Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Staff are friendly. Room is clean. Breakfast were very good. Love the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such kind words and a perfect review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and are excited to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Had the poolside rooms. Very clean and comfy. Pool was clean and good for lounging. There is a restaurant and bar attached. 15 mins from ferry. 15 mins from attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Totoro, Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to share your experience with the online community after your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found your room clean and comfy. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Great hotel. The only complaint is the water pressure in the shower was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to review us after your departure. We feel great, because you told us we are :) We will take a look at the water pressure in the rooms. This is the first complaint we have had in regards to this, and we will be sure to remedy any issues right away. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ON

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Very clean and spacious room and bathroom, staff was courteous. It has underground parking which is a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Adriana, thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria, and we look forward to seeing you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Convenient location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location and free parking
Cons: Provide body wash instead of just soap.
Location: Butchart Gardens was within a 20 minute drive. Broadmead Village Shopping Centre was literally a two minute drive and offers great food options.
The hotel is conveniently located between the ferry terminal and downtown Victoria. Everywhere we went was within a 20 minute drive including Butchart Gardens. Free parking at the hotel was a bonus. Many hotels charge at least $15 for parking per night. Room was clean. Elevator was quite slow, but there were only 3(?) floors, so you could easily just take the stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Karen, thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to provide us with a detailed review after your stay. We really appreciate you sharing some details of our location to the online community; and, yes we have three floors :) We will take your consideration of also providing body wash to our guests. It is comments like yours that allow us to continue to improve. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

basic good hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: The shampoo was a little less than we needed for three of us.
Beds were very comfy. The room's ceiling was very thin and my god it was loud above us at 4am... the carpets in the room could use a good cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to provide us with your thoughts after your stay. It is guest feedback that allows us to continue to improve. Because of your comments, we will now encourage our Front Desk team to offer additional shampoo and conditioner for guests with more than two adults. One thing to note, if you choose to stay with us again, if you ever need anything extra during your stay please call the front desk and we will be more than happy to bring it up to your room. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Disappointed over the booking mix-up between Expedia and Howard J. Itin # 7285802362054 I booked my room thru expedia on Aug 4 , for Can$165. / night , yes, confirmed CANADIAN dollars , and somewhere between expedia and HJ , the $ amount got screwed up , and I was charged a much higher rate ( last minute ) rate as I was checking out !! The hotel was full of excuses , and blaming Expedia , and said there was nothing they could do . UNACCEPTABLE !! I deserve a credit for the overcharge . A.H.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
A.H. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your rate to be what you thought it would be. When a guest books with Expedia, the rate they booked gets automatically sent to our hotel operating system (along with a back up confirmation that we access online). After your check-out, we called Expedia to investigate whether or not you were provided a different rate then we quoted you at check-out. They had the exact same rate in their system that we provided you at checkout. They did say that the rate would average out to $165 in American funds. We understand that you are adamant that the rate you saw was in Canadian funds, but unfortunately Expedia is assuring us that the rate they provided us is correct. We encourage you to look at the confirmation email Expedia sent you after your booking. If you notice that it is different from the rate we gave you, please reach out to the hotel and we can continue to work with our Expedia partner to correct the issue. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spruce Grove AB

Great, comfortable stay!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Extremely comfortable beds and pillows, the room was clean and quiet, nice shower head—couldn't ask for more!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Danielle, thank you for choosing to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites. We really appreciate you taking the time after your stay to provide us with such a wonderful review. We understand that comfortable beds are a top priority for guests, that is why all of our rooms are equipped with Serta Perfect Sleeper pillow top mattresses. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Great hotel. Will definitely look at coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Katie, thank you very much for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and providing us with such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back with arms wide open. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Comfortable 1 night stay. Attached Lakes Restaurant is excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Jim, thank you for choosing to stay at Howard Johnson hotel and Suites! We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with a review after your stay. Thanks for bringing up how wonderful our attached restaurant is! We hope to see you again soon. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites