Filthy, run-down, loud, false advertising
Posted Sep 23, 2016
Our experience at this garbage dump was something we never want to relive again. Not only were we provided with a double bed when we had booked a King, which they refused to change, the pillows were lumpy little hard sacks and the bed mattress was equally as terrible. The decor looked as if management had flippantly chosen the cheapest items at the local flea market, and threw them together in a motley assortment that hurt the eyes. There were literally 4 clocks that we had to unplug/put towels over in order to sleep at night, without being kept awake by red numbers illuminating the room. The minuscule TV was perched atop a stand so short we actually had to rearrange the furniture to watch it. The room itself reeked of stale cigarette smoke, even though it was advertised as non-smoking. Music from the hotel bar kept us up. Each morning at 7am we were woken to Chinese laundry and cleaning staff yelling in Mandarin, despite telling them to please tone it down on two occasions. The continental breakfast was non-existent; upon inquiry as to where it was, the rude front counter staff member told me I could have 1 chocolate chip muffin from behind the counter. The coffee that we were permitted allowed access to from a carafe was so watered down, we had to buy coffees elsewhere. This is by far the worst Howard Johnson I have ever experienced. It is obviously not being managed properly, and the bottom line is being put before quality/customer service. We were definitely gouged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not aware of the room you chose online being the wrong room type for your reservation and we explained that to you unfortunately we could not offer you what you wanted we could only offer you what you actually booked on that weekend. Did you contact the front desk at all during your stay to let them know you were not happy with the room? We could have offered you another room or addressed some of your concerns while you were here. We do not agree with your comments about our decor I think decor is a highly subjective experience and not many other people feel as strongly as you do. We have several clocks because we have several appliances in the rooms and the Shaw box happens to tell the time as well. Perhaps because this is a problem for you I'm sure elsewhere when you travel a sleeping mask would be more fitting for you. We did not nor do we have staff that yell nor speak Mandarin loudly in fact the laundry room is 2 floors away from your room which would make it difficult for you to reprimand them twice and the language being spoken if any would be English or Korean. The T.V in the room is fitting for the actual room size. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay but some of what is being said is just not based on facts and there would be not point disputing opinion. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay while you were here.