Ratings based on 826 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Okay for a Budget Stay

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room, great internet, quirky things to do in the lobby.
Cons: Get rid the ants. We told the girl at reception when we were checking out, and she was not at all concerned or surprised that we had ants.
Location: Location is so-so, but central if you have a vehicle. There's a busy bus route right outside the door. Amazing restaurant attached to the hotel!
Hotel Zed is a fine place to stay if you're on a budget, or have kids. There's a pool with a water slide, which (judging by the non-stop shrieking) is the best thing ever. If you're looking for some quiet, though, ask to stay as far away from the pool as possible. We were told we were in a "quiet spot", which turned out to be directly across from the pool. Wasn't quiet. The room was fine - spacious and comfortable - but we had an invasion of tiny ants in our bathroom. It was pretty gross. I am not a fan of ants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beware of online booking impressions

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: I thought I was going to get more value for my money than I did in the end
Location: very busy in city traffic
The room was not depicted well online, way smaller than I was led to believe. NO in room coffe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
blankets are thin. door was not secure. This was a business trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hi there, Please except my apologies about you duvet being to thin and never hesitate to call the front desk if you need an extra blanket or have any other concerns. I'm not sure what you mean about the door not being secure. All our doors have the key card lock as well as deadbolts and privacy locks. Thank you for staying with us and i hope you do give us another chance. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Retro showing its age.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location, sense of humor and fresh hot coffee in the lobby.
Cons: Needs a touch up, things are wearing out and that bright, fresh retro meme is wearing out.
Location: Close to almost everything in Victoria, but you do need a car to get around.
I've stayed here many times in the last couple of years. In the beginning the bright and sassy retro touches really added to the experience - almost like staying in an old Laugh-In set. Things are getting a bit long in the tooth, however, and old lights that blink on and off, heat that can't quite keep up with the cold bathroom floors and general wear and tear means it's time to re-retro the retro...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Just the most perfect place to stay in Victoria. Have a terrific eggs Benny and head out to shop at Mayfair across the street or take the groovey shuttle down to Victoria's amazing harbour
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Dear guest, I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast at The Ruby. They are one of the best spots in Victoria to eat! I also love our inner harbour and it's one of my favorite spots to relax on my days off. I'm so happy you had a chance to experience it. Thank you very much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Victoria trip

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: No coffee in any rooms. Accessibility for people with mobility issues. Problem with contacting office in the evening - phone just rang busy.
This hotel in on Douglas Street so handy to get around Victoria. The staff were friendly and the room clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Great hotel, warm pool even in the winter, nice staff, but bring earplugs. Thin walls and some of the other guests are jerks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. I'm really sorry to hear you had some loud neighbors. Please never hesitate to call us, as we have a quite time starting at 10pm and our staff is on 24/7. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Victoria! Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun, funky and affordable with great restaurant.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Great - the chicken Barley soup save my soul. Cleaning staff very pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Walking Wizard, Hotel Management
Hey there, Thank you very much for the 5 star review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed The Ruby, our restaurant located in the hotel. It's one of the best spots in Victoria to eat! I hope you got a chance to take advantage of our heated indoor pool and hot tub. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Victoria. Cheers, Jon W Assistant manager Hotel Zed
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs, frontdesk no phone pickup 9pm to 9am

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Once the customer service guys are in touch , they do everything for you above and beyond.
Cons: Pickup phone guys when someone calls frontdesk. Do regular pest control sweeps.
Location: Great place to see (Victoria parliament and butchart gardens).
No one picks up the phone, I have stayed here like more than a month (in bits and pieces) and had some good and bad experience. Bad part is one night there were bed bugs in my room, I am allergic to them and all on my legs were red spots. Next night after returning from work I called front desk at night 10 , no answer (they claim 24 hours service) , so I slept as had a 13 hour shift at work and was too tired to walk there. Next day even more red spots all over my body, So that day I decided to call them while I am enroute coming back from work. Again no answer I kept calling on and on. When I reached the hotel I parked my car and I went to the front desk and the front desk person was eating food. The Good part is , once you get hold of them they are very nice, they offered me new room and wash my clothes and gave me a mug (as a gift for inconvenience). During my shifting I forgot my belt and jeans in my old room, so I went at morning 7:45 no one at front desk, I called around 8:50 no answer (as usual). So ya, thats the only bad part, no answer to customer service phone from 9pm to 9am I guess. The hotel is good (except the bed bugs in my room during one of my stays), the rates are good too. Excellent people (once you are in touch), they are trying their best to keep the good service motto, but I would say to the owners. Keep a check, call at your hotel sometimes to see if people there pickup your phone, and have pest control do regular sweeps.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

great location for seeing Victoria and shopping

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: We loved the funky décor. Buses were available just outside the motel.
Cons: As with all older motels the sounds from outside and other rooms was often audible.
Location: It was a pleasant half hour walk to inner the harbor (if you are a walker), lots of food places and across the street from a major shopping center.
This is an older motel that was remodelled a few years ago. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was inexpensive and for one night served us for our purposes.