Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great restaurant in the hotel. Better lighting in rooms would be beneficial for anyone wishing to read.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Well situated. Excellent breakfast available in the hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites. We very much appreciate the perfect score! We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the breakfast at our on site restaurant. It is a local favourite, and we always recommend reservations on weekends. We look forward to seeing you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Powell River BC

Second Time Stay

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: I like the location and "middle of the road" status of the hotel. Also I like that there is a decent restraunt/bar&grill on the premises.
Cons: TV needs a timer shut off for those of us that like to fall asleep to the TV.
Location: Not much to do without a car then if you do there is all of the Capital Regional District which has TONS to do.
Elk Lake Rd HoJo is well located for Sannich and Victoria if you have a car. The rooms have been updated since our last stay three years ago. I particularly enjoyed the bed and pillow; both were to my liking and I had a really good sleep. This is saying a lot considering I don't normally sleep that well in hotel rooms. There was a coffee maker but only one package of coffee and it wasn't that good a quality but I wasn't there for the coffee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for your continued patronage, and taking the time to write a review after you stay. Too be honest, we were unaware the TVs did not have timers. We even went and double checked, and you are correct. Considering how they are state of the art LG flat screens, this came as quite a surprise. When we make our next TV purchases, we will be sure to find ones that have timers. It is nice to know you enjoyed our updated rooms. If you would ever like more coffee for your room, we have lots more at the front desk, just ask. We hope you choose to stay with us again for a third time. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, rooms
Cons: We were woken on a holiday to vacuuming in the hall at 8am and a knock on the door at 9am asking if we wanted service.
Excellent Front Desk Staff. Very Clean. Great Location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for waking you up. You came for an excellent nights sleep, and unfortunately it was cut short. Thanks to your feedback, we will now be re-evaluating our morning cleaning procedures. Thank-you for helping us enhance our guest experience. We hope you choose to stay with us again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Clean, quiet

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Location. Only hotel Within 5 minutes of the Technology Park.
Cons: A plug closer to the night stand to recharge my phone.
Location: Not much in the area. Strip mall 5 min walk. Closest decent hotel to thr Tech Park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and providing us with some feedback from your stay. We do have an outlet located behind the night stand. However, we do understand, in this day and age one outlet beside the bed may no be enough. We will look into adding additional plug-ins for our outlets. Thank you for your feedback, and hopefully your suggestion will help improve the comfort of our future guests. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to Friend

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Coffee provided in room, and snacks and water replenished daily.
Cons: Screens on room windows.
Location: Close to friend so that we could pick him up easily to go golfing... That was the primary reason for the choice of hotel.
Close to friend so that we could pick him up easily to go golfing... Check in was quick, and room was clean. Cleaning was completed daily without issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
David, thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to write a review on Expedia. We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary coffee, Nutri-Grain bars, and Aquafina water. We hope your round went well! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adequate, comfortable

Posted Sep 19, 2016
easy to find, bed was comfortable, room was same as shown in photo, flat screen tv, accessories were adequate, nothing fancy but you get what you are paid for, reasonable pricing, bathroom may need renovated but was good enough, enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to write a review on Expedia. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do consider ourselves the best hotel value in Victoria, and are pleased to know you found your money was well spent. We thank you for staying with us, and hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016
A very average hotel. Location was good for our purpose which was overnite in Victoria prior to early a.m. flight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and taking the time to review us on Expedia. We are sorry you did not have the chance to stay with us longer to experience everything we have to offer. Hopefully you had a nice flight home, and we hope you will try us again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Butchart Gardens

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I would say given the price of other properties in high season for the region that it was a good deal. Property is as promised and nice and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to review us on Expedia after your trip. We are one of the closest hotels to Butchart Gardens, and offer, in our opinion, the best value in Victoria! Thank you very much for the 5 star rating. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clinton, WA

Convenient location at reasonable price

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Central location, rooms comfortable.
Location: Butchart Gardens, Abkhazi tea garden, Royal BC Museum, Point No Point, Malahat highway, Mount Douglas for view, Victoria shopping, Murchie's tea.
We like the HoJo at Elk Lake for its comfort, good wifi, convenient location while in Greater Victoria. It's centrally located, around 20 minutes into downtown Victoria, around 20 minutes from Victoria airport and ferries, 15 minutes from Butchart Gardens, and reasonably priced. When we come to Victoria, we usually spend a couple of days in downtown and a couple of days driving around the area so it's nice to have a place that is centrally located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Jan, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with an excellent review on Expedia, and a detailed description of what is in our area. We are really happy you enjoyed yourself while you were staying in Victoria. The weather couldn't of been any better, hopefully you got the chance to relax by the pool, or explore the beach. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.