Ratings based on 799 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good basic hotel room

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: good clean basic room - staff friendly
Cons: improve wifi service, scale furniture to fit room, if you do not advertise breakfast with room don't try to provide it half assed (just coffee fine)
staff in front very friendly and accessible, room clean, room chair for desk didn't fit space, wifi sketchy, bag breakfast (yogurt cup and muffin - ask at front desk) with coffee in front - would do better to skip bag and maybe put basket of apples out with coffee - more positive reaction - a little remote for walking everywhere but can be done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you found the room to be clean and our staff to be friendly. We apologize that we were having some issues with our Wifi during your stay. Our breakfast is free of charge to all of our hotel guests and serves as an added service. We offer a very basic breakfast at no charge as we know our guests like to have a coffee in the morning it is not meant to be a full breakfast just something to start your day with. We are sorry you felt it has to be a full offering or nothing but we have much positive feedback for our offering and feel we will keep it. We are located in the heart of Victoria 7 minutes from downtown or a 25 minute walk. There is much to see and do in our area and more and more businesses popping up. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to see you on another visit to Victoria.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than the last time

Posted Apr 18, 2017
My second time booking there. It's nice to see improvement, but the room wasn't as clean as it should have been - the desk and wall beside the bed was dirty, One of the only accebile outlets to plug my phone charger in the room didn't work (so had to charge it in the bathroom). The price I got the room for made it slightly more palatable - I was exhausted when I got into the room and was thankful the beds were nicely made.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are glad to hear you have stayed here before and chose to try us again. We are also glad to hear you can see some of the improvements we are making. We apologize for the room not being properly cleaned by the desk and wall. We also apologize for the lack of outlets it is an issue we do have due to the age of the building but we provide power bars to make more use of the outlets in the room. Did you contact the front desk and enquire for a solution? They would have ran up a power bar and solved the issue for you. We are glad you found our price to be reasonable and we are glad you found the beds to be nicely made. Thank you for writing a review and we hope you choose to stay with us again when you are visiting Victoria. Thank you,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
It is dated and not worth $200 per night , clean and friendly just in some tlc
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If your room was 200.00 dollars a night in April that would mean it was a large suite and you would have had many people staying which does effect the price of the room. We are sorry your felt the price did not match your expectations but we do charge 10.00 extra per adult staying and we feel for the size of room and number of beds the price was fair and on par for other hotels with the same size of suite. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and the room to be clean. We are currently doing renovations and we hope to address some of the tlc concerns you mentioned. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to see you on another visit to Victoria. Thank you, Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The staff were super friendly! Very helpful. The room itself seemed a little outdated. I prefer a softer bed and the staff were quick to respond and offered to move us to a different room. The price was good. We didn't make it to the pool but we enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are so glad you found our staff to be very helpful. We are currently renovating to make sure our guests feel more modern in our space. We are glad we could offer you a quick room move and a different bed option to make your stay more enjoyable. Next time you stay please check out our pool and saunas! We appreciate your review of our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to see you on another visit to Victoria.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great. Won't stay again.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The pool.
Cons: Clean the mold out of the shower, get rid of whatever that horrible smell is, need new pillows.
Location: 20 minute walk to town. 5 minute drive. Not much to do nearby except visit a hunting/fishing store.
The location was alright but a 20 minute walk to town is too much for 4 kids. The only good thing about the hotel was the pool (and even that was incredibly loud since there is no insulation to mask any sound). The hotel had a weird smell and upon entering our room, it was 100% worse. We've never checked for bed bugs before but we did here. With nowhere else to go, we stayed but couldn't get the smell off of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and will not choose to stay again. We are also sorry to hear you found our hotel to have an overpowering smell. We are upset you found mold in your bathroom that is something we try hard to eliminate every time. We are a 5-7 minute drive from downtown and we do not recommend to our guests with many small children to walk as little legs run out of energy a lot quicker than their adults. We are not sure what hunting store you are referring to and we are less than 3 blocks away from many restaurants, fast food chains and local restaurants including 2 blocks from Mayfair Mall and 6 blocks from Tillicum Mall and about 10 blocks away from the nearest outdoors store. Our pool is in a room that is half brick wall which is an excellent barrier to sound and we have see-through brick on 2 sides which also works as a sound insulator. The acoustics in the room will be loud but the noise out of the room will be quiet. Also, the size of the pool and the pool room will add to the overall acoustics and the level of noise really depends on the people inside making it. We wish we knew what type of smell you were referring to so we could understand what you are smelling. We are currently doing renovations and have new carpet and paint being done to most rooms. We are wondering if the smell of new carpet or fresh paint is what you were effected by. We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we hope you contacted the front desk during your stay to let them know of the issues and smells you were dealing with. We would have liked to talked to you during your stay and resolve the issues you were having or we could have found a room more suited to your liking. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we hope you find accommodations that is more suited to your needs next time you are in Victoria.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to all places I wanted to visit, downtown.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Quiet, easy access to mall, trail and waterway. Pleasant staff, did not know how to reverse charges on credit card.
Cons: Security of windows, ground floor,
Location: Galloping goose trail and waterway across street was great, close to Mayfair shopping mall and access to numerous restaurants within 1-2 km driving,
Window didnt lock properly in room, bathroom door was in the way of toilet, otherwise overall pleasant room and stay. Restaurant was being renovated, should say in info when booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are glad you enjoyed our location and its easy access to the Galloping Goose trails system. We are also glad you found our staff to be pleasant. We are unsure to which you are referring when you said the staff "don`t know how to reverse a credit card charge". You were with a group reservation that one member of the group wanted to be checked in to multiple rooms including other guests because they were travelling with the children and the parents were not in yet. We did a larger pre-auth on their credit card and when the other guests came we did a pre-auth on their card so they could pay for the room not their friend in the morning. If we had released the larger pre-auth then we would have to either complete the pre-auth for a smaller amount meaning we would have no deposit for that guest or we would have had to get the guest to come down and make another pre-auth after cancelling the first. It was for only one night and so we left it as is knowing the morning would be sorted out and only the right amount would be charged to each guest in the group. It is the most effective way to deal with the situation because your group was not all together and it would have been difficult and time consuming during your friends one day trip to track them down get them to come down to the front desk again. We are sorry you misunderstood this for ignorance. Your room was not on the ground floor and so we are confused about the windows comment. We have a brand new security system in place and we are aware if any window is open past 3.5 inches and can monitor the window on our many cameras. We do have older windows that are fitted with an lock and pin locking system but that is not the only window security we offer. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs repair

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The staff were very professional and friendly, the facilities needed significant repair.
The shower alternated from scalding to freezing, half of the electrical plugs were not working or were so loose that the plug fell out, and the door required a shove to open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We are pleased you found our staff to be professional and friendly. We are sorry to hear the shower fluctuated during your stay. Did you contact the front desk and let them know it was happening? We could have sent maintenance up to fix the issue right away. We are sorry that the temperature did change during your shower and we wished we could have fixed the issue for you. We are an older hotel and sometimes we are unaware of certain room to room issues such as the plug-ins being loose. We will check the plug-ins and put on new faces if the sockets aren`t gripping the plugged in item. Thank you for bringing it to our attention; we will make sure to add it to our maintenance list and get the housekeepers to plug-in items using different outlets to make sure they are not too loose to connect. We wish we knew which room you were in so we could address the issues at the same time. We do not know off hand which door is sticking when it should be opening normally with little effort but we will keep an eye out and address the issue once we find it. We apologize for the issues you had during your stay and we hope you will give us another try if you visit Victoria again. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Old building - water changes temperature on it own - hotel has old building smell - pictures are deceiving won't be back - charge 156 for one night..
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review. We were surprised and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the changes in water temperature. Did you contact the front desk during your stay they could have sent Maintenance up to fix the issue right away? We also do a phone around and encourage our guests to let us know if they are experiencing any issues during their stay so we can offer help as quickly as a guest needs it. We are an older hotel but we are well maintained and have recently done some major renovations to our rooms. While the room you were staying in does need to have the carpet changed it had been renovated to included brand new furnishings, paint and appliances. We were surprised to hear of your comments about the price as you were in a larger suite with 6 people in the room. We believe the price to be quite fair considering the amount of people you had in the room and the larger size of the executive suite room you choose. We are unsure how the pictures could have lead you to believe anything different than what is in the rooms as they are pictures of the rooms as they are exactly but we would like to know your perspective so we can understand how to fix that perception. We want our guests to feel comfortable with our rooms not feel as if something is different than they expected. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we hope you find accommodations that is more suited to your needs next time you are in Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

quiet location

Posted Mar 25, 2017
easy to find, quiet location, close to shopping mall and just a few minutes driving distance to downtown attractions. extremely friendly hotel staff, room in very clean condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Andy, Thank you for writing such a great review! We enjoyed reading your thoughts and comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being so detailed in your description of the surrounding area and our proximity to downtown. We are also happy you found our staff to be extremely friendly and found your room to be very clean. We are so glad we left a good impression on you and we hope to see you again when you are visiting Victoria. Thank you,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Unprofessional/ Lack of Service/ Quality care

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, cleanliness, ashtray can for discarded cigarettes, screens on windows, heat set at regular temperature, carpets cleaned.
Stayed there for couple nights. Was told three different prices for security deposit. Room was grimy, with two adult hand prints on full length mirror! Carpet was filthy, heat was stifling, bed had hair in the sheets. Windows had no screens. Outside was littered in cigarette butts and bar/restaurant had been closed down with a "Suspended" sign on the front door, due to infractions. Would never return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Dissatisfied, We were very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We have looked into your comments about your hotel stay with us and we apologize for the confusion you had at check in. We have different amounts of deposits required for different amounts of stay. We require a deposit of 50.00 per night per room. The guest in front of you was only staying one night and so they were asked to provide one nights stay worth of deposit. You were staying 3 nights so that would have been 150.00 dollars deposit on a credit card. You told us at check in you did not have any money left on your credit card and you wanted to use a debit deposit. We do not take debit deposit but in your case we decided to go against our policies and allow it. We allowed you to use debit deposit but we explained to you that the deposit would go up to 250.00 because you were using a method of deposit we do not normally accept and you would have to come down to the front desk at check out so we could check your room and release your deposit. We are sorry you felt the policy was changing as you checked in but the circumstances changed as you changed the method of deposit so we believe that is understandable. We could have refused you debit deposit and you would have had to find other accommodations. We apologize that the room was too hot for you at check in but that was easily fixed by turning the heat off and cycling the A/C until you were at a comfortable temperature. We do not have screens in our windows that is something that most of Victoria hotels do not have as we do not have stagnant water and therefore less mosquitoes. We did call you to do a quality room check after you checked in and you did not mention hairs being on the bed. Pub was suspended for doing renovations without informing the City. Cig butts are to be placed in specific garbage's at each entrance.