Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from idaho

Fairly decent hotel, but way overpriced

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Hotel room did not latch properly when closed and key to get in was not always reliable. Fairly decent hotel, but overpriced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seemed expensive for what it was

Posted Jul 26, 2016
About a half hour or longer walk to the downtown area, but really nothing close enough to justify spending your time close to the hotel. Found that the room was in need of a new mattress, and also a new air conditioner, as the current one sounds like it would drown out a jet engine. Decore in the hotel appeared outdated. At a lower price, I might consider this place again. Until then, I'll pass. the staff was very accommodating though, many thanks to them!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was further from city centre for our needs

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: The communication and language barrier
Location: There was nothing close by
no restaurant was inconvenient. You should have informed us before we finalized booking
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cook

Excellent last minute fun

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We took off to Port Renfrew and as day progresses decided to stay in Victoria. Great stay and friendly staff.. Would go back for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Close to downtown

Posted Jul 17, 2016
The building itself is a little older styled, not newly updated but the facility itself is welcoming, The room was big and cleaned daily, The staff was friendly, Close to downtown. Included a clean pool and excersie room even.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Comox BC

gouging customers with over pricing

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: nothing !
Cons: change ownership and gut the place
Location: Gorge rd Victoria BC
over priced ,substandard room filthy ,dirty sheets no ac working heated pool was off so ice cold water complimentary breakfast was a muffin in a bag and a yogurt cup after you checked out given to you at the front desk ,no place to park after dinner for the hotel paying customers cause the bar takes all the spaces . stay way from this place at all costs , this place should be condemned !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A little out of the way, but $$ was a good deal.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Good value for the $ Clean, nice rooms
Cons: Shuttle service could be provided
Location: A good distance from tourist attractions.
Staff was not helpful with tourist information. Traffic was heavy. Nice rooms; clean and attractive motel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

Close to town

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Helpful staff. We asked about local activities on Canada day and they gave us a complete intinerary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Canada Day, Thank you for writing a positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Canada Day stay with us! We are pleased that you were offered the most information we could for the celebrations. We make sure we are prepared for Canada Day every year and have several itinerants for the different suburbs of Victoria and all their celebrations. (It's not always just downtown). Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again when you visit Victoria.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat, AB

Only room we could find in Victoria under $300

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: location was good and they had a laundry room. We had been on the road for 2 1/2 weeks so it was greatly appreciated.
Location: It was minutes away from the downtown.
The first hotel staff were great. We had a reservation for the next day but got us in. All the Hotels in Victoria were basically booked. The next day the front staff didn't seem to know what they were doing but did finally figure it out. Staff on the floor very good. I wasn't feeling well and they cleaned our room right away so I could lay down. One of the other staff was very helpful with directions. The bar restaurant was terrible. The regulars in there had a fowl mouth problem and were very loud. We had a quick drink and left we would never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Arlene, Thank you for submitting a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all our amenities and friendly staff. I'm glad we could accommodate your change in reservations and provide you with a room that night during a busy weekend. We are glad you felt the our hotel was a good value for your money and close to everything you needed. We are sorry that our staff wasn't aware of the changes to your booking in the morning. We will make sure those notes get passed on to each staff member by using a front desk log. We are glad you felt our housekeeping staff were attentive and we are glad our front desk was able to give you some great advice and directions. We would like to extend our apologies for the bar and its patrons. We are sorry you felt uncomfortable in the bar; it is a separate business and we unfortunately have no control over the language of the patrons but we do quiet them down if they are in the hotel lobby or outside. We obviously wish you would have had a better experience than what you had at My Bar and Grill but please don't let it reflect or discourage you on how you were treated by Howard Johnson City Centre staff. Thank you, Kylie Miller
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

close to the Gorge waterway and downtown

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: expedia
Cons: the sound barrier from the bar that played music by the lounge.
Location: walks on the Gorge waterway. Lots to do in Victoria great tourist city.
The 3rd floor Room was large 2 queens and had a kitchenette with full size fridge and large picture window. The brown paper bag breakfast included a packaged high sugar white flour blueberry muffin & blue berry no fat yogurt. Coffee and tea all were at the front desk in the lobby where you picked up your breakfast bag. The staff were wonderful and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2016 by Kylie Miller Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anne, Thank you for submitting a positive review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and all our amenities and staff. We are glad you felt that our hotel rooms were a good value and size for your money. We apologize for your morning muffin experience as we strive to have every type of muffin available. We are sorry you felt that the muffins were all white flour and sugar but there are different options available daily including bran, carrot and banana nut that may have been already taken on the day of your stay. We offer a complimentary light breakfast to our guests for the time being as the pub is not able to open for breakfast during renovations as soon as the renovations are complete in late July we will no longer offer this option and our guests will have an option to pay for a hot breakfast if they choose. We appreciate your review of our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to see you on another visit to our fine city.