Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver

NOISY

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The room was nice and big with a kitchenette
Cons: the sound proofing and kids kept in a certain part of the hotel
The room was very nice but the kids above us were loud and stomping on the floor late night and early morning. Just ask for the top floor suit !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. McMurray

July 12/16 3 night stay.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Location: We spent most of our time in and around Victoria so not sure about the activities in the area, close to Butchart Gardens.
Easy check in, large well appointed rooms, quiet area, decent restaurant (closes a bit early at 10:00), swimming pool. Over all good value for the price considering it was high season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We hope you were able to take advantage of Butchart Gardens! We take great pride in being able to offer our guests one of the best values in Victoria. Thank you for noticing :) Our restaurant, closes at 9pm, but our lounge and bar remains open till 11pm; with food service till 10:30pm. Thanks again for leaving us a review, and we hope to see you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: We loved everything, but probably an exhaust fan in bathroom could be a more convenient.
Location: We went to Butchart gardens and Mineature World (downtown Victoria)
Our kids had a wonderful time in the hotel. Pool and spa were just awesome. Maintained very well. Didn't get a chance to dine in the restaurant. Overall, we have had a memorable day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience about Howard Johnson hotel and Suites on Expedia. We hope you had a great time at Butchart Gardens and Miniature world! If you stay with us again, feel free to ask the front desk for some pool noodles for the kids :) Thanks again for leaving a review! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great staff for the price

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The staff is very helpful.
Cons: Make the signs more obvious so we can follow to the hotel from the Hyw17 exit.
Nice hotel with great staff for the price. The staff make us feel very welcome and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Expedia. Our staff take great pride in the service they provide. In our opinion, it is what separates us from many other hotels in Victoria. We love to try and make our hotel feel like your home away from home :). Unfortunately, we do not have control over the signs along HWY17. They are put up by the municipality, and they are the ones who determine size. If you stay with us again, feel free to connect with our digital concierge @hojovic and we will be able to give you step by step directions on how to find us easily. Thanks again for leaving us a review! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Hotel with a motel out back

Posted Jul 1, 2016
We expected to stay at the hotel but instead our room was out the back door in what looks like an old motel. The walls were thin and we could hear everyone coming and going
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Kim, thank you for taking the time to review us on expedia.com. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. All of our junior suites are located in the back part of the building. These are our pet friendly rooms, and because of that they require outside access. We apologize that you were not aware of this when you made the booking. When booking through Expedia, you need to click the room type to receive more information about the location and description of the room. Once again, we apologize your stay was not what you hoped for. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, clean and efficient

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Cons: As with most mid-range hotels the hallway to room sound transmission was less damped than ideal.
We arrived for check in on the way to the nearby Butchart Gardens for supper and a stroll. Reservation and room were ready. Check in and check out were fast and efficient and still friendly. Room was comfortable and sparkling clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Expedia. We are happy to hear that check in and check out was smooth. We take great pride in our staffing team, and it's great to hear you were treated well. We hope you had a great trip to Butchart Gardens, and we hope to see you again next time you're in Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to the town of Victoria , BC

Posted Jun 16, 2016
About a ten minute drive from the wharf at Victoria- clean and quiet hotel. Worth driving to save the money on the hotels!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Expedia! We must agree! We are worth travelling the extra 10 minutes to the harbour. As you know, we are also closer to both the airport and ferries. Thanks again for the review, and we hope to see you next time you visit Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

perfect for me

Posted May 18, 2016
Perfect location for my personal agenda. Had pool and jacuzzi to myself. Clean and friendly staff. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Cam, thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are very proud of the service our staff and housekeeping team provide. Thanks for noticing! It's nice to hear that you were able to take advantage of both our Jacuzzi and pool! We hope to see you again soon :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just off main freeway but quiet

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: staff friendly and helpful room quiet and clean
Cons: nothing to add
Location: easy walk to shopping mall and just off freeway for easy access downtown or up the island
from check in to depart very happy with the hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We work hard to provide our guests with the best experience possible. Thank you for noticing the excellent service both our front desk and housekeeping team provide! Also, thank you for providing a location tip for our future guests. Much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and roomy and it was well priced for what it offered.
Cons: Room was a little noisy because it was situated in the hotel.
Location: The community indoor pool and library is situated within walking distance.
This is not the first I have stayed at this hotel when I have visited Victoria, Its a nice place to stay ---a little ways from the center of things( about 10 minute drive to harbor area. Staff is friendly and helpful..Room was a nice , it would be a great room during summer season because it was poolside.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2016 by Erik, Hotel Management
Good Day S: We are so glad you enjoyed your return visit to the Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites Victoria. The staff do make the difference - and they truly do take pride in providing great service and clean and comfortable room. The pool opens in May 2016 - hope to see you soon! Sincerely Erik Brook Manager of Operations