Ratings based on 1,277 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel situated in a nice quiet neighborhood

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location, price
Cons: It needs an elevator!
This is an older hotel/restaurant that is in need of upgrades. The beds were comfortable and it was nice an quiet. It is situated in a neighborhood of lovely Victorian homes with beautiful gardens, and fairly close to downtown and coastal walks. However, there is no lift, so it was a lot of stair climbing, which was very challenging for one of our party. Restaurant quality was mixed with very reasonable prices and generous servings. Our room had a refrigerator but no microwave. There is no air conditioning (but it is rarely needed in Victoria).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC

Nice older hotel great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Don't know if it would be too hot in the summer as it does not have air conditioning.
Location: Easy to rent a bike from this location and access the Galloping G. trail. Easy to walk to the restaurants and shops and ocean.
Beautiful older building in a great location, within walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. close to the museum, etc. Very clean and very comfortable room; windows in our room opened easily and made for a comfortable sleep with the lovely spring air circulating in. Enjoyed the complementary coffee in the lobby and friendly staff. The pub downstairs also has very good food. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Moody

Convenient and inexpensive

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Convenience. Restaurant in the hotel.
Cons: No elevator, so we had to lug our stuff up 2 flights of stairs. Desk staff uncaring and ill-informed.
Location: Close to legislature, the ocean, restaurants.
A pleasant trip back to the past. The hotel was built in the early 1900's. Convenient to Beacon Hill Park and the government buildings. Stairs to lobby and then to each of 3 levels of rooms. Not a problem for us, but I don't know about mobility-impaired. No towel racks in bathroom. When we arrived, they had sprayed some kind of perfumed air spray in the room which didn't dissipate for hours. We had to leave our clothes in the car to avoid picking up the stink. Cleaning staff and desk staff didn't seem to care when we pointed this out. In this day of everyone being sensitive to "scent-free" products, why would anyone do this?! We found the fake, electric fireplace on the front of the closet door to be hilarious! Dirt in the corners of the bathroom floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel, great location!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Loved the location. Cozy room, although small, but overall great! Very warm in the room though, luckily windows open !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Historic hotel in quiet neighbourhood.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The ambiance, the decor, the quiet neighbourhood, and the restaurant on the bottom floor.
Cons: The doors. The door in room #328 had a large gap at the bottom of around 3 inches. But I guess that's part of the ambiance!
Location: Beacon Hill Park is one block away. Also Emily Carr's home, and James Bay neighbourhood with shops. Parliament Buildings are 3 blocks away.
We enjoyed our stay in the James Bay Hotel. It's a very unique building and pleasing to the eye and senses. The lobby is large with comfortable places to sit down. The hotel has a very pleasant scent; not musty at all. The rugs are in great condition as are the many stairs you must walk up and down, as there is no elevator. We were on the 3rd floor so I had my exercise! The top floor was very warm as the antique radiators were still running, due to the chilly nights, so we left our window open day and night as there is no A/C. The hotel has a great restaurant in the basement. The food was superb, although not low priced. But hubby and I often share meals so it was OK. Just down the block is the home of Emily Carr, famous BC painter. I learned on this trip that she actually died in the hotel, on the lower level, as it was once a care home. I would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west vancouver

Loved the neighbour. Close to downtown.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Rooms could of been cleaner.. Really like the old building and location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for sightseeing downtown Victoria

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: location and decor of the reception area.
Cons: New more comfortable beds.
Location: Great location close to lots of major attractions. Great for sightseeing. Price was good.
While we loved the old character of the hotel, I realized it might not be a good choice for the elderly, or for those people who have trouble walking or have vertigo. As the foundation seems to be shifting there are many areas where the floor slants substantially and I found that I lost my balance easily. I also found the beds to be very lumpy and hard and was in pain the following morning as a result. Staff was friendly. Location of hotel is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam, BC

cozy, comfortable, great location & staff

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I booked this hotel because of the location and free parking. The building has an old character charm which I liked a lot, and the interior was clean and very comfortable, with a good sized fridge, which is always nice especially when travelling on road. It lacked a microwave in the room but the staff were very kind to let us use theirs. The morning coffee in the lobby was very good. All in all, it was great. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qualicum Beach

Budget accommodations in the Heart of James Bay

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Hotel has character, is very close to downtown Victoria, Beacon Hill Park, the BC Royal Museum.
I enjoyed my stay and was very pleased as the condition of the hotel - having known it very well 30 odd years ago. Everything was clean & tidy. However the bed was very hard and the room didn't have any amenities - no in-room coffee, fridge, air conditioning or blow dryer. The hotel is in a very quiet neighbourhood and easy walking distance to downtown Victoria, Beacon Hill Park and the walking trails. But for travellers looking for bargain accommodations, it was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Great hotel, with great decor. Pub downstairs was a great place to grab a bite to eat. Room (#311) was a lot smaller than I thought, but was cozy. Internet was good quality as well. And it is a nice short walk (10min) from the wharf, legislature, museum, and beach.