Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room has a beautiful view of the galloping goose

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Love it room is huge it has a kitchen and the view is gorgeous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Clean hotel, decent price.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel was quite clean and the room was satisfactory, my only issue was the lacking breakfast of a muffin and yogurt cup. Other then this it was a decent stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Nice hotel with courteous and proffessional staff.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hotel is located very close to downtown. It takes only about 5-10 minutes drive to core downtown. The staff is very corteous and helpfull. I will definitely book this hotel in the future whenever i visited Victoria again. On top of that the room comes with full set of kitchen set that you could use to cook your own breakfast or dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Bambang, Thank you for writing a review and giving us 5 out of 5 stars! We are so happy you loved your stay with us. We are so pleased you found our staff to be so helpful and courteous. We are so glad you will choose our hotel again when visiting Victoria. We are also happy that you enjoyed the features in the kitchenette including dishes and cutlery. We find that it is a great feature to offer our guests staying for a while or travelling with family. Thank you for your great review we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Thank you,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Battleford

Good location, close to shopping, Victoria sites

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff and the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Definitely needs updating especially the lobby and pool/fitness area. Needs breakfast room. Rooms need new furniture. Bathrooms need updating.
Location: Location great. Close to Royal BC Museum, parliament buildings, downtown, inner harbor and shopping centres
Very helpful staff with all our requests. Asked for something they would do their best to get it right away. No restaurantclose by so would have been nice to have a breakfast room. Fitness room equipment wasn't working properly and pool area needs updating as not inviting. Was one of reasons we booked there and didn't use it. They were in midst of replacing carpets and painting and hopefully updating washrooms and furniture. Our room was ok and bed was comfortable. Cleaning staff very nice and helpful. The staff is this hotel's best asset. Overall we enjoyed our stay but not sure about going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased to hear you thought our staff were very friendly and helpful. We are currently updating our rooms and building this off season and are about half way through the first phase which includes bathrooms and furniture updates for each room. We are sorry you did not feel comfortable enough to enjoy the pool area during your stay. We will look into the fitness room comments you left and see if we can understand what you were describing; we want our guests to feel comfortable and ready to work out when in the fitness and pool areas and we want to know what impression we are leaving with our guests. We are happy you found your beds to be comfortable and the room was in good overall condition. Thank you for saying that our staff is our best asset! We choose our staff very carefully and always appreciate it when we get to hear that from our guests. We are considerably glad you enjoyed aspects of your stay but saddened that you would not consider us necessarily for future stays in Victoria. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

The Hojo experience, very good

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The awesome staff, the cleanliness of everything, and our rooms.
The place and the people were great! They were really friendly, awesome and very happy go lucky. Rooms and the lounges were also good. The pool was really clean too. We look forward to visiting this place again around Christmas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Maxine, Thank you for writing a great review of our hotel. We are so thankful you enjoyed your stay and gave us 5 out of 5 stars! We are pleased you found our staff to be so friendly and everything to be so clean. We appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you this Christmas.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
The bar in the hotel had the worst service I have ever experienced. The waitress never came to our table and twice when we went to the bar the bartender did not serve us until he was done talking to the waitress.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, The Bar and Grill is a separate business located on our bottom floor of our lobby. We apologize if you received poor service but it is not part of our hotel we do not own it nor do we run it so we can not offer you a solution but we will pass on your remarks to the My Bar and Grill so they can understand the impression they left on you during your stay. We hope your stay at our hotel was nice and we wished we could learn more about your stay with us as well as your comments about the bar. We hope you will give us another chance when you visit Victoria we can show you some great restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

An excellent stay

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: There are parks near by, and trails to explore as well. There are also a few restaurants near this place.
The hotel is a good location near Victoria Downtown. It is easy to get to downtown by bus or a short drive. Lovely room with a comfortable bed. Hotel facilities are also good, such as the pool and sauna. It is a good sized hotel and has a bit of character. Overall an excellent stay and a good place to rest while exploring Victoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Ashley, Thank you for writing a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hotel; it's amenities and location. We are so glad you had a great stay with us and found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 25, 2016
It's not bad just little bit difficulty to park the car on high hill
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Nehal, Thank you for giving us 3 stars. We are pleased that you found our location to be close to downtown and where you needed to be. We are sorry you felt the parking lot was too much of a slant for you but there are sections at the top and the bottom that are flat. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We are glad you chose to stay with us and look forward to seeing again if you visit Victoria.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great Stay at Victoria!

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: - parliament building -fisherman's wharf Victoria ( takes a drive)
We went to visit Victoria for a special occasion. We end up choosing the Howard Johnson hotel at city centre, based on our friends recommendation. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and they recommended places for us to help us celebrate. The room we had was very cozy, with heating and air conditioning. Our room was clean and quiet and the housekeeping staff were great. The hotel was close to restaurants and downtown, and we had an enjoyable trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Max, Thank you for writing a positive review of our hotel and for giving us 5 stars! We are so pleased we could be a part of your special trip. We were very glad we could help you find all the tourist destinations on your list and give you a couple tips along the way to give you the edge above the other tourists. We are happy you found your room to be clean, cosy and quiet. We wish you the best and if you are in Victoria again please come, stay and visit us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It is a humble convenient place

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Complimentary breakfast and newspaper offers to guest early in the morning is so warming
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2016 by Assistant Manager Kylie Miller, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for writing a review and giving us 3 stars. We are so pleased you found our hotel to be humble and convenient. We are happy you liked our morning complimentary muffin, tea, coffee, yogurt and the option for a free local newspaper. We appreciate your patronage to our hotel and your comments help us to improve our service's, staff and maintenance team. We hope that you will stay with us when you are in Victoria again.