Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Great location, all basic facility, would live here again.
Excellent location. Clean, nice rooms, ample parking, I would certainly live here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our location and clean, nice rooms. We value our guest and take their feedback as very important. Thank you for your kind words and next time you are in Victoria we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, Kylie Miller
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty environment,old furnitures, mattress-itchy

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Not bad
Terrible coffee, muffins, not fresh. Dirty bathroom, towels. Awful......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too cold and no heat

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Be aware the heat only works when they think is cold, if is not cold for them you will be freezing. My baby got sick because the cold night without heat. Also, the room had dirty spots we even found dirty underwear.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Decent stay in Victoria

Posted Aug 21, 2016
My stay here was very pleasant. From the moment I arrived in the hotel, the staffs were there to give me a very warm reception. My check in was quick to say the least. One of the best things about the hotel was that my room is really clean, especially the washroom. The staffs also seem to have paid attention to details such as remebering what your name is. My bed was comfortable enough. Will definitely come and visit here again if I have the chance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from burnaby

Excellent service and stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
The front desk clerk greeted me promptly as I checked in, that is a good sign. I did not have to wait for myself to be checked in, and I was told the best places to go once without me asking. The room that I was provided with was tidy and clean. My rest was also undisturbed. A good solid stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Airdrie

Not consistent with similar hotels

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: It was clean and good location.
Cons: Price, screens on the windows and new air conditioning units.
Location: It was close to shopping and downtown. Very close to gorge waterway.
The room was clean is the only good thing I can say. I have stayed in similarly priced hotels such as the Ramada and they were far superior to this hotel. The bed was uncomfortable and the air conditioning loud and useless. There were no screens on the windows either. We had to pull out the mini fridge (with the microwave stacked on top of it) so that we could plug in the coffee maker. The shower curtain was poorly installed so it kept sliding open and allowing water to escape the shower area onto the bathroom floor. I have never stayed at a Howard Johnson hotel before but if this is indicative of the quality, I won't be staying at another HoJo again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria

Comfortable

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This is the first hotel that I've lived in since I came here. The stuff are pretty nice they offer us any information we inquire. The rooms are clean and The facilities are good. It is so pleasant to live here and we look forward to book again if we have another chance to visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: I was not impressed
Cons: Upgrade
Location: Within area we wanted
Bedding had pee stains, large dog crap outside our patio doors, had to buy disinfectant and air freshener as our room had a terrible odour.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty Hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
I booked this hotel to be somewhat close to the city centre. Big disappointment. The pool was absolutely filthy! The rooms are really run down. They have no room service so we went down to the lounge to get take out and have a drink. We sat there for 20 minutes and never got served eventhough I tried to wave down the waitress numerous times. We had to leave the hotel to get a bite to eat. Terrible service-terrible hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton,Alberta

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Wasn't impressed
Cons: Should be updated
Location: Close to where we wanted to be
We were on the ground floor with large dogs crapping outside our patio door, had to ask for our bedding changed due to numerous pee stains, bought disinfectant due to terrible odour in our room, I have a bad knee and back and used the stairs more than the elevator because it was very slow. My son and his fam also stayed on another floor and was not impressed. Shower changed temperature and water was hot on the feet as the tap ran at the same time. Taps under bathroom sink were coming off, also an odour in the room NOT IMPRESSED!!!!!!