Ratings based on 941 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: it was nice
Cons: Have the restaurant open
Location: downtown Victoria
it was nice but would have liked the restaurant to be opened
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and found us to be nice. We agree with you; we would love someone to lease out the restaurant space but it seems to be a hard go for us so close to Christmas. We hope it gets leased out soon and we hope you will chose to stay with us again when visiting Victoria. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

INFESTED WITH BED BUGS! AVOID AT ALL COST!

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff (NOT THE MANAGEMENT) who are not afraid to go an extra mile to help a guest
Cons: This "hotel" need to be demolished
Location: Shopping Mall
Myself and my 11 years old daughter were staying in this "hotel", room 238 for two nights last weekend. After our stay we start experiencing itchiness and start getting red spots all over our bodies. Once we got back home we booked an appointment with our family Doctor. Our Doctor informed us that we got a BED BUGS bites and we have to treat it immediately. Once we started our treatment I decided to contact the "hotel" manager with a hope that they will take a responsibility for our suffering and an emotional distress that been caused by BED BUGS bites at this "hotel". Unfortunately "hotel" manager - Christy Zhang didn't even bother to apologize to us and refused to take a responsibility for this disaster. She was extremely snobby and rude, to be honest I was shocked that this kind of person was assigned to manage this place. She has no idea about what is customer service is and about how to be a professional and polite. She is absolutely unprofessional and obnoxious person. Beside all of it is VERY OLD, very poorly maintained "hotel" that should've been demolished a decade ago. Rooms are absolutely unlivable, bathrooms are complete horror story - we been really afraid even to enter it, mold everywhere, stains of someone's blood and any other human discharges, you name it - it's all there! Temperature control in the rooms are not working, it was like a crematorium temperature all the time - + 88. This place is more like a hostel for homeless people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by christy zheng, Hotel Management
Dear Mr.Dzevitskiy, I am very sorry for your bad experience and understand your frustration. However, we are 100 % sure that there is no bed bug in our hotel room and this is proven by two professional pest control company and we have the reports handy should you request it at any time. I have spoken to you over the weekend and apologized to you many times during our 5 minutes conversation. You wanted a solution immediately and you said your doctor approved 100% that the bites were from bed bugs. However, you refused to provide a copy of the doctor note or the doctor’s contact information. We always put our guest as the top priority and we were very concerned about the potential for you to be bringing home the issue and so we went the extra mile of asking 2 companies to inspect the room; we believed you so intently we choose to get another professional in to make sure there was not a problem. We wanted to ensure this would not be a problem for anyone else. Both reports came back negative and there was no activity in the hotel room. I contacted you again and asked if you could please provide your proof for our consideration and then we could move forward with compensating you for any discomfort. We used a lot of time and resources to look into the discovery and elimination of said bugs and when we could not find any we assumed you would be relieved that you would not have to worry about transferring these bugs to your own home or luggage. We certainly did not expect you to become enraged and tell us you would try to sue and post bad reviews. Here, I urge you again to please provide us a copy of the doctor's note or simply the doctor's name so we can get more details. I apologize for your discomfort and look forward to hearing you. Best Regards, Christy Zheng Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colombia

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Good hotel. Clean and the room was spacious Good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Lia, Thank you for writing a review and giving us 4 out of 5 stars. We are happy you found us to be clean and spacious as well as you enjoyed our location. We really enjoy your statement that we are a "good hotel"; we know our staff tries very hard to ensure guest satisfaction from housekeeping to front desk to our maintenance team. We thank you for your time and we hope we see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Awesome stay in Victoria.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: central location to the places I wanted to get to and also to the city centre.
Cons: Key card functionality.
Location: very close to the city centre,
I came to Victoria to explore a job offer and really didn't know what to expect. My experience of Victoria was great, in part because of the experience I had while at Howard Johnson. Very quite and homey experience for me. Just a little hassle with the key card but was promptly resolved by the front desk agent. I'd like to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Dayo, Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and your experience. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself and found our location to be central to your needs. We are sorry you had issues with the key cards they are magnetic and so are cellphones so sometimes they get demagnetized. We apologize for the inconvenience. We are delighted that we could make your experience with Victoria be all the better; we strive to be real, honest and knowledgeable of the city. We hope you do get a chance to stay in our City again and chose to stay with us!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Old and dated

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice.
Cons: Complete renovation.
Location: It’s right in the middle of everything. Close to the hockey rink and Tillicum Mall, and 10 minutes from everything.
This hotel shows it’s age. It was cheap, and you get what you pay for in this case. The room features baseboard heaters that made the room like a sauna when we walked in. The shower was an adventure as well. The water would go from scolding hot, to freezing cold and back within seconds. Pretty tough to shower like that. The included continental breakfast, was not. It was a Costco breakfast. On the plus side, it appears they are renovating, the staff was polite and helpful, and the location is pretty good. This is a very basic hotel, with no frills and a lot of issues. If you just need a roof over your head, this works. If you’re looking for more, there’s a Ramada up the road.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by A, Hotel Management
Dear Spartachris, We are sorry you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay. Our room rates are quite affordable this off-season as we try to stay competitive with our neighbours. Our rooms have baseboard heaters and can be quite warm when you first walk in from outside. The controls are very easy to use and if you had any issues we could have helped you. We apologize for the issues you had with the shower. We can fix the issue and we apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you during your stay we wish we had the opportunity to fix the issue while you stayed. We offer a very basic breakfast not a continental at no charge as we know our guests like to have a coffee and a little something in the morning. Our locations restaurant is not leased out yet otherwise, we would offer a discount on hot breakfast at the restaurant instead of the free coffee, tea, muffin & yogurt. We are glad you enjoyed our staff and our location. We are currently continuing with renovations this off-season including bathrooms. We hope you try us again when visiting Victoria next.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Vancouver, BC

Very old, very poorly maintained hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff
Cons: This place needs to be demolished and than rebuilt
Location: Shopping mall
It is Very old, very poorly maintained hotel that should've been demolished a decade ago. Rooms are absolutely unlivable, bathrooms are complete horror story - we been really afraid even to enter it. Temperature control in the rooms are not working, it was like a crematorium temperature all the time - + 88. This place is more like a hostel for homeless people. One positive about the stay at this "hotel" - it is a front desk staff, who are work really hard and not afraid to go an extra mile to help the guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Shogli, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older hotel but well maintained and while our bathrooms need a renovation they certainly aren't a "horror story". Our rooms are also not "unlivable" that description is just a very dramatic opinion not reality. If you were afraid why did you stay for several nights? The temperature controls for the room are not only listed on the wall by the A/C unit but also in the key package we gave you at check in and we verbally told you how to control. When we called your room you never mentioned you were having issues with heat control otherwise we would have sent someone up to help you become comfortable and personally show you how to use the controls. Our hotel is a far cry from a hostel that comparison is just ridiculous clearly you have not spent many nights at a hostel. Your review is so far off base it is hard to take seriously and we wonder if we upset you during your stay? We have newly renovated our rooms and interior with new furniture, new appliances, new carpet and many unseen little details have been added over the last year and we are continuing with renovations this year including the bathrooms. We are glad you at least found the front desk staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope you find accommodation more suited to your needs when you visit Victoria next perhaps, you should try a hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good deal

Posted Nov 12, 2017
We had a good rate. The hotel is a bit older, but has everything we needed. The taps and heat were a bit touchy, but for the cost no complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and gave us a good score. We are an older hotel but well maintained and our staff go the extra mile to make sure our guests are comfortable. We are sorry to hear you had issues with the taps being touchy for the hot water; we will be renovating this off season with a focus on bathrooms so we hope you chose to stay with us again and have a different experience with the taps.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell River, B.C.

Good Area, Good Hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown and quiet area.
Cons: Shower water consistent temperature.
Location: We were in Victoria for Doctor visits. If we had the time we would have stayed another night or two to see some of the things to see.
room was clean and well heated. Pillows a little uncomfortable but did find one that was good. Bed firm like I like it, slept very well. The shower was hard to regulate temperature. Parking fine. Overall it was a good buy and close to downtown, and quiet area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Fred, Thank you for writing a review of your experience at our hotel. We are happy to hear you found the room clean and the bed firm enough for you. We apologize if the shower in your room was difficult to control we can fix the issue quickly it is just unfortunate we never know which unit it may affect; this off season we are renovated the bathrooms and will fix this issue once and for all. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and please remember we do offer medical discounts for guest who are here for medical purposes. We hope you stay with us again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Bed was comfy, but nothing else.
Cons: Some of the front desk staff. All Asian staff very polite.
Next to elevator, stairs, over side entrance, front desk did very little to address a large group of young people right under my window who were drinking and very loud. Had to ask for help re this several times. Would not book a room at the Gorge location ever again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We were surprised at your recent review considering all of our staff of all races tried to accommodate your various and many requests including" why can`t the TV channels be the same as at your house". We weathered the many illogical storms that is apparently your daily life; it was a true test of patience to have you stay with us. We apologized to you that on Halloween we were unable to stand 24 hour guard outside the 2nd floor entrance to make sure you were appeased. Your esoteric ideas of what a hotel should be able to control are quite ridiculous and also only your own. We are sure you would have had trouble no matter where you would have stayed. A hotel does not have control over peoples regular coming and goings as a group or individual. Unfortunately, a few guests smoked and happened to be talking as they smoked across from that entrance on Halloween night before 9 pm; they were being considerate and they were not being overly loud. Or did you have a problem with the adult group going to and from their vehicles and hotel rooms when they first checked in on Halloween night? Part of the hotel experience is autonomy and we (the hotel staff) do not harass other guests unreasonably especially if they are here as a group sharing a festive holiday such as Halloween and preparing as a group to go to a Halloween function offsite. Also, no one was drinking alcohol outside the building at all. It is also highly offensive that you would feel it necessary to point out race to try to alienate the few African or Mexican staff members we have. Clearly you have some race related issues/bias that should be dealt with in another medium than an online review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Older hotel in need of renovation

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, room rate was reasonable for a 2 night stay. Clean and tidy.
Cons: This hotel needs to be modernized and updated, add better light to the bathroom and entry, fix the wonky closet and other doors,axe the room spray
Location: Couldn't tell you, was there for business purposes not recreational.
The first day there upon arrival informed about the annual fire inspection which was scheduled from 8-4 the next day. Thankfully I was out of the room most of the day. Check in staff were helpful and friendly. The room-to turn up the heat in the evening when it was cool, it was necessary to crawl under the desk to turn on the baseboard register. One of the bathroom light bulbs was burned out-needed replacing, the lamp on the desk did not work-called front desk-came up and switched lamp to different outlet and it worked fine. Microwave not working,power cord supplied and plugged in then it worked fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Lyndsey, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you found our staff to be pleasant and friendly. We are also happy to hear you found our rate to be reasonable. We are currently continuing with renovations and many of your concerns will be fixed this off-season. We apologize for the heating; we are an older hotel and the baseboard heaters can be confusing for some guests but the heaters work very well so you often don't need to set them to max and if you choose max it can take a few cycles of the A/C to get the room comfortable again. If you had any trouble reaching the heating control knob we could have helped you easily as we are quite use to the heaters. We are happy our staff could help you with the added plug-ins and getting your microwave going with an extra adaptor. Unfortunately, these days with so many people bringing in lots of devices sometimes they pack up our power cords too. We hope you choose to stay with us again when visiting Victoria. Thank you,