Ratings based on 587 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manitoba

A Classic

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Old hotel that is well maintained, very clean. Rooms are small but comfortable. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurant is good and well priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Centrally located: a couple of blocks from the waterfront and the legislative buildings. Loads of character- high ceilings, lovely, grand foyer with prints by Emily Carr all around you! A very polite, knowledgeable staff in attendance made check in and out a breeze. Wifi available and good sized rooms with large, private bathrooms and high ceilings. Each floor had small sitting areas for book reading and quiet retreats. An overall gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lund, BC

Great location; plenty of free parking.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: No coffee maker in room but there is plenty in the lobby and it is good.
I've stayed here many times and would stay again. Friendly staff and it's close to all sorts of good places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An historic spot in a quiet Victoria neighborhood.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We enjoyed our stay in this older hotel; appreciated the vibe of less overwhelming technology; a very peaceful room with a great bed and lovely views to the charming street with vintage homes. The staff was great. The complimentary b'fast Christmas morning was wonderful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Albera

Character Inn

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: Our room was warm and the only way to cool it off was to open a window but it suited the cozy Inn
The Inn is over 100 years old and they have done a great job of keeping it up while keeping the original feel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

November 27th, 2016

Posted Nov 27, 2016
No coffee maker and no iron and no elevator. Every hotel should have at least the first two. Not to have them is just cheap. I won't stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Safe, close to the tourist area.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Was nice to be there for a Remember Day. I brought a friends and they really enjoy the city. We went a Miniature museum and was interesting all a history about Canada.one more thing to travel to Victoria by ferry let us to much beautiful memories. A recommended a hotel to be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lafayette, Ca

Excellent location in a perfect cottage

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I loved the location of the cottage, 2 blocks from the ocean and about 5 to the downtown. Close to coffee and the grocery store, too. We walked everywhere! I loved being in the separate cottage, roomy and quiet. I had wondered if we would get noise from the pub at night, but we didn't have any issues. It was also great to have a restaurant steps away.
Cons: The decor is a little odd, with random colours, but that's the worst I can say about this darling place.
Location: Next door to the James Bay Pub; great food and super-friendly staff. Thrifty's grocery store, Starbuck's, pizza, a liquor store about 2 blocks away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: location.
Cons: no coffee in rooms and tea/coffee only available in lobby until early afternoon
Room 125 was clean and had a lovely bathroom. Unfortunately, it was right on top of the kitchen and what sounded like a loading dock/side staircase where lots of noisy moving started up really early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location Close to town and sea

Posted Nov 10, 2016
A period style hotel with preserved vintage decor