Ratings based on 842 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City Centre? Absolutely not.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The room was so dark I was able to get a good night's sleep after the road crews staying at the property settled in.
Cons: Please make this hotel remove all 'confusing' references to being a city centre hotel. It isn't, and those references are fooling travelers.
Location: Victoria is wonderful. But this location isn't very good unless you're car shopping or looking for a suburban mall.
This was a horrible experience. In summary, I booked this hotel for a quick weekend getaway with my wife. As an Expedia Gold member, I travel a lot and whenever possible book in the City Centre - I'm looking for bars, restaurants, and an urban getaway. Unfortunately, this hotel actively deceives travelers by using 'Victoria City Centre' in their name. It's nowhere near a city centre - shopping malls and other hotels in the area advertise it as 'uptown'. We all know what a city centre is, right? Middle of the most established area of town, urban, restaurants, and even tourist areas? To get to those things from this hotel, you have to trudge for 30 minutes past vast car lots, sketchy strip malls, and other decidedly non city centre stuff. Not a great start to a weekend away in evening clothes! The hotel itself is old, with classic 1970's hard stucco finish on walls and ceilings; wifi that doesn't work; a broken ice maker; a conveniently mobile shower rod that bunches the shower curtain in the middle; and a room so dark you can't tell if it's clean or not. I literally had to use the flashlight from my mobile to find clothes in my bag. The restaurant is closed and not much seems to be within reasonable walking distance. On the upside, excepting the manager who insisted with a straight face that this was the city centre, the staff is very nice and based on the strong scent of chlorine bleach the place seemed clean, if well worn. The room was very small. Personally, I'd avoid
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Van Anda, BC Canada

Good value and good location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: quiet and good location
Cons: Rooms could be updated.
Location: Boston Pizza was a 15 to 20 minute walk away
We had a comfortable night. Hotel is within walking distance to restaurants. The room was clean and quiet. It was a nice surprise to get a complimentary muffin and yogurt to go in the morning. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

30 Minute Walk to Downtown

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Good value Good location
Cons: Breakfast
Location: 30 minute walk to downtown marina and shopping
Affordable Clean Picked motel because of distance to Downtown. Unfortunately, advertised free breakfast not available Problems with cable remote.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Convenient location being within a 5 minute drive to downtown OR, best of all, a one minute walk to the water taxi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, not likely to recommend it.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: It's location to things to do
Cons: The rooms are in need of a renovation. The beds are old and could probably be replaced
Location: Location is good
My husband I had a room for our stay in Victoria , and another room for our stay on our way back from Nanaimo. The beds were very old and well used. So uncomfortable to sleep on. The bedding could use an update and the curtains also. Very much in need of an update and renovation. The restaurant was closed and the cooking pots and utensils provided in the kitchenette unit were less than adequate and undesirable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Quite older hotelI

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Quite and clean
Cons: A buffet breakfast
The only thing that did not work was the coffee maker which was replaced as soon as I reported it. It would have been nice to have more than one coffee pouch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncomfortable

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Dirty carpet in first room. Second room given with lamps not working,blocked sink,stove not working, horrible ac, lobby smells like ciggaretes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Good location, nice staff, need restaurant on site
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms need to be remodeled

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Remodel rooms
Location: Close to wharf and downtown area
The rooms need to be remodeled. Warn carpet (could see carpet tack strips), AC unit too small. Room sizes are very nice with a small kitchen compared to most modern hotel rooms. Mattresses need to be replaced. Location is convenient to downtown Victoria. Staff was very pleasant and helpful, but I would stay elsewhere due to the condition of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia WA

Average hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Only 5 min drive to downtown Victoria
Cons: It needed more outlets for things like CPap machines, and for recharging phones etc. Make sure housekeepers clean and replenish coffee,etc, daily
Location: There are several fast food places and a couple of other restaurants nearby and the hotel was only about a 5 minute drive to downtown Victoria.
Everyone was friendly, but the room seemed a bit tight. The huge cupcakes and yogurt were delicious, but a little more variety would have been nice. We appreciated that the manager apologized and came up to our room with coffee, sugar and creamer the evening we discovered those items hadn't been replenished that day.