Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada , vancouver

그냥 그랫어요

Posted Feb 2, 2016
여름에는 시원할것 같은데 저는 겨울에 이용해서 그런지 좀 방이 추웠어요. 캐나다는 겨울에 난방온도 높게올려서 사용하지는 않거든요 그리고 방에 커피포트라던가 물이 없어서 데스크까지 왔다갔다가 거리는게 좀 불편했어요 저는 부가시설은 이용 안했어요 그래서 후기가 없네요 다운타운에서는 비교적 가까웠어요 걸어서 15분~20분쯤? 거리도 괞찬고 바로 앞에 버스전류장이 있어서 편했어요. 방도 깨끗하고 따뜸한 물도 잘나오고,,,,,
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2016 by Jon, Hotel Management
Hi Sally, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Zed. We hope you had a great stay and good time in Victoria. Cheers, Jon Warrington
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Friendly, cool

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Very nice staff. Close to mall and restaurants. Cool, contemporary design. Good value
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by Jon, Hotel Management
Hey Cartar, 5 star review that awesome and we really appreciate it! Thank you for mentioning our very nice staff, they are so good at what they do. I will make sure to share your review with everyone. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're on the island. Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Way too loud

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Lots of activities
Cons: Noise
Location: Good location, not too far from downtown (they offer a free shuttle)
I really wanted to love this place. I had wanted to visit for a long time and was really excited to finally be staying there. Unfortunately, it is not somewhere I will be going back. The good: it seems like there are quite a few cool features, like free shuttles to downtown, a pool/hot tub, lots of activities on site like pool tables, vinyl listening station, typewriters, etc. The bad: we were so tired from not sleeping that we couldn't check any of these things out. We had a room in the back, over the pool. Constant screaming from when the pool opened to when it closed. There is also a gathering place with chairs set up in the parking lot below which resulted in a lot of rowdy, drunk people smoking and keeping us up all night. Aside from other guests, our room was also very loud. The heater and fridge both need maintenance. The compressor in the fridge was banging in the middle of the night and the heater was constantly, loudly clicking on and off. Maybe a room facing the front (away from the pool and smoking area) would have been better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from union bay bc.

Too fun, great colours, great decor, really upbeat

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: nothing.
Location: It is right across from Mayfair mall. Close to everything.
Great. there for a couple nights..every thing is fun. Great waterslide. clean and pretty conditions in pool and hot tub, slide operating at all hours. great room. quiet and clean, pretty. great decor in check in area. helpful and fun staff. They offered to drive us around in the fun van. this would be great too .. played pingpong, and they have wii and games too. Would be great for any age. Sorry my kids didn't join me for a swim.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Jon, Hotel Management
Hi Libby, Wow, thank you for the great review and kind words about our staff. It sounds like you had a blast while staying here and I'm sorry to hear your kids didn't go swimming with you. But it sure sounds like a good excuse to come back to Hotel Zed soon! We look forward to welcoming you and your family back next time you’re in town. Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Hip and quirky motel in a great central location.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
They took an older, tired motel and updated it selectively. The result is a delightful blend of new and old with a strong sense of Zed identity. On check in, I was not surprised to see the diner attached to the lobby filled with heavily bearded plaid wearing hipster type patrons. Hotel Zed is totally zeroed in on this cultures likes and preferences. The beds were comfortable, the room was large, the kitchenette was functional and included microwave, stovetop, fridge and freezer. Dishes in room with toaster and kettle. Most of the year the climate of Victoria does not require A/C. The fans in the room would be sufficient for most months of the year. I suspect that during the summer though, the rooms may feel hot without A/C. Our suite was above the pool. The facility was being heavily used, but the noise never felt excessive. The pool is closed at 10pm. Our kids loved the slide, I enjoyed the outdoor hot tub, and we all warmed up in the sauna. We tried a game of ping pong, they also have a Wii with games available in their game room. The kids learned how to use a rotary phone and tried out a typewriter. There were records available for listening as well. The motel has a old VW van that is available to shuttle guests downtown. They also provide bikes and longboard free rentals with helmets available. There are some nearby trails that one could check out. We may make Hotel Zed our home away from home when we visit Victoria again. It fit us perfectly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2016 by Jon, Hotel Management
Wow 5 out of 5 review, thank you so much. I'm happy to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all the services we have to offer. You are right most of the time Victoria is ok without A/C but there are those few days where it gets piping hot out and we are happy to say we are installing A/C in our suites soon with the goal of being installed before this summer. Thanks again for the awesome review and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager Hotel Zed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P.A.

Cute, eclectic.

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Cute, newly renovated motel. Lots of colour and friendly staff. Stickers a day comic books in the rooms were a nice touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2015 by Jon, Hotel Management
Hey Mrs. Taylor, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel Zed. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our reading material in the rooms! Thanks for nice comment on our friendly staff and I hope we get to see you again soon. Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Nice retro hotel!

Posted Dec 2, 2015
The zed hotel in a very original and unique retro hotel! With the old school decor and cool services like old westfalias navette, free long boards and bike rentals, a ping pong lounge and vinyl you can listen to, this hotel is one you'll wont forget soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2015 by Jon, Hotel Management
Hey Adam, What an awesome review!! It sounds like you had tons of fun enjoying our many different amenities and long boarding I'm very impressed! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Staff delightful and great decorating.
Very noisy with neighbors arriving at 230 am. Lots of doors closing both hotel doors and car doors. Then could hear luggage being pulled down hallway. Need better insulation no coffee maker in the room. Couldnt have tea or coffee. 3 flights of stairs. Mattress too soft. No elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Westminster, BC

It's good to be different.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Loved our stay. Comfortable, stimulating and fun. Will have to come back for a longer stay and enjoy all the perks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2015 by Jon, Hotel Management
Hi Jules, Thank you so much for writing a review for Hotel Zed! I'm happy to hear you loved your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next time. Cheers, Jon Warrington Assistant manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Staff was pleasant. Room was clean and fun design. Didn't get a chance to try the water slide. Will come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Jon, Hotel Management
5 star review!!! That's awesome and thank you for mentioning our staff. They really are great at what they do and love hearing feedback like yours. To bad you didn't get on the Zedinator this stay but a great reason to come back! See you next time you're in Victoria.