Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Butchart Gardens

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I would say given the price of other properties in high season for the region that it was a good deal. Property is as promised and nice and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to review us on Expedia after your trip. We are one of the closest hotels to Butchart Gardens, and offer, in our opinion, the best value in Victoria! Thank you very much for the 5 star rating. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton, WA

Convenient location at reasonable price

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Central location, rooms comfortable.
Location: Butchart Gardens, Abkhazi tea garden, Royal BC Museum, Point No Point, Malahat highway, Mount Douglas for view, Victoria shopping, Murchie's tea.
We like the HoJo at Elk Lake for its comfort, good wifi, convenient location while in Greater Victoria. It's centrally located, around 20 minutes into downtown Victoria, around 20 minutes from Victoria airport and ferries, 15 minutes from Butchart Gardens, and reasonably priced. When we come to Victoria, we usually spend a couple of days in downtown and a couple of days driving around the area so it's nice to have a place that is centrally located.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Jan, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with an excellent review on Expedia, and a detailed description of what is in our area. We are really happy you enjoyed yourself while you were staying in Victoria. The weather couldn't of been any better, hopefully you got the chance to relax by the pool, or explore the beach. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Victoria. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia

Quiet area outside Victoria

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Great location if you like to visit Victoria & surrounding areas but want to stay in a quiet area. It has a good restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Large pool and lounges. Free parking - lots of room even for bigger trucks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Claudia, thanks for staying with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to write us a wonderful review on Expedia :). It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of some of the hotel amenities. We enjoyed hosting you, and we hope to see you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Nice outdoor pool but no breakfast

Posted Aug 4, 2016
In our 11 day, 7 hotel trip this was the only one that didn't offer an included breakfast. We did really like the outdoor pool. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and posting a review on Expedia. By not offering a complementary breakfast, we are able to reduce the cost of our room rate, and allow guests the option to purchase breakfast from our attached restaurant. We are pleased you were able to take advantage of the excellent weather, and relax at our outdoor pool. We hope you enjoyed your entire vacation, and are thankful you chose to stay with us during it. We hope to see you again soon :) Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Great Choice

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Great pool really comfy room all in all a great choice and we would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for not only staying with us, but taking the time to review us on Expedia. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our outdoor pool and patio is a fantastic place to relax during your vacation. Good choice! We look forward to seeing you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver

NOISY

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The room was nice and big with a kitchenette
Cons: the sound proofing and kids kept in a certain part of the hotel
The room was very nice but the kids above us were loud and stomping on the floor late night and early morning. Just ask for the top floor suit !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to post a review on Expedia. We apologize for the noise issues you experienced. We have a strict 10pm quiet rule, but unfortunately sometimes guests do not follow this. We spoke with the room above you and issued them numerous warnings, but of course this does not change the fact that your peaceful stay was disturbed. Once again, we apologize for this. On a positive note, we are pleased you enjoyed the room, and got to take advantage of our large kitchen suite. We do hope you decide to stay with us again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. McMurray

July 12/16 3 night stay.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Location: We spent most of our time in and around Victoria so not sure about the activities in the area, close to Butchart Gardens.
Easy check in, large well appointed rooms, quiet area, decent restaurant (closes a bit early at 10:00), swimming pool. Over all good value for the price considering it was high season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Expedia. We hope you were able to take advantage of Butchart Gardens! We take great pride in being able to offer our guests one of the best values in Victoria. Thank you for noticing :) Our restaurant, closes at 9pm, but our lounge and bar remains open till 11pm; with food service till 10:30pm. Thanks again for leaving us a review, and we hope to see you again. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved our stay

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: We loved everything, but probably an exhaust fan in bathroom could be a more convenient.
Location: We went to Butchart gardens and Mineature World (downtown Victoria)
Our kids had a wonderful time in the hotel. Pool and spa were just awesome. Maintained very well. Didn't get a chance to dine in the restaurant. Overall, we have had a memorable day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience about Howard Johnson hotel and Suites on Expedia. We hope you had a great time at Butchart Gardens and Miniature world! If you stay with us again, feel free to ask the front desk for some pool noodles for the kids :) Thanks again for leaving a review! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great staff for the price

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: The staff is very helpful.
Cons: Make the signs more obvious so we can follow to the hotel from the Hyw17 exit.
Nice hotel with great staff for the price. The staff make us feel very welcome and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Expedia. Our staff take great pride in the service they provide. In our opinion, it is what separates us from many other hotels in Victoria. We love to try and make our hotel feel like your home away from home :). Unfortunately, we do not have control over the signs along HWY17. They are put up by the municipality, and they are the ones who determine size. If you stay with us again, feel free to connect with our digital concierge @hojovic and we will be able to give you step by step directions on how to find us easily. Thanks again for leaving us a review! Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel and Suites
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Hotel with a motel out back

Posted Jul 1, 2016
We expected to stay at the hotel but instead our room was out the back door in what looks like an old motel. The walls were thin and we could hear everyone coming and going
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites, Hotel Management
Kim, thank you for taking the time to review us on expedia.com. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. All of our junior suites are located in the back part of the building. These are our pet friendly rooms, and because of that they require outside access. We apologize that you were not aware of this when you made the booking. When booking through Expedia, you need to click the room type to receive more information about the location and description of the room. Once again, we apologize your stay was not what you hoped for. Sincere regards, Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites