Ratings based on 613 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

A little run down but OK for a place to sleep

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: 1. Underground garage parking. 2. Close proximity to shops and DT. Victoria 3. Walking distance to the Greater Victoria Visitors & Convention Bureau
Cons: Minor details in cleaning such as a clean coffee pot. Appliances in rooms are in proper working conditions. Provide an additional towels for 3.
Location: Close to Victoria's Chinatown and other restaurants. Walking distance to wharf / pier and other major tourist attractions.
The room assigned to us has an air condition that wasn't working and coffee pot wasn't cleaned. The receptionist gladly get us another room but we settled to a room close to the busy Douglas St. So I slept with my headphone. The bathroom sink faucet is too close to the sink. Ice maker at the garage parking isn't working either. There's plenty of room for improvement needed to make your stay more comfortable. Since this isn't a 4 or 5 stars hotel and if you like garage parking and walking distance to shops, restaurants, pier, Fairmont Empress, Greater Victoria Visitors' center by the B.C. Legislative Hall (approx. 1.2km or 0.7 mile), this may be an OK place to stay for the night or two.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Lots
Location: Good location
Hair in tub and on shower wall TV didn't work AC didn't work Maid service didn't show up Toilet not set on base, leaked gases Coffee worst yet, and I have lots of experience
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst shower ever...

Posted May 28, 2017
Room was very outdated, there was lots of hair on the walls of the shower, and your two temperature options for the shower was either freezing cold or scolding hot. The only good thing about this hotel was the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great Value

Posted May 25, 2017
great pricing, great location close to downtown Victoria, don't jack up pricing just because of high demand
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ö

Posted May 23, 2017
We were not given a key to our room because the "system" was down. Clearly there are problems at this hotel but it was cheap. You get what you pay for - caveat emptor. All of this being said - Expedia should probably not have it in its Web site.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nanaimo bc

bad

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: ever thing new
it suck they should close the hotel an get new staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, cheap and run down. Lipstick on a pig.

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: The owner/ operators should educate themselves and their staff in hospitality. Cleanliness goes a long way.
Dirty, rundown, and outdated bathroom. Also had to ask for clean towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Vancouver

Terrible stay. DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: the beds were comfortable. a small balcony was refreshing
Cons: maintenance. general housekeeping
Location: walkable location to downtown, questionable neighbors, transit was very close.
The people that worked there seemed to be pleasant. The room was nasty, mould/rust in the bathroom, disgustingly dirty. Holes in walls, poorly patched. carpets turn your socks black. Outdated. Balcony was nice & beds were surprisingly comfortable. Electrical was sketchy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good location, needs allot of work though.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Location, close to all the dining options, sites and bus routes.
Cons: Get some equipment that works and modernize the bathroom.
Location: Close the legislature and B.C. museum and chinatown. Easy bus routes.
The longer i stayed here, the more i enjoyed my stay, but was not a good start. The room was not cleaned and had a stale smell when i checked in, i had to spray my cologne to get the stink out, i had to tell the front desk make a note to clean my room after i slept one night because it was not cleaned. The rest of my stay it was cleaned on a daily basis, the blow dryer didn't work, the toilet leaked and sprayed water everywhere. I fixed the problem myself and it was fine the rest of the holiday. Getting past the negatives of the first couple days, i found the staff friendly and accomodating and the location was great, i also did sleep very good. Overall it was an ok stay for the price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything downtown

Posted May 2, 2017
I've stayed here before and our stay was awesome. Our room this time had garbage from the last people under the beds, behind the dressers. I was walking to the bathroom and a MOUSE ran passed my foot. We found mouse scat under our beds. I was horrified. We got to change rooms down to the first floor, and offered a 20% discount. Whoever does housekeeping on the third floor does not do their job properly, or throughly. Our room on the 1st floor was 100x cleaner!