Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

The front desk staff and restaurant manager.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness
Cons: Twice our beds were made with tissues and other stuff left inside the beds.
The front desk staff and restaurant manager are very professional, friendly and helpful. Thank you for your kindness and understanding!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Nice helpful at front desk.thats it What else you expect me to say
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites after your stay. We appreciate you deciding to stay with us, and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davenport, CA, USA

Second stay, I like it so much!

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The hotel is great, the rooms are large and very comfortable - well-appointed and extremely clean. The Kellogg's fruit-filled bars with the coffee maker in the room a nice touch. The adjacent restaurant and grill, and nice bar, is convenient, as well as serving good food. And you can get there through a lobby passage! The best thing about this hotel is the staff, though. Best people ever!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, Hotel Management
Maureen, we really appreciate you choosing to stay with us again, and taking the time to write a review after your stay. We hope you enjoyed spending time with your friends while you were here. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay :) We hope you don't mind, but your wonderful remarks have been shared with our staffing team. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip back to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean, comfortable room.

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: close to our event, clean, upgraded, free parking
looks like room has been upgraded. close to the event we were attending
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites with a review on Expedia. We hope you enjoyed your event, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet and comfortable.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Quiet with comfortable bed!
Cons: Restaurant was not very good. Food was greasy. Extended breakfast times was nice!! The pillows were a little too full.
Location: Butchart gardens is nearby.
We had a queen room with separate sitting room. So nice to have separate area so one of us could sleep inif we wanted!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites with the Expedia community. It is very nice to hear you enjoyed your stay enough to provide us with a 5 out of 5. You will be pleased to know that we have recently placed a new order for pillows so we can provide our guests with more variety. We hope you enjoyed Butchart Gardens! A tip for next time, if you don't have a car: bus 75 picks guests up in front of the hotel and drops them off at the gardens. It's $2.50 each way :) We hope you visit us again! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from b.c.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Next door to the assisted living complex of Berwick which worked excellent for our visit.
Very comfortable hotel. We had a poolside room which was very quiet and a nice patio to sit in the afternoon sun. It is a convenient location but you would need to know the bus system to get downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Lee, thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia after your stay. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to take advantage of the sun on the poolside patio. For your next stay, bus 72 picks you up right in front of the hotel and takes you directly downtown. It comes every 20 minutes. We hope you decide to visit us again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rimbey, Alberta

Close to many sights.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I found the Howard Johnson pleasant to stay at, it was in a central location and the room was clean and comfortable to stay in. My only disappointment was that the pool was not open. But otherwise reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Kelly, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Expedia. We take great pride in providing a very clean and comfortable room for one of the best values in Victoria. We are sorry you didn't get to enjoy our outdoor swimming pool overlooking the Olympic Mountains. It will re-open the first weekend of May. We encourage you to come for a swim this summer! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach BC

Our favorite hotel for family visits

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
We enjoy the hotel, staff and location which has one on the doorstep to shopping, an easy drive to the inner harbor and the historic center of Victoria as well as allowing one to be and to the wonderful parks and nature of Sannich Peninsula. The accommodations are very comfortable and the restaurant on site "Lakes" has great food and is very accommodating for family visits. The hotels location is within a 15 minute drive from the airport which is very convenient and the covered parking is a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, Hotel Management
Darryl, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review following your most recent stay. We really appreciate all the information you provided about our location to the online community. We are delighted to be your favourite hotel when you visit family, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

The rooms are nice; they have a sitting area.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Room.
Cons: The room I had has a window in the bedroom with no black out curtains and there is a light in the hallway, which was too bad.
Check in was smooth, even though I was very early. Manager and desk staff helpful with a few extras I needed. The restaurant is convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to provide us with a review after your stay. We are in the process of fixing the curtain issue in your room, and really appreciate you mentioning this. We hope you decide stay with us again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Erik, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a rating on Hotels.com. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites