Ratings based on 1,468 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Architectural Gem in a lovely location!

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: It is of architectural significance. The design is 70's, with brutalism touches, red tile, cement and other asian influences.
Cons: I can't thing of anything negative about the stay.
Location: Location is excellent and you can use the harbour path (rather than road used by taxi to get to hotel) to get downtown in 10 minutes. Brilliant!
I had narrowed my hotel choice down to three well known hotels and chose this one due to the harbour setting and architectural appeal. The addition is by Arthur Erickson.I happened to stay in the Laurel Wing rather than Erickson wing, as I required two beds and only that was available. The Laurel wing is also interesting in that it's very 70's architecture with some brutalism apparent (which I enjoy). The interior is cement and red tile, with Asian accents. I hope they do not tamper with this design in the future as these are becoming more rare in this day and age. There is lovely artwork everywhere, which also lends itself to the era. I have to fault them in design as they painted some of the cement exterior white to blend in with the newer wing. I find this to be a design faux pas, in fact, architects and designers would scold such a move today. The Laurel wing rooms have small to medium sized balconies with no furniture, which is fine. They're meant to be stepped onto rather than lounged in, due to the cement balcony wall. The furniture is cleaned lined Asian/Scandinavian inspired and styled according to the hotel design which I enjoyed. The bath had Aveda bath products and sufficient towels, hair dryer etc. The room also had a mini fridge. The beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. There were also two lounge chairs in the room and desk with chair. There were also ottomans/tables for drinks and ice bucket.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel choice close to downtown

Posted Apr 21, 2017
We stayed at the hotel because of an event staged there but found the facility and the staff fabulous and would choose it as an ideal Victoria hotel option. It is within walking distance of all downtown venues and very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: This hotel has a great location and fabulous views, whichever side you stay on.
Cons: A hot tub would be a nice addition.
Location: Laurel Point Inn is close to everything you need in downtown Victoria.
The hotel was quiet with no street noise! All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance to everything downtown Victoria has to offer! The spring flowers and cherry trees were amazing! The hotel was clean and the room was great with a comfortable king sized bed,
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you liked our location and your view Sam. Although we removed our public hot tub, we do have guest rooms with large Jacuzzi tubs that are almost as large as a hot tub. Maybe on your next stay you could enjoy your very own private hot tub. Your review is sincerely appreciated; we hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Nice hotel; conveniently located.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Nice hotel and conveniently located to the ferry and downtown VICTORIA. Restaurant service was really slow and food was overpriced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam BC

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Chairs in the room are uncomfortable. Room was dusty, glasses were dusty. Old air conditioner unit loud and dusty.
The room was ok, dusty in the old part not worth the price. Shower needs to be updated, too small. When I rated the room as not great on check in the management pretended they cared. Sent me an email asking me to respond. I did and nothing was done. Didn't get a response. Front desk staff were pleasant enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful views

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: view and location
Cons: Window wall in 247 needs repair.
Location: Great location, easy walk to downtown and Beacon Hill Park.
Great location and gorgeous harbour view. Rooms have very small balconies (compared to pictures), clean and comfortable set up. Pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you Amy for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our downtown location. On your next stay, our Erickson Wing rooms offer larger balconies and might be just what you are hoping for. We look forward to welcoming you back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Getting a little tired in area's ....
Location: Great location
Excellent location. Great vista Very nice garden area and waterfalls
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We are so pleased that your enjoyed our downtown waterfront location. Thank you you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful peaceful stay

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Views, design.
I try to stay here whenever I visit Victoria from Vancouver. While the new wing is particularly lovely, every room has a water view and every room is serene and quiet. Lovely staff as well. A gem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We're blushing! Thank you for your review, we are so glad that we can be a quiet retreat from the big city. We hope that you'll stay again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Great stay. Great for kids too every one was so helpful. Will stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
We're so glad that you and your kids had a great stay and we look forward to your next visit, soon you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sequim, WA

Great Staff and Lovely accommodations.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The great room and view, certainly the staff and the beautiful walk to downtown.
Location: Great location, short walk to Parliament, and the downtown area. We were there for St. Patrick's Day and enjoyed the celebrations.
From the time we were greeted at the door we had a wonderful experience. Gosia did a terrific job of answering all our questions, and really seemed to enjoy her job. Kate, in the restaurant, gave excellent service, and was very knowledgeable about food allergies. She took the time to offer alternatives, and was so kind that I didn't feel like it was an imposition. We definitely will stay there again. Soon I hope!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Louise - Guest Experience, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Kathy. We are so glad that you enjoyed our downtown location and that you were able to explore the city on foot. Thank you for recognizing Gosia & Kate, we think that they are pretty great too. We are fortunate to have such a great, customer service focused, team working for us. We really look forward to welcoming you back!