Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

The Hojo experience, very good

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The awesome staff, the cleanliness of everything, and our rooms.
The place and the people were great! They were really friendly, awesome and very happy go lucky. Rooms and the lounges were also good. The pool was really clean too. We look forward to visiting this place again around Christmas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Maxine, Thank you for writing a great review of our hotel. We are so thankful you enjoyed your stay and gave us 5 out of 5 stars! We are pleased you found our staff to be so friendly and everything to be so clean. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you this Christmas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
The bar in the hotel had the worst service I have ever experienced. The waitress never came to our table and twice when we went to the bar the bartender did not serve us until he was done talking to the waitress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, The Bar and Grill is a separate business located on our bottom floor of our lobby. We apologize if you received poor service but it is not part of our hotel we do not own it nor do we run it so we can not offer you a solution but we will pass on your remarks to the My Bar and Grill so they can understand the impression they left on you during your stay. We hope your stay at our hotel was nice and we wished we could learn more about your stay with us as well as your comments about the bar. We hope you will give us another chance when you visit Victoria we can show you some great restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

An excellent stay

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: There are parks near by, and trails to explore as well. There are also a few restaurants near this place.
The hotel is a good location near Victoria Downtown. It is easy to get to downtown by bus or a short drive. Lovely room with a comfortable bed. Hotel facilities are also good, such as the pool and sauna. It is a good sized hotel and has a bit of character. Overall an excellent stay and a good place to rest while exploring Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel; it's amenities and location. We are so glad you had a great stay with us and found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 25, 2016
It's not bad just little bit difficulty to park the car on high hill
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Nehal, Thank you for giving us 3 stars. We are pleased that you found our location to be close to downtown and where you needed to be. We are sorry you felt the parking lot was too much of a slant for you but there are sections at the top and the bottom that are flat. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We are glad you chose to stay with us and look forward to seeing again if you visit Victoria.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great Stay at Victoria!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: - parliament building -fisherman's wharf Victoria ( takes a drive)
We went to visit Victoria for a special occasion. We end up choosing the Howard Johnson hotel at city centre, based on our friends recommendation. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and they recommended places for us to help us celebrate. The room we had was very cozy, with heating and air conditioning. Our room was clean and quiet and the housekeeping staff were great. The hotel was close to restaurants and downtown, and we had an enjoyable trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Max, Thank you for writing a positive review of our hotel and for giving us 5 stars! We are so pleased we could be a part of your special trip. We were very glad we could help you find all the tourist destinations on your list and give you a couple tips along the way to give you the edge above the other tourists. We are happy you found your room to be clean, cosy and quiet. We wish you the best and if you are in Victoria again please come, stay and visit us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is a humble convenient place

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Complimentary breakfast and newspaper offers to guest early in the morning is so warming
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review and giving us 3 stars. We are so pleased you found our hotel to be humble and convenient. We are happy you liked our morning complimentary muffin, tea, coffee, yogurt and the option for a free local newspaper. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs Upgrade Badly

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Hotel is in dire need of an upgrade shows it's age.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and for giving us 3 stars. We are updating and upgrading our hotel this year and the next moving into a full retrofit for 2018. Thank you for your patience during this phase of renovation. We hope you found the room to be comfortable and you enjoyed some of our facilities during your stay. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Filthy, run-down, loud, false advertising

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: We enjoyed leaving this hotel, to never return.
Cons: New management is needed to ensure rooms meet a basic standard of cleanliness and comfort; staff need to take a lesson in customer service!
Location: Victoria itself is a bustling city with plenty to do and other places to stay.
Our experience at this garbage dump was something we never want to relive again. Not only were we provided with a double bed when we had booked a King, which they refused to change, the pillows were lumpy little hard sacks and the bed mattress was equally as terrible. The decor looked as if management had flippantly chosen the cheapest items at the local flea market, and threw them together in a motley assortment that hurt the eyes. There were literally 4 clocks that we had to unplug/put towels over in order to sleep at night, without being kept awake by red numbers illuminating the room. The minuscule TV was perched atop a stand so short we actually had to rearrange the furniture to watch it. The room itself reeked of stale cigarette smoke, even though it was advertised as non-smoking. Music from the hotel bar kept us up. Each morning at 7am we were woken to Chinese laundry and cleaning staff yelling in Mandarin, despite telling them to please tone it down on two occasions. The continental breakfast was non-existent; upon inquiry as to where it was, the rude front counter staff member told me I could have 1 chocolate chip muffin from behind the counter. The coffee that we were permitted allowed access to from a carafe was so watered down, we had to buy coffees elsewhere. This is by far the worst Howard Johnson I have ever experienced. It is obviously not being managed properly, and the bottom line is being put before quality/customer service. We were definitely gouged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear M, Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not aware of the room you chose online being the wrong room type for your reservation and we explained that to you unfortunately we could not offer you what you wanted we could only offer you what you actually booked on that weekend. Did you contact the front desk at all during your stay to let them know you were not happy with the room? We could have offered you another room or addressed some of your concerns while you were here. We do not agree with your comments about our decor I think decor is a highly subjective experience and not many other people feel as strongly as you do. We have several clocks because we have several appliances in the rooms and the Shaw box happens to tell the time as well. Perhaps because this is a problem for you I'm sure elsewhere when you travel a sleeping mask would be more fitting for you. We did not nor do we have staff that yell nor speak Mandarin loudly in fact the laundry room is 2 floors away from your room which would make it difficult for you to reprimand them twice and the language being spoken if any would be English or Korean. The T.V in the room is fitting for the actual room size. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay but some of what is being said is just not based on facts and there would be not point disputing opinion. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay while you were here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be better...

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Rooms are ok. Parking is terrible. No breakfast. Expensive
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you found the room to be in good condition. We apologize if there was not enough parking while you stayed we have an expansive lot and some times our conference room is booked during the evening making parking tight but there is many places to park near the hotel. Did you let the front desk staff know? They could have found a solutions for you for the night. We do offer a light breakfast coffee, tea, muffin and yogurt between 6:30am-10am. I am not sure why you were not told about the light breakfast but we will address this at our next front of house meeting. We apologize if you felt the price was not right but we are competitive with our neighbours and always offer varying rates depending on what the guests memberships are for added discounts. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX (Plano)

Price, location and availability

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Bed, location, price
Cons: Needs updating, better morning lobby coffee, and breakfast. If you're offering breakfast it should exist!
Location: Location convenient to downtown, great trails, and restaurants
We were only in Victoria for two nights and on a tight budget. Location and staff were nice. Lobby coffee was awful but we were given coffee to make in room which was better. Also, breakfast consisted of a muffin and yogurt that is kept behind front desk and you have to ask for it. Two of us in room and we were given one muffin and one yogurt total. Really? We had a room with kitchen, not needed and the overall kitchen and bathroom need to be updated. Bed was comfortable and located across from a great running and biking trail that was a bonus. Non smoking hotel was great too. Elevator another plus. Parking very tight, not sure they can actually accommodate all the cars when full. Overall no bugs, no smells, good for the price, but needs updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Debt2309, Thank you for writing a review and giving us 3 stars out of 5. We are pleased that you found the bed, location and price to be good for you and your budget. We are currently undergoing renovations this fall and will be updating the bathrooms and kitchenettes. We apologize if you did not like our morning coffee; we are not sure if it is the brand or if it was perhaps made incorrectly by our staff. We are happy you found the room coffee to be more to your taste. We apologize for the confusion with the light breakfast offerings. If there are 2 people we usually hand out food for both guests. We are glad you found our beds to be comfortable and you enjoyed our access to the galloping goose trail. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.