Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking
Location: Close to China town and downtown Victoria shops.
The staff was friendly, location was good. The parking was horrible, unless you had a smaller vehicle and could use underground parking. The bathroom counters had cigarette burns on them, making it very unattractive. Didn't like the fact that you had to go to basement to get ice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell River

Pleasant surprise!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The price for location was very reasonable!
Cons: The exterior needs a sprucing up.
Location: Right on Douglas with a coffeshop nextdoor and opposite a White Spot Restaurant. 2 blocks over from Chinatown. Not far to Capital Iron.
Used the Mystery Hotel pick on Expedia and didn't know what to expect when we got there. Had never stayed here. When we pulled up the exterior looked a little unkept so we didn't expect much! Lots of parking. Arrived inside to a quick easy checkin by a very friendly desk clerk. Our room was quite small but adequate. Clean and fairly recently remodelled. King bed was very comfortable. Only complaints would be that the bathroom was a little tired looking and only had towels for 1 person. But we made out fine for 1 night! Location fairly central and opposite a White Spot. Also was surprisingly quiet for a main street probably helped by being situated sideways on the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Cons: A free continental breakfast would have made up for the other disappointments.
The room was nice enough, with two king sized beds, but the bathroom didn't feel as clean as expected and the inn as a whole felt a little dingy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good location and close to everything!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Location: Fishermans wharf, Royal BC museum, parliament buildings.
Older building so do not expect perfection. Room was nicely decorated. Very friendly front staff. Good parking accommodation. Beautiful furniture pieces and is under new management so when those are refinished it will look amazing. The only recommendations I would have is to make sure cleaning staff gets all hair out of tub when cleaning. Otherwise, bathroom was very clean. Shower curtains are white and had some stains on them, a quick spray with some bleach cleanser would take care of that. Location was great and walking distance, if you like walking, to many attractions. You can feel some rumbling when big trucks go down the street, do not worry, it is not an earthquake....much to my disappointment!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Hotel was within walking distance of everything

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The spacious room.
Cons: Flower gardens need more attention. Remove the dead plants and broken planters. Parking for larger vehicles.
Location: Easy to find the Hotel. Lots of restaurant within walking distance. The BC Museum, Inner Harbour, whale watching tours. Great shopping.
The staff at the Hotel were very helpful. Parking for a larger vehicle was at times difficult, underground parking access was too low. The room was spacious and the decor pleasing. We enjoyed are stay and would book the Hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Clean and close to venue but disappointing.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: It was clean and close to our concert venue.
Cons: Bed comfort, curtain width, shower head replaced, and room supplies
Location: Lots of restaurants and close to the down town. I really liked the location.
Our room was clean and close to the venue for our concert, but the mattress on the bed was not very comfortable. It was ok... The curtain on the window was about and inch short of covering the window the shower head sprayed on all directions but down and there were no stir sticks to stir our coffee in the morning. We had friends stay at the same time as us in a different room and they had a great bead, shower and room for the same price. I guess it's luck of the draw. The best I can say is that it wasn't a "bad" place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grubby

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Demolish and rebuild.
Location: on a bus rout to downtown.
Grubby and very outdated. Fixtures and fittings from the 70's/80's that do not work very well. room not madeup one day due to lack of staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There for a UVic grad

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Softer beds
Stayed there twice and love the location and the price. The only thing we don't like is the beds are too firm!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close to downtown and that is all

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Staff were very nice. In a town where hotels are $250 a night and this one is only $110 you get what you pay for. The wifi is on and off again. The clientele is sketchy. If your in town for buissness and aren't going to be at the hotel at all then it's cheap and effective.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Basic place to crash, but don't bet on the wifi

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Good location, next to a White Spot and Castello Coffee (GOOD coffee), walking distance from downtown, easy to find, underground parking.
Cons: Pillows need to be replaced, sheets are scratchy, wifi was pretty much non-existent. Entire place was overly hot and stuffy, AC needs an upgrade.
Location: Walking distance to downtown. Great for visiting the Bastion Street Market, walking to the pubs, or hitting up Chinatown.
It's a decent place to sleep, but not much more. The wifi was patchy at best, and completely inaccessible most of the time. More than half the pillows needed to be replaced, the sheets were scratchy, the AC only made the room mostly tolerable for a warm day. Our key cards kept malfunctioning and causing problems both for getting into the room and the parking garage. It's a great location, and there is free underground parking available, which is a huge plus in warmer weather. The staff was mostly friendly and prompt, and when they weren't friendly they were still competent and prompt. There's a White Spot across the intersection, and a great coffee place just next door (down Douglas, toward the city center). For my mother who has a nerve impairment in one of her legs, downtown was still within walking distance as long as she had her cane.