk with drawers and extenders that slid out to make extra counter space if needed; a small fridge; stand-up shower, sink, counter, and separate toilet. If you've looked at the pictures at all you know this hotel is fun, brightly colored, and retro-themed (powder blue rotary telephone in the room, old-school alarm clock, etc.). The hotel amenities were the best part - not only is there an indoor pool, waterslide, and outdoor hot tub, but there is a free shuttle that picked us up from the Clipper terminal downtown when we called, and dropped us off when we left - and they will drive you to/from downtown upon request any time. Of course, the shuttle is an old VW bug, which is fun (if a little creaky and noisy). Best of all, free bike rentals! We were out all day on the bikes, which are 6-speed cruisers, and come with bike helmets and locks. (There are no bike lights, so bring your own or get back by dark.) The Ruby, the on-site restaurant, is also fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Waliking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi Alexia, Thank you so much for the fantastic 5 star review! It sounds like you had an amazing time at Hotel Zed and made good use of all our free amenities. With are location so close to the galloping goose trail you can really safely explore what the city has to offer on our free bikes! My apologies about the type writers not working correctly while you where here and we will get on that right away. Thank you again so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Just so-so

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Nice 70s theme and friendly staff but the rooms are VERY small and basic necessity-wise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Coquitlam

Great location, noisy

Posted Nov 17, 2016
I would recommend for families with older kids; couples; friends' getaway. The walls are very thin and we heard our neighbour's' good time, which included boisterous profanities. I drop many the swear bomb, but it's a bit different when you're with your four year old and trying to sleep. We also heard every footstep, every time they used the bathroom, and every time they used the balcony to smoke. The location is great, across the street from the mall and walking distance to the best diner ever, Spoons, and a short drive downtown. We also enjoyed the pool and slide. The service was good too. Overall, just be aware it's noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Funky, hostel-like accommodation

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location, price amenities
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to downtown, shuttle service in the funky Volkswagen van, across the road from Mayfair Mall
A great choice for families with kids - great pool and water slide - or travellers looking for a cheap hotel close to downtown Victoria. Check-in was easy and straight forward and staff were friendly. Free coffee and tea in the "lobby" available 24/7. Great little restaurant on the premises and staff was knowledgeable about other good eateries in the area. Location right across from Mayfair Mall for those looking for a retail experience. Rooms basic, but clean and functional. Pool shuts down at 10 pm, so our stay was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi Leslie, Thank you very much for the great review! I'm happy to hear our central location and free shuttle bus where a hit. We look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo

Posted Nov 11, 2016
The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were awesome. The hotel is close to everything we needed. We will definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey Melisa, Thank you so much for the awesome review! I'm happy to hear our central location across from Mayfair mall worked well for you. We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel cleaning staff is so loud

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Every time I stay for business I get up at 8:30. Every time I have stayed here I have been woken up by the cleaning staff laughing loudly, slamming doors and taking right outside my room at 6:30 am. I won't stay here anymore
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi there, Thank you very much for staying with us. I'm sorry to hear you were woken up early. I am a little confused as our housekeeping staff start at 8am. I will speak with our team and remind them to keep their voices down in the morning. It's sad to hear you won't stay with us again and I hope you'll change your mind. Sincerely, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from madeira park, BC

Great funky hotel in Victoria

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Location, retro decor, fabulous restaurant The Ruby with ping pong tables in basement. Cool place and great music.
Cons: Rooms on the small size but not a problem as we were out most of the time No elevator may be an issue for some travelers.
Location: Mall across the street. Very central location. Bicycles available and shuttle to downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi Evelyn, Thank you so much for staying with us at Hotel Zed. I'm sorry you found your room on the small size. We do have many different room types at Zed and may I suggest checking out a Standard room or maybe a suite next time? We hope to see you again next time you're in town!