Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo, BC

Nice hotel close to Saanich Commonwealth Pool

Posted Nov 13, 2017
I was lucky to get a room at this hotel as I booked a little late. Handy for the swim meet. Hotel restaurant was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, Hotel Management
Brenda, thank you for choosing to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to provide us with a review after your stay. We are happy to hear you were able to get a room with us! We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Youbou

close to Elk Lake

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: proximity to lake and price
Location: Elk Lake for walking or rowing
Love the complimentary water bottle and snack.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Julia, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites a review after your stay. We are delighted to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bottles of water and snack bars. We will be sure to continue to provide all of our guests with perks like those. We hope you decide to come visit us again soon. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Visit

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Last room in annex :-( Not a good experience - left morning for another hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, Hotel Management
A, We appreciate you expressing your views on Expedia. You booked a pet friendly room, which does have an exterior access, and due to other guests' allergy concerns is in a separate part of the hotel. You also requested a quiet room, which is why you were put in the "last room". We do apologize that you did not have a positive experience, and we will use your comments to find ways we can improve. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Pleasant staff, room was...dated.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Lighting in room was very poor, shower nozzle was chest high. Fitness facility equipment was extremely limited. WiFi connection was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, Hotel Management
Montrose, We appreciate you staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to provide a review on Expedia. We are sorry to hear your stay was not up to our standards. We wish you would of told the front desk that you did not like the lighting in your room; we would of been more than happy to bring you more floor and table lamps. You are correct, our fitness facility is very limited. This is why we do not promote having a gym. There is a full size gym and fitness facility at Commonwealth Place (which is only a two minute walk away). We offer complimentary high speed Optik wireless internet to all of our guests. We hope you did not log into the wrong network, if so this may explain the difficulties you had with the internet. Once again, we apologize that your stay was less than ideal, and we hope you give us another chance again in the future. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Staff was very friendly & knowledgeable. The hotel was close to our destination.The room was clean & comfortable. The only criticism I have is about the pool & hot tub-- they could have been a little cleaner & the times for use wasn't the most convenient for my schedule.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and taking the time to share your thoughts on Expedia. We are pleased to hear you were treated well by our front desk team, and they were able to provide you with local knowledge. Our hot tub is open from 6 a.m.-11 p.m. Unfortunately, we do have more strict hours of operation for our pool. This is because it is an outdoor pool and we have to enforce our quiet time at 10 p.m., so other guests won't be bothered by the pool noise. Therefore our pool is open from 9 a.m.-10 p.m. We hope you decide to stay with us again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

great spot off the highway for Elk Lake

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: better towels and allow guests to have an early check in when booking in advance and later check out, 1pm is way more reasonable check out time.
staff not very accommodating for a late check out,. Noon is the limit. No early check in either which is a bummer if you take the ferry in from the Mainland, so they wont budge. Elk Lake is next door which is great for some nature time. Good spot off the highway to get to downtown Vic and over to Oak and Cadboro Bay, Bed is okay for comfort but if you have a bad back, bring a foam pad to help you rest. Room is very clean but the towels aren't really plump its a hotel Walmart type towel set. Reasonable for what you pay. Would go back again. Rooms on the corner outside like I had, make sure your blind is closed because people can look in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
We really appreciate you taking the time to review Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites on Expedia. Early check-in and late check-outs are policies we are looking to improve for our hotel. Trust us, we want to offer you the opportunity to check-in as early as possible, but sometimes this is just not possible. Same with late check-out. We are currently re-training our entire team to provide creative ways to spot opportunities to have a guest check-in early. If you are hoping to check-in early, please let us know ahead of time with your estimated time of arrival. This allows our team to properly prepare. Your comments regarding the towels will be passed on to our rooms division manager. We appreciate you mentioning that you will come stay with us again. We look forward to welcoming you back :) Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2017
When I checked my visa bill following my stay I noticed I had been charged for my stay as well as being charged 275.00 which they put as a hold on my card at check in. I was told this would never be run through, and would be rescinded at check out. When I phoned to complain about the extra charges, I was told they never process that hold so I should talk to Visa.as if it was Visa's fault ..Which I did! The 275.00 was charged to my account and I had to open a dispute. Later in the day the hotel called me back to say that they HAD charged this amount to my visa. I should wait 7-10 days to receive my refund.. I don't need this kind of Hassle when I travel and will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. When a guest checks in, we take a pre-authorization for the total amount of the stay, plus an incidental amount. In your case, a purchase was taken instead of a pre-authorization. This was an honest, and unfortunate, mistake. Once our front desk team noticed the error, they instantly ran a refund on the card. We really are quite sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and will consider staying with us again so we can redeem ourselves. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nanaimo

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Been here several times this year...big rooms, close to the airport, good restaurant...never had a bad stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Chris, We really appreciate you continuing to choose Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites, and we are thankful that you took the time to share your experience on Expedia. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Clean, quiet room. Comfortable bed. Nice restaurant off the lobby. Close to Victoria and the ferries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with us, and taking the time to write a review on Expedia after your stay. It is nice to know you enjoyed your time with us, and got to relax on our comfortable beds. We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Quiet, Nice hotel and very accessible to downtown

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Have a great time in Victoria, food is amazing and hotel was clean and nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Alma, thank you for staying at Howard Johnson hotel and Suites and taking the time to provide us with a wonderful review. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your time in Victoria. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.